We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best we have visited” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farmer Gow's

Farmer Gow's
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Faringdon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Hands on' farm animal handling and feeding experiences with farmyard adventure play. Farmer Gow's welcomes visitors of all ages (youngest visitor 5 days, oldest 102 years!) to some wonderful countryside experiences. The farm lies in the Vale of White Horse, just off the A420 between Oxford and Swindon. Lots of 'hands on' with the farm animals. Daily 'Meet the Animals' sessions - see Home page for details. Bottle fed lambs & goat kids; tickle or pat a wriggly piglet; hand fed sheep and goats; go egg collecting; handling tiny fluffy chicks, turkey poults, ducklings or goslings. Adventure play in the farmyard, Trailer Rides to feed Pollyanna sow, Treasure Hunts on the giant Bale Climb. Open Daily 10am - 5pm. All weather activities, both undercover and outside. Refreshments available throughout the day in Harvest Tea Room. Picnics also welcome.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“best we have visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the 4th or 5th of these type of petting farms we have visited and it is by far the best. It was well organised with enough animals and feed/bottles for everyone at the session to feed more than 1 each of the piglets, lambs and goats each - yes they were a bit poohy but wake up people it is a FARM!!! The tractor ride didn't have any pretences and was a good opportunity to sit the little ones down for 20 mins or so. The hay bale play area (with hidden tunnels) was a great hit. The facitilities were good with amble toilet and hand cleaning units. We took our own food and there are inside/outside seating but from what I could see of the food/menu and prices - the food was good. A lot of the acitvities are under cover including a large play area - with wooden train sets, dolls houses, jigsaw puzzles and colouring books. To be fair, other than the egg collecting I cannot see bad weather affecting a day out. All-in-all a godd and reasonable 1/2 day out for a family

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simeon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey T, Public Relations Manager at Farmer Gow's, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
So pleased you had a good time and appreciate what we're doing, thank you very much for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor, do hope you can come again and have some more traditional family fun at Farmer Gow's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    28
    8
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great place, not plastic.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a great day out at Gow's Farm, we arrived in time for the morning feeding session (bottle fed goats, lambs and fed the pigglets all of which were freely running round us, and then took the tractor ride out with Farmer Gow to see the larger animals.

It's not a sugar coated plastic or polished attraction, but makes no pretence to this. It's much closer to an actual farm that's trying to give us an insight into the farming world and its well worth the low entry fee.

The food was great and local, the staff were fab and we'd come back again if we didn't live so far away.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MargretTheDiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey T, Public Relations Manager at Farmer Gow's, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We're glad you 'get' what we're doing and appreciate the lack of plastic! Hope you can enjoy another visit when you're next down, if you come around Easter time there will be lots more little lambs frisking about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Campsite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed in the campiste but didn't visit the farm, overall happy with the facilities, shower blocks were good, toliets clean. Providing a camp fire was a great feature, our kids loved toasting marshmallows, and the views form the site of the White Horse are excellent, the only negative I would say is if the campiste was full the kids wouldn't have a lot of space to run around.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blewbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday party at Farmer Gow's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

In May 1013 my son and his reception year class went to Farmer Gow's on a school trip. My son and his friends all had a great time, much to my relief as I had booked Farmer Gow's for his 5th birthday party (even though we hadn't visited before ourselves). On 14th July we arrived with 20 something children and a similar number of adults. I had my fingers crossed all would go to plan.

Well, I need not have worried all the children and all the adults had a wonderful time with their children. The party ran smoothly and on time. We all assembled at 1030am for an 1100 start. Whilst waiting for everyone to arrive the children already present played on the hay bales. At 11.00 sharp the children and parents set off to meet the sheep and goats. Everyone sat down on hay bales and the animals came to us. This was a great idea and much better than trying to pat them over a fence. We bottle fed the sheep and then escorted a goat on a lead to the hen house to collect eggs. My son loved this even when our goat became rather lazy & sat down refusing to move! After egg collecting the children had lunch which was provided by Farmer Gow's. We chose the cold party selection (good variety of food provided) which provided more than enough food for all the children and was well worth the money. The barn where lunch was served was clean and nicely laid out providing a really good farm atmosphere.

After lunch we all went on the tractor/trailer ride and fed the pigs before returning for a treasure hunt on the hay bales.

The staff were friendly and helpful and made sure everyone had a great day.

My son had a wonderful birthday party and for me it was completely stress free. I would recommend Farmer Gow's as a birthday party venue for young children. It was perfect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank colette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We took my 2 year old Son here in June 2013 as the website promised all that he loves. We paid £14 to get in and this has to be one of the biggest wastes of money I have ever paid. The gift shop was the best part; this tells you all you need to know I think. The tractors were all broken and my Son could not use them. The tunnels in the hay bails were quite amusing for about 5 minutes, but it was quite dangerous for a todler. The animals were a joke! The as advertised 'chick handling' was quite disturbing. We were expecting yellow fluffy chicks but half grown, featherless, red bottomed and covered in poo ugly teenagers were produced. The animal feeding was also a joke. 2 pigs ran out for 26 children all armed with milk bottles! We left very disappointed and will never go again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ctysom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey T, Public Relations Manager at Farmer Gow's, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your interesting comments, which have been hard for staff to recognise as they do not accurately describe our farm, nor the daily comments we receive in person.

Farmer Gow’s is a working farm with public access to eight agricultural livestock species, there are no ‘show’ animals for visual only inspection and there is not a heavy focus on play equipment. We're sorry if this was not what you were expecting.

·         Farmer Gow’s is a ‘hands on’ farm experience – and supervision of children is emphasised in all animal handling areas, because most young children have little or no previous experience of farm animal species, nor of a working farm. 
·         £14 entrance is for 2 adults – so your son had complimentary entry to the farm park.  Last month (June) 308 under 3s had complimentary entry to the farm.
·         Pedal tractors – there are 25 pedal and push-a-long tractors and trailers. We are surprised that they were all broken, since they are in daily use and are checked regularly.  Perhaps the age range of the tractors – which can be driven by teenagers – meaning that they are actually heavy/hard for toddlers to pedal and this was the real issue.  We are expecting toddlers to use the push-a-long versions, or be pushed by parents if they prefer the heavier duty pedal tractors.  These heavy duty larger tractors are specifically designed for older children and therefore needing quite a lot of ‘leg push power’.  It would certainly be difficult for a toddler to pedal the larger, heavier tractors.
·         The bale climb is one of our most popular equipments – and the tunnels in particular are in great demand.  With children up to 15 years of age visiting the farm, the bale climb must be challenging for many age groups, including adults.  We normally find that toddlers enjoy the bale climb with their parents.
·         A ‘chick’ is a young bird that has not yet reached adulthood.  Chickens reach adulthood at around 5-6 months.  The chicks in the chick handling area hatched on 4 June – so what you saw was a chick whose fluffy day-old feathers were gradually being replaced by adult feathers.  We now have turkey chicks in our chick area, and today ducklings are arriving.  This area sees new chicks every month.
·         Meet the Animals – Not sure how much of this session you actually experienced.  It’s all ‘hands on’.  We also put the animals welfare first – so with large, noisy groups of visitors, we work hard to quieten and still the humans before we start the animal experiences.  These sessions generally last for at least an hour and include 4-6 farm animal species. 
·         We normally start with pigs – currently 2 different age groups, weaners and porkers.  We don’t and never have bottle fed them (your 26 children with bottles was therefore rather surprising) – we handle and tickle them. 
·         We do bottle feed lambs and goat kids – and have up to 200 bottles available thereby ensuring that every child, and generally most adults, have an opportunity to enjoy this activity. 
·         We do also hand feed kids, goats, lambs and ewes. 
·         We also then goat and kid walk outside. Near where we go egg collecting.  That’s also via the geese, who are great characters. 
·         For those who are interested there is still another specie to experience – Olive our ferret – and she loves coming out of her cage, being handled and walked.

We are sorry you feel disappointed and, as this is very unusual, we would like to offer you a free entry for the three of you so you can come back in July or August, and enjoy the full experience and join in. You're very welcome to bring a picnic and make a day of it. If you'd like to give us a name and address we'll happily post it to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmer Gow's also viewed

Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Farmer Gow's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing