We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable hospitality!! Great food...”
Review of Market Restaurant - CLOSED

Market Restaurant
Price range: $25 - $54
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We have now CLOSED, after 24 glorious years of successful trading... The building is on the market and for sale, so get in quick if you would like to buy it.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were looking for a nice restaurant in Faringdon when we first moved here back in November and a recommendation came from a friend to say this was a good, if a little expensive place to eat, so we gave it a go.

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the door and the ambiance of the bar made pre dinner drinks pleasurable. A lot of thought and attention to detail is evident when it comes to the decor of the main dining room, with interesting works of art, which puts you at ease in readiness for the culinary delights that are to follow. The menu is well thought out, food cooked to near perfection and presented very well. Throughout the meal the host ensured everything was as it should be and engaged in conversation which was relaxed and natural without intruding on our time together.

Would we go again? We are looking forward to Saturday when we have booked to go with some of our family...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_and_Andy_Boston, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

wow, thank you very much, I have only just been prompted to your post. We are so pleased you found us, and hope that you did make it (last weekend maybe).. through the snow, wind and rain. Do make yourself known to Jo and I am sure she will get you a drink next time you are in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 87 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

What a lovely welcome and service, this was old fashioned hospitality at its best. Food was wonderful and good range catered for all tastes. Definitely a place I would recommend, and can't wait to visit again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_and_Andy_Boston, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I've not been to the Market Restaurant for a number of years and following my recent visit I don't know why. The menu does not seem to have changed ever but the welcome is always warm, food of excellent quality and portions are plenty generous. A little on the pricey side but you dont mind paying when the standards are high.

This is the only place in Faringdon that is worth eating in

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_and_Andy_Boston, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Very grateful for your kind and accurate comments. It is kind of true our menu does always seem to be the same (except for the prices of course..). Things are taken off or modified for a season or a few months, then people request that they get put back on again. So the core menu is static-ish, but usually there should be a few new-ish things. Anyway many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Since first moving to Faringdon, or even before, when we were looking to buy here, we have eaten at this lovely restaurant. I say that I almost forgot it, as we now just accept it as being there, like 'Marks and Spencers', it is just there!. We have eaten as a couple, as a family and as a group. The food, the service and the atmosphere is always the same high standard. They are not aiming to impress the gourmet, just to provide the best. Low key and understated.
That said, after prawns in garlic cream, followed by duck confit, its not always easy to fit in the Baileys rice pudding. Oh well, you have to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank freddie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_and_Andy_Boston, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Once again, thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to fill our little restaurant with happy people, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We love this restaurant, the food and service are second to none. Have been 7 or 8 times over the last 12 months and can't fault it. Always a friendly welcome with a regular changing menu which never fails to live up to its reputation of a top class establishment. Will use and recommend time after time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pete8don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_and_Andy_Boston, Owner at Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Oh my goodness, don't let the complements go to our heads, I just hope that these were not freakie good days that you have had on your visits. Thank you very much and look forward to seeing you again. Have a great Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Restaurant also viewed

 
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 
Stanford in the Vale, Faringdon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing