We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chips to die for”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Ranked #22 of 34 Restaurants in Faringdon
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Chips to die for”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We ate here twice on our latest visit to Faringdon and as on previous visits, the food was excellent and well priced. The chips were not your usual bought in frozen rubbish but delicious home made ones. Fabulous. One thing we missed last time was a huge beer garden out the back. A very nice pub with history. (Civil war AND mentioned in Tom Browns School Days)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BootneckBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“What a great local ...any excuse to visit!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Love it that they welcome dogs and always enjoy seeing new canines on every visit

The food is fab ... From the burgers in the bar to the homemade bread in the restaurant ... You can dine casually in the bar ... Which I love ... To a quieter and more intimate setting in the restaurant ... Which I also love ....

Any excuse to visit ... Eat ... Drink and enjoy

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“very nice relaxing inn”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

this place we was told not to miss as it had a good name for food which was very true and also they seemed to control the types they wanted to visit the place made a very nice change from some of the other pubs in Faringdon

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank harry209968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
302 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a Sunday lunch and were not disappointed. £7.95 for a choice of three roasts and plenty of veg. Lovely gravy. Bit of a queue at the carvery when we got there but it was worth the wait. Vegetarian choices were a bit limited though. Very friendly staff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JAC-B-321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value for money”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Lovely roast Sunday lunchtime at the Red Lion - they were serving roast beef, pork or gammon so we plumped for the roast beef. Two types of potatoes and 4 different veg as well as thick slices of meat all in a lovely gravy made this one of the best roast dinners I have ever had. Food was very well cooked and excellent value for money at only £7.95! Loved the addition of rosemary to the roast potatoes - will have to try that at home. Highly recommended. What a shame that the pub was not busier - they seemed to be really quiet for a Sunday lunchtime. There is also a pretty beer garden at the back of the pub as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JF_SE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

 
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing