We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely chose the Indian food next time”
Review of The Snooty Mehmaan

The Snooty Mehmaan
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Faringdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Multi Award Winning Indian and Thai Cuisine
Swindon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Would definitely chose the Indian food next time”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went with a mixed group of friends last week, the menu is a mix of Indian and Thai dishes, most had Indian but a few had Thai, verdict on the Indian food was better than the Thai, Massaman curry with potato wedges? Er don’t think so ...Main dishes did come a little too quick for some and the drinks were a bit pricey but we knew that beforehand, service was OK as you would expect for the premium prices, was a little shocked that the service staff never brought the change back and just assumed it was theirs to keep (28 pounds) ...didn’t make a fuss but on another occasion most definitely would..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeHuntSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    93
    29
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous food and great service”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were staying in hotel nearby and decided to try this restaurant based on the good reviews on TA. The food did not disappoint, it was a little more pricey than the average indian restaurant but the extra cost is more than justified by the great choice on the menu, and the lovely food. Its such a rare treat to taste the fresh ingredients, and it was really a very special meal. Asad was a fabulous host and took great care of us and i woud definitiely go back there again when we are in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARIA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Top quality, top service”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stopped to have lunch before visiting Oxford - Greeted with a warm welcome and a smile despite the hour. The food was simply superb. The entire family devoured their dishes and we also asked for extra plain naan. The bill reasonable and certainly justified by the quality of the service and of the food.

Congratulations

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank novembre1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Bagpuize, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We're big fans of another local Indian restaurant, and thus, taking the step to visit here, was done with a measure of trepidation... Glad to say we were not disappointed, though this will have to step up a degree or two to match our local favourite.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryLoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly an eye opener”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Food that has really been cared for from chef to table. Some wobbles on the service but worth it. This does not compare to your local Indian/Thai. Try it and will understand!

Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snooty Mehmaan also viewed

Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Snooty Mehmaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing