We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed everything”
Review of The Snooty Mehmaan

The Snooty Mehmaan
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Faringdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Multi Award Winning Indian and Thai Cuisine
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyed everything”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Travelling home after a long day in Devon we popped in here after promising ourselves for ages that we would try it. We all had different palates but there was plenty of choice so we could all be satisfied. The mixed starter (for 2) which we shared between three was plentiful and very tasty and not swimming in oil like some other places I have tried. The mains and sides were all grand too and the portion size was good so we only had one rice between us and a couple of chapatis which were super dipped in the remaining sauce. The service was friendly and attentive and although the prices might be pennies more than some other local restaurants it was still good value for money. Will definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    93
    29
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
147 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the restaurant before and it was fairly average but this time the food and the service were excellent. I had a prawn Simbal which was delicious and my husband's dish which wasn't to his liking was changed without fuss and promptly for another delicious dish. The service was great. Loved the bar area for drinks. Also found they have a taxi service which is great value eg for 6 people for say Faringdon it would cost £15 there and back. Worth doing next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss-sip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Expensive and very spicy”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We have been to a number of curry houses and regularly order from a local one. It is expensive £4 for an onion Bahji, £10 for chicken dish, £4 for rice, £4 for nan bread, I had a chicken makhani which I struggled to eat as it was so spicy which is what I normally have and everyone we went there with said what they normally have was too spicy and two of us were unable to eat it. Surroundings are nice. Service is average. We won't be returning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Laura2331988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food backed up with good service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Tried this after search on tripadvisor, looking for restaurant recommendation in the Faringdon. The food was very good, the starters in particular being exceptional. Service was very good with waiting between ordering and each course being timed to perfection. This was particularly impressive as we ate on a busy Saturday evening. The price was on the high side but justified by the quality. Well worth a try

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhinoSteve13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bangkok meets Mumbai – Wonderful”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had dinner here Saturday night (20th July), the service was efficient and very polite, the food was absolutely wonderful and I cannot wait to go back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rjcrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snooty Mehmaan also viewed

Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Snooty Mehmaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing