We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still as good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Clanfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

this was the second time we have stayed at this wonderful little hotel. we found it just as good as the first time. the staff were friendly and helpful. the food in the restaurant is excellent and if you fancy a gin and tonic there are hundreds of gin to choose from. we will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2 and it was perfect.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micklind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 345 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have stayed here 5 times in the last couple of years and have also bought both sets of parents on 2 occasions.
The welcome is always warm and the food without exception excellent.
If you can book a Monday away from work meander here on a Sunday afternoon and curl up by a fire with the papers and a gin from the pantry.
Follow this with far too much dinner and sleep like a log - no work on Monday. Taking advantage of their lazy Sunday offer means the treat costs less than dinner in some gastro pubs.
We tend to chose the old rooms as we like the character but the newer ones arm perfectly pleasant.
I think its time for another visit. . . .

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bollybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights in feb 2013, and were slightly disappointed. we booked through late rooms, and were given room 5 which was a block of rooms tucked away at the back, overlooking a sort of garden and a large humming fan. It wasn't loud but was continuous through the night and spoilt our first night. The staff we helpful the next day, we moved to the primrose room, at the front. Try and get the old rooms. But this room also had a hum! maybe from the bar underneath? We were dissaponted, it looks lovely from the front, but it is a hotel and not an inn, it has a big feel and lots of humming vents and fridges. Food was ok, mushrooms great, but there wasn't a lot. They did find me some gluten free bread on the second morning and that was lovely. We only had two whiskeys in the bar £11!!

Room Tip: choose an old room at the front, lots of character and get the morning sunshine. also avoids the big...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had spent the previous evening at a very generic hotel in Oxford so were delighted to be out in the country, this charming little place was perfect for our winter break. The staff were excellent, we had booked via Secret Escapes so enjoyed a delicious dinner and breakfast. I would only complain that the food was so good, we over indulged and weren't able to enjoy the lovely bar as much as we would have liked as we were so full! We really do hope to be back - thank you for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brizzlygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Plough for two nights and had a lovely time. We were upgraded for free and the food was exceptional. The staff were very helpful and we had a very relaxing stay. Thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks to the Plough Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattD112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were first time guests in December after a recommendation from family who had visited. We thought it was everything it promised and a little bit more. The hotel is exactly what you imagine when you think of a small Cotswold inn. The building is beautiful, with lots of nooks and crannies, original floors and beams to duck. It is stuffed full of interest from the antique furniture (lived with originals not perfect specimens- I think the perfect ones would be too frightening to be around) to old games and interesting things in comers and windows everywhere. The rooms are spacious, tastefully done, comfortable and clean. Mobile reception only works for vodaphone but there is free wifi throughout so you can still be connected if you want to. We had afternoon tea, evening meal and breakfast and thought the food throughout was really good. Clearly home made and very tasty. For anyone who enjoys a drink of gin this place is a must. I don't know how many there are but They have their own menu for gin and I would guess at seventy ish.

The service was good and very relaxed and friendly, the team have tried to think of everything you will need even allowing you to bring your dog and able to arrange babysitters if you want any time without the children. We were very happy with the stay and think it was good value for money. The only thing I would say is that it is a very nice pub/inn and not a 24 hour hotel. This is not a drawback just something you need to know if you are used to 24hour reception staffing or room service.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Having come here some time ago and also reading some disparaging reviews I can share that the menu whilst simple is cooked to exceptional standards.

Dining and staying on one of their Sunday night deals we feel that this offer is an excellent end of weekend package.

We overheard a waitress tell other diners that the chefs all used to work in Michelin starred restaurants.

It will be interesting to see what may come of this?

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MortimerLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanfield
4.1 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
344 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
858 reviews
19.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Trout at Tadpole Bridge
The Trout at Tadpole Bridge
#1 of 1 in Buckland Marsh
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Bourton Road, Clanfield OX18 2RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Clanfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clanfield
Price Range: $147 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotswold Plough is a perfect example of a 16th Century, stylish yet informal hotel. The hotel is perfectly located to explore landmark Cotswold towns, the rolling countryside and the Dreaming Spires of Oxford. Bampton, home to Downton Abbey, is right on the doorstep, Burford only 15 mins away and is the nearest hotel to Kelmscott Manor home to William Morris in 1878. The Cotswold Plough has 11 elegant, confortable and spacious en-suite bedrooms, a restaurant and a bar serving local ales, quality everyday dining options, open fires and a sunshine terrace for Al fresco dining. The hotel offers something for everyone all year round, with an idyllic charm that allows guests to relax in comfort and there is free Wifi throughout. The restaurant serves an a la cate menu of seasonal mouth-watering dishes. Whereas the bar offers a more traditional British menu and the hotel's most unique offering: a Gin Pantry with over 150 individual gins and an incomparable knowledge of these drinks and their accompaniments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing