We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault the place”
Review of Bluewood Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluewood Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just had a great 4 night break at Bluewood lodges. Great location to get to cotswold attractions. Lodge was spotless and really well kitted out with quality stuff. Hot tub was fab and was a really relaxed break. The local area is amazing with some with lovely villages. Go and enjoy a great chilled holiday, I am sure my family will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Bluewood Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 494 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Location - Easy to find, good quality driveway (Faweather Grange - Yorkshire take note !) and lodge number 5 highly recommended as it overlooks the fields. Good local restaurant / pubs (Kingham Plough, The King's Head Inn etc). Chipping Norton nearby worth a visit for local shops (inc your standard highstreet shops CoOp, Boots, Sainsburys etc). Indian takeaways nearby deliver for a small charge. Local attractions are also within easy reach.

Lodge - Good quality design and beats the 'norm' for lodge escapes. Excellent design, living areas, sauna, jacuzzi and hot tub. Ideal for couples and romantic breaks. The lodge contains numerous tourist leaflets with the manager more than happy to direct and recommend local facilities. The heating was also of note (especially for those going in winter) as the entire lodge heats ups very quickly !!

Service / Check in - Clear email / phone communications prior to visit with check-in an hour earlier than planned. The reception has chilled wine and beer at a reasonable price which was an added bonus.

A very relaxing break and one which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

What a great review, we like this one. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend in a Norton lodge which was really nicely appointed, the decor & standard was exceptionally high with everything needed for a relaxing stay. The hot tub was brilliant and much appreciated after a day out exploring the Cotswolds. Bluewood is ideally situated for Stow, Bourton, Chipping Norton & Oxford. There is also a good choice of pub/restaurants in. Nearby Kingham which is walking distance away via a pleasant walk using a public footpath across a field.
I would strongly recommend this accommodation for a nice relaxing comfortable break.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

5 out of 5 on everything! Thank you very much, you have cheered us all up here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

'Wow' is what I am starting this sentence with, what a place, we stayed in cupids lodge (no 19) and it has to be one of the best places we have ever stayed in (yes, even Langtry Manor, although that's beautiful as well in its own rights.) the living room, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom with its whirlpool bath and big, walk in shower, utility room with washing machine n dryer, oh and the sauna room, and not to forget the jacuzzi we spent a lot of our time in was so perfect! Honestly the park and lodge was so clean and quite. If I was to be really picking, my only criticism would be that the tv in the bedroom didn't have a good signal, so we couldn't really watch it in there, still that was minor to us because everything else was perfection, we can't wait to go back again next year, really looking forward to it.

The Coltwolds is beautiful, if your looking for a relaxing break with beautiful scenery this really is the place for you!

Must see's are Bourton-on-the-water & Stow-on-the-wold.

Stay clear of the 29th Sept as that's our weekend away! ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

We like sentences that start with WOW, thank you for such a nice kind review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and are coming back again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The staff at the park were great, helpful and curious.The welcome pack provided gave lots of information about the surrounding area. there is a tesco nearby in stow which has everything you would need. We had a great stay and the hot tub was fabulous, the lodge was well appointed and had everything we needed, we travelled around the area via car although there is a train station with links to Oxford a little over a mile away, be there early to park.
Overall this was a relaxing quiet location to base yourself with everything you would need to lock yourself away or travel around the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your review, we hope that you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in norton lodge and was very happy with it. It had all the mod cons you could ask for, there was only a little problem, the tumble dryer didnt work, we wanted to use it as we have a little boy who was going through clothes like they were going out of fashion. But we didnt report the problem to reception because it we could live without it, had we reported it, they probably would have sorted it in two ticks. Hot tub was lush, could have stayed in there all day. I would go back there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dontoneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for a lovely review, Yes we would have sorted the dryer if it was fixable or offered a free service Wash/Dry if we couldn't, we want your stay to be perfect, please let us know if something isn't right and we will do all we can to put it right where possible. We hope you come back again and thank you for being so positive even though things were not perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Bluewood and despite the weather being awful had a throughly enjoyable break. We visited with our friends and our dog, the lodge had been described accurately. It was clean, very spacious, well maintained and equipped, with lovely views it not only met our expectations but exceeded them. The lodge was nice and cosy, plenty of space for drying outdoor clothes without making the lodge untidy or cluttered, the hot tub was lovely and hot and we made full use of this. It was a nice touch whe we arrived to find a dog bowl, dog biscuit, mat and rug which made our doggy feel very welcome. The location was ideal lots of places to visit close at hand and a good selection of eateries, would definitely return again if visiting the region in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rubytuescm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for such a nice review, we are glad the dog liked it too. We are glad that the weather didn't spoil your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
5.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
348 reviews
7.3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
731 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
563 reviews
4.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewood Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewood Lodges

Address: B4450, Kingham OX7 6UJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kingham
Price Range: $100 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluewood Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluewood Lodges is superbly located near to the picture postcard traditional Cotswold village of Kingham. Nestled in a beautiful small bluebell wood in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the lodges offer visitors a tranquil escape from the hustle and bustle of modern day living and the perfect base for exploring the many charms the idyllic Cotswolds have to offer. Relax on the deck of your own luxury lodge, take a leisurely walk to the local pub and enjoy great food and drink or venture slightly further a field to the historic market town of Stow on the Wold and popular quaint villages such as Chipping Norton, Moreton-in-Marsh and Bourton on the Water; there’s so much on offer and all conveniently close at hand. Newly opened onsite Tatty Bunting Café, serving Breakfast, Lunch & Afternoon Tea. All Our food is locally Sourced a cooked fresh on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bluewood Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewood Hotel Kingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing