We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb weekend”
Review of Sudbury House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sudbury House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Faringdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a weekend break 27/28th September 2013 with relations and had an excellent weekend.
The staff were realy friendly and helpful. Super breakfasts too.
Nothing was too much trouble, rooms very good also.
Location good on edge of village and local to nearby attactions.

Will definately be using this hotel again and will recommend to freinds

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 935IANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sudbury House and we of course are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are indeed in a great location to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside of both Oxfordshire and Wiltshire and so close to the interesting Cotswolds towns and villages with their antique shops and cream teas.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 355 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went for afternoon tea on a Saturday afternoon at Sudbury House. It seems to be more of a conference/wedding venue. We were shown to the old part of the house for our afternoon tea by Andy who was very pleasant and had excellent customer service skills. It's a shame we were the only ones in the room at the time so although it may have lacked a bit of atmosphere the afternoon tea that was served more than made up for it. We had our sparkling wine to start with followed by finger sandwiches, scones and a variety of cakes all served on a long piece of slate. The food was excellent and plentiful and we were also offered top ups of tea and coffee if we wanted. Service was excellent and they were playing a very good, unobtrusive CD in the background.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review detailing your experiences.

Afternoon tea is a relatively new addition to our menus and we have been working hard to promote this to the local community which we hope in turn will result in more people coming and enjoying the same experience you have had but with more people in the restaurant to create a warmer atmosphere.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again soon,

Kind Regards

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A few years ago the music magazine Uncut awarded 6 stars to a CD instead of their usual maximum 5 and I wish I could do this for the food at Sudbury House, at least for the starters, deserts and extras. Canapes were served - salmon and black roe, olive tapanade with tomato - perfect texture and taste explosion, from a selection of fresh bread rolls I chose one delicately flavoured with Indian spice. Leek and potato soup was a light, flavourful creation. My main course of millefeuille vegetable ratatouille with basil mash was pleasant but suffered by being served luke warm. The bookends of the meal were best - a desert of lemon mouse with pine kernels looked like jewellery on the plate with a flourish of wire thin caramel spiralling over it. as a final flourish coffee came with two fresh, bitter chocolate truffles. Yummy! I heard a rumour that the chef is a young woman - only 17 years old. Get there quick - she will go far.

The hotel is also notable for the friendliness of the staff and the extreme comfort of the beds. It is very conveniently situated for several major routes and motorways, although it is not directly on a main road. surrounded by landscaped open space which i didn't have time to explore. Decor is unremarkable. Luxury and satisfaction are guarenteed, as long as you enter the dining room

Room Tip: My room was on the top floor and although there is a lift it was quite hard to access through severa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lone-opine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your five star review of the hotel and in particular the restaurant.

Hopefully by the next time you visit the décor will be remarkable as we have fantastic plans to refurbish and redecorate the whole hotel to match the new beds and bedding that you have already experienced.

Most importantly thank you very much for the comments about our fine dining which we are currently developing to a point where we can launch both a fine dining restaurant and also a more informal brasserie style restaurant to suit all tastes and give our guests more choice. It sounds like we are almost there with out fine dining menu !

I hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again.

Kind Regards

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the hotel whilst re-visiting the area he lived in when we first met some years ago.
Although we only stayed for one night we found the hotel rooms to be clean and the staff very helpful, friendly and polite. The bar had a good selection of top shelf spirits and my partner found himself a good single malt whisky to sample and relax with at the end of the day.
The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the town of Faringdon which worked perfectly for us as we had plans to visit a small local restaurant within the town itself.
The only thing I would put in a slightly negative light would be the breakfast service and buffet replenishment.
Unfortunately quite a few of the staff were kept busy moving between tables and re-filling single cups of tea/coffee rather than people being given their own pots, thus freeing up the staff a little to help with the breakfast bar.
That said though, the food itself was very good with a varied range and I would definitely return to the hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst revisiting Faringdon and thank you for your feedback and five star rating.

We value each and every comment from all our guests and will use your review to improve our service and standards going forward.

If you are in the area again I hope that we will have the pleasure of your company,

Kind Regards

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had! We arrived with our two dogs and we were pleasantly suprised to find easy access from our room to the large gardens. There is a gate from the gardens that allows you to enjoy the folly and woodland for walking the dogs and also get to the village. The staff all went out of their way to make our weekend most enjoyable. The restaurant food was excellent - so good we ate there both evenings.We would certainly recommend this hotel to all our friends. We have already booked to stay here at new year (the dogs are looking forward to it!) we can't wait to try the new years eve six course gala dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the excellent feedback.

We are delighted that you and your dogs enjoyed their stay and that you were able to also experience the new menus in the restaurant which are proving to be very popular.

We look forward to seeing you at the end of December, don't forget the dogs bow ties !

Kind Regards

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived on Friday 13th late afternoon and were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist, we were given all the info we needed and made to feel very welcome. we went to our room and after some of the reviews I was a little worried that it might not be too good, what a lovely suprise, although it wasnt one of the refurbished rooms it was lovely, ok so a little old fashioned but very comfortable, spotlessly clean and very spacious, tea and coffee making facilities and a plentiful supply too! The food was great, breakfasts were fab, plenty to choose from and the cooked breakfasts were very good, we ate in the restaurant on Friday evening, very good and not too expensive for what was on offer, I can recommend the sea bass. The staff at this hotel are really super, very helpful, friendly and efficient. The hotel itself is in a great position, just a few minutes walk from the town which isn't very big but worth a walk round as its quite pretty with some historic buildings worth seeing, we didnt do the walk up to the folly but as we intend to go back I am sure we will next time. So many beautiful places to visit within a very short distance. We had a fabulous weekend and I would like to say thank you to the staff at the hotel for making our stay so pleasant. We booked this on a deal so really good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic and comprehensive review with which the whole team are delighted.

As you will see from previous reviews we are working extremely hard to improve our standards and service ahead of an exciting refurbishment programme which is due to start in the near future and it is especially pleasing that you have experienced this and enjoyed your stay so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon so that you can have walk up to the Folly and enjoy the beautiful views across five counties.

Kind Regards

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked this hotel for two nights on a deal and ended up staying for three due to another hotel we have booked being unsuitable. The hotel and grounds are very nice and great for our dog. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was spacious and clean. We were located near to a fire exit so we could access the grounds easily with the dog, which was great. There is a gate at the back of the gardens which opens onto a lane which takes you up to a tower at the top of a hill which offers brilliant views of the area. It is only a short walk and we did it every morning and evening.
My only grumble would be the breakfast buffet was not kept stocked as it should have been, but the food itself was fine.
The location of the hotel is also good. Faringdon is a nice littel town on the edge of the Cotswolds and within a few miles of the White Horse at Uffington and other sites.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your five star award.

We are delighted that you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to explore the beautiful countryside whilst you were here.

Thank you also for the feedback which we will take on board and use to continually improve our service and standards going forward.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faringdon
0.3 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Faringdon
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Crown Coaching Inn
Old Crown Coaching Inn
#3 of 4 in Faringdon
247 reviews
9.9 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
177 reviews
15.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
19.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudbury House

Address: Folly Hill | 56 London Street, Faringdon SN7 8AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Faringdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Faringdon
Price Range: $127 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a fine Regency residence, the hotel is situated in the beautiful market town of Faringdon, close to Oxford, Shrivenham and Swindon. Surrounded by nine acres of landscaped gardens,Sudbury House can offer a quiet break away from it all, yet still being close to local businesses and towns,including RAF Brize Norton, Cranfield University and the Defence Academy.Close to the main Swindon to Oxford Road, the A420, the hotel is within easy access of the M4 and M40. Refurbished and redecorated completely in 2015, the Sudbury House is a great base for the Oxfordshire and Wiltshire counties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sudbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Faringdon
Faringdon Best Western
Sudbury House Faringdon, England - Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing