We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sudbury House
Nearby Hotels
The Trout at Tadpole Bridge(Buckland Marsh)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell Hotel(Faringdon)
$89
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Eagle Tavern(Little Coxwell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horse and Jockey(Stanford in the Vale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
243
106
32
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
106
32
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan open kitchenlovely hotelafternoon teaon arrivalsmoked haddockshower over the bathwedding breakfastlovely weekendsuperb foodwedding gueststhe hotel is cleanbuffet stylespecial offerbed was very comfortableevery member of staffan overnight staywould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 396 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here on business with my colleagues and Ulrike, Shona and the team do a fine job.
Marcus and Julie on reception also exceptional and staff really go out of their way to ensure your experience is the best it can be- comfortable stay with nice double bed and good size bathroom- second visit and will be going back again shortly in the future all being well.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your five star rating.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that so many of team members were part of ensuring that your time with us was comfortable and met your requirements.

We share all our reviews with our colleagues here at the hotel and I know they will all be delighted to have been mentioned in person.

We look forward to seeing you again soon when you are in the area,

Kind Regards

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stopped here for one evening with work. The staff were really friendly and the rooms nice and clean, although a little dated, although I understand the hotel is now under new management and undergoing some modernisation.

I arrived late so settled for a bar meal, which was superb. I'd defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discoJoe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for your review and for your positive comments about your recent stay at the Sudbury House Hotel.

As you say our bedrooms are soon to be updated, with this refurbishment schedule being planned as I write, so hopefully be the next time you are in the area your stay will be even more comfortable and enjoyable.

Kind Regards

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Lovely Hotel, very clean & tidy, food was fantastic,If not for one hic up on service I would have voted it excellent.would stay again & eat their again.The staff were very friendly, just forgot to serve us coffee after we ordered it. We had to remind them 30 minutes later.
Coffee price was deducted as a gesture & hopefully it was just a one off.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review after your Valentines weekend and thank you also for our " almost " five star award.

We have been working exceptionally hard on our service and standards over the last six months in readiness for the launch of our new fine dining restaurant, Restaurant 56 and also later in the year our brasserie restaurant and we are delighted that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again soon and hopefully we will get everything perfect for you.

Kind Regards

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is the perfect location to get away from the hustle of any busy town or city.

Located on the edge of the historic town of Faringdon, the hotel offers a comfortable stay in the relaxing surrounding of the English Countryside. I have been informed that the hotel is under new ownership which was previously under the Best Western franchise.
The investment by the new owners is evident in the part of the hotel which was formerly a country house. The decoration and fixtures and fittings are all to an excellent standard, with all furniture being sourced from antiques dealers. The country house is also where the newly opened restaurant 56 is located, a appropriate setting for a restaurant.

Although currently the bedrooms are not to the same standard, I have been assured that the transformation of the country house will be spread across the whole hotel this year. The management team were also extremely professional and courteous, especially the very helpful manager Tina!
Room- clean spacious with a great view, Breakfast was delicious with chatty and friendly staff.

In summary I think that this hotel will make an name for itself in the near future as a luxury destination. I will certainly be back to see the improvements.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbren64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the excellent feedback and comments you have written.

Our bedroom and public area refurbishment plan is due to start soon, subject to planning and we very much look forward to you returning so that you can see the additional changes to the Sudbury House.

Kind Regards

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed the evening of the launch of restaurant 56,yes the hotel is basically a standard establishment at the present time, but if they upgrade the hotel to match the new adjoining restaurant 56 it is going to be a wow destination very soon.The new restaurant is headed up by Michelin star chef Andrew Scott and the refurbishment of the Georgian building to accomodate the restaurant adjacent to the hotel is top class indeed.My view is go now for a real gastranomic experience at restaurant 56 and be able to still afford reasonably priced accomodation.General manager Ulrike and all the staff were very nice indeed and i have to say the bed was exceptionally comfortable, i found the breakfast more than adequate for the room price paid.and will be returning again very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the positive comments with regard to Restaurant 56 and our team.

Once the refurbishment of the hotel and public areas is complete the hotel will match the quality of the restaurant and will indeed provide our guests with a unique and unforgettable experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews