We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Plough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Clanfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London - uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Plough”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We come back time and time agin, the staff are fantastic, food and service great, really relaxing place to visit,
Recommend you all just visit, even if its just for afternoon tea
keep up the good work guys,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superleaguebulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    86
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
38
190
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The Plough has an atmospheric look and it didn't disappoint inside. The four poster room we stayed in was clean and comfortable, with a light and airy bathroom, the only downside was there was little space to store clothes and the furniture was mismatched, but this also added to the charm. The food was excellent, with the chief knocking us up a snack when we arrived hungry after our journey and serving time was over. The staff were friendly and helpful, we enjoyed our stay and will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyBSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford upon avon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

My Wife and i stayed there on the 'lazy sunday' deal which meant that the accommodation was free if you spent £75 between you on food and drinks - easy!
We arrived at 1 and sat out on the terrace amongst beautiful scenery to eat outr lunch. Excellent food and wine - sat eating lobster and drinking sancerre in the lunchtime sun!
I'd paid for an upgrade when i booked from a standard to a 4 poster at an extra cost of £20! Clanfiel itself is very small but ideal for 1 or 2 nights away to sit and relax. Nice walks along the streams andfields, another good pub next door - perfect.
In the evening we then had a tapas type snack in the garden with several drinks throughout the day. Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful.
A lovely breakfast in the morning completed this excellent stay.
We were fairly extravagant and so, with upgraded accomodation, 3 course lunch with very good wine, drinks inc pimms, G&T, Cider and wine all day, evening snack (which was all that was needed after a big lunch) and breakfast cost a total of £150. This could be done cheaper if you were on a tighter budget but seeing as we rarely have a night away without our children we were willing to pay for what we wanted!
this really was a superb deal and we'd definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank navvi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
One-Anoymous
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2010

After a stressful week in town, we decided to escape early to the country to experience
Essential Fridays at The Plough. Well, where shall I begin? We arrived early evening to be welcomed by friendly staff and a well earnt drink on the summer terrace, where we soaked in the evening sun, and watched the world go by. Our room was gorgeous, with an en-suit, extremely comfortable bed with excellent Egyptian bed linen, and was spotless and cosy. The food from the light supper menu was delicious well presented and the breakfast was a true treat. We left for an adventure late Saturday morning to explore the Cotswolds with lots of yummy items in our 3 course picnic lunch created buy the chefs. We had a wonderful time exploring this part of the world and shall be back, its just a perfect place to relax, unwind and enjoy .....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank One-Anoymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We stayed here over a very wet and cold weekend in November. We booked a standard room, but on arrival were upgraded to a 4 poster. It was a lovely room, right at the top of the old building. The room was quaint, with everything that you would need. The bathroom had a huge jacuzzi bath for two!

The hotel itself is quite small. There is a bar area with 2 log fires, chairs and sofas, and a couple of dining tables. We sat by one of these fires all afternoon sipping wine, while it poured outside. Warm and cosy.

The restaurant is very good, and gets very busy in the evenings. We ate there both nights and the menu was varied enough for us not to repeat. A good range of value wines on offer too.

Breakfast was good. A choice of cereals and fruit, followed by a tasty full English. As much tea or coffee as you want.

Clanfield is a small village with not much there, but is a good base for exploring the delights of Oxford or the Cotswolds. The plough makes an ideal base to do this.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz_n_Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

This is a true gem of a find in everyway. Cosy Inn with roaring log fires, romantic candles,good food and excellent wine list. Gorgeous room with the most comfy four poster bed with egyptian cotton bedlinen. Hotel spotlessley clean and staff most polite, helpful and friendly. Food well presented and excellent breakfast included. As you can tell..I loved it! Will be spreading the news about this one...what a find and we will certainly be back! This is just the place to unwind....You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinegirlBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Shire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Wow, from the minute we arrived this was idyllic, our greeting was laid back and relaxed, our Four Poster room was stunning, immaculately clean and it felt as though it had personally been prepared just for us. Even the sunshine had been arranged for our stay ! The Proprietor and Staff are very relaxed and made us feel really welcome. We sat enjoying freshly brewed coffee overlooking the garden each morning, watching the Chef cutting fresh herbs to accompany the that day's Menu.
The food is freshly made, to order, the menu has something for every taste, the fresh fish dishes are fab, dining at the Plough is also very popular with locals. Breakfast was second to none, and served with smiles.
To sum up, we had a wonderful time at this beautifully crafted Hotel, the ambience was delightful, relaxing was part of the pleasure, already looking to book our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judyblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanfield
4.1 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
327 reviews
6.1 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,754 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,056 reviews
13.5 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,630 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Trout at Tadpole Bridge
The Trout at Tadpole Bridge
#1 of 1 in Buckland Marsh
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Bourton Road, Clanfield OX18 2RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Clanfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clanfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotswold Plough is a perfect example of a 16th Century, stylish yet informal hotel. The hotel is perfectly located to explore landmark Cotswold towns, the rolling countryside and the Dreaming Spires of Oxford. Bampton, home to Downton Abbey, is right on the doorstep, Burford only 15 mins away and is the nearest hotel to Kelmscott Manor home to William Morris in 1878. The Cotswold Plough has 11 elegant, confortable and spacious en-suite bedrooms, a restaurant and a bar serving local ales, quality everyday dining options, open fires and a sunshine terrace for Al fresco dining. The hotel offers something for everyone all year round, with an idyllic charm that allows guests to relax in comfort and there is free Wifi throughout. The restaurant serves an a la cate menu of seasonal mouth-watering dishes. Whereas the bar offers a more traditional British menu and the hotel's most unique offering: a Gin Pantry with over 150 individual gins and an incomparable knowledge of these drinks and their accompaniments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing