We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed!”
Review of Bignell Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bignell Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very impressed!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Living in Suffolk, a trip to Bicester Shopping Village is quite a trek! So, we make a long weekend out of it. We discovered Bignell Park some years ago & have been 3 times.
Very convenient for the Village (& the surrounding countryside), the hotel has been superb on each occassion.
Room with 4-poster bed, lovely evening meal, great location & really nice ambience. Prices OK too.
Loved it & we will return!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    137
    72
    35
    29
See reviews for
54
242
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Have just returned from a super 2 night stay at the hotel. Very impressed. Staff were very friendly, room was good with a very comfortable bed. Evening meal included in the price was super. The hotel is just outside Bicester and is in a super position to explore that part of the country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 304Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
133 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed one night while visiting family in the area. Room 22 good size with double bed and two arm chairs. Bed very comfortable. Good size bathroom with toiletries.
Large shower cubicle but screen only covered half of it, so bathroom floor soon awash with water!!
Plenty of hot water and shower powerful. Shaving light did not work. Also lighting in bedroom not good for putting on make-up. Internet was not good in the hotel room...very slow. But better in the lounge.
Broken hook on back of bathroom door, so couldn't hang up towels or clothes in bathroom. Towel rail was cold.
Breakfast; Was adequate but no choice of milk, only full cream. Yogurts were also full cream, and only one flavour. Service was quick.
Check in was efficient and helpful.
Overall rather overprice (£90) for one nights stay, however if on one of the deals mentioned in other reviews would be very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillmenzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and stayed for a one night whilst attending a nearby wedding. The hotel is located in Chesterton, just outside of Bicester. You can only access by car as it is in the middle of nowhere. Upon arrival, reception checking in was very quick, polite and informal. The room we were alloacted was very nice. Comfortable bed, all utilities worked. We even had a large comfy leaher sofa, which was a nice touch. Our room was very dark, even during the day as the hotel have allowed shurbs to grow outside some room windows. I think these need to be cut down so rooms re brighter. The bathroom could do with updating and mouldy scilocn sealeant arud the bath is off putting. My real gripe with Bignell Park hotl is the service. Firstly, my wife and I went to the bar and picked up one of the many menu's on the tables. Staff watched us studying the menu and then when we went to order they said, "Sorry, we are not doing food today as we have a large function to cater for"?? So no food!! Then in the morning, serving breakfast was very slow. We waited almost 30 minutes for our food to be served. Again, checking out, the reception desk was not staffed and we had to wait 5 mins for a staff member to check us out. The hotel could do with more staff, especially as there was lots of pople staying and a large funtion on. A lovely hote let down by lack of service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pp7822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a special deal from KGB Deals which was 3 nights for two people, full breakfast each morning plus a 3 course dinner on the first night for £129. Exceptional value. The staff all friendly esp the lady at breakfast who was lovely. The meal we had on the first night was simply superb. Breakfasts also delicious. Our room spacious and very clean and we really enjoyed our stay. We visited Bletchley Park and Oxford during our stay and had a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, Surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. We had a special deal from KGB Deals. Two nights for two people, full breakfast each morning plus a 3 course dinner on the first night. . . all for £99!!! We thought this was great value. The food was excellent. We didn't have the evening meal, only the breakfasts. The room we had was No.25 'Broadway'. It was a large room with a kingsize bed, a sofa and a couple of easy chairs. The bed was 'very firm' but we still had a good nights sleep. The carpet was a little disappointing. . . it was that awful 'seagrass' type matting. Not very nice to walk on bare footed! There were several little things that needed doing such as light bulbs missing or blown. The shower had a jet of water leaking from the shower head joint which was jetting up at the ceiling. The extractor fan in the bathroom seem to go on forever. A little bit annoying if you frequent the loo during the night! Having mentioned these minor issues, they didn't spoil our experience at this hotel. We were advised by a member of staff to mention the various issues to the manager, Clive, who welcomed our feedback and assured us he would be getting them put right straight away. We found all the staff very friendly and extremely knowledgable especially for visiting various nearby visitor attractions. The day we left 12.12.12, the large car park was being completely re-levelled and new tarmac being laid. Overall we would give this hotel 7 out of 10. . . like my old school reports used to say, "could do a bit better"!

Room Tip: The room we had, No.25 'Broadway' was right at the bottom end of a corridor and therefore no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisR49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Gravelly and messy car park then up the steps to the front door where, if you're not careful, you can measure your length over one step as you walk in. Muted welcome at Reception, the lounge lights were turned off and the small bar was empty, even of bar staff. Some odd smells when getting to the room (previous reviewers referred to damp), but nice Turkey pattern carpet on the way.Room pleasant and warm but bland, which matched the overall impression of the hotel. Shower room was good size (could have had a bath fitted!). There was a slightly odd smell in the room (seemed like food odours from somewhere) but not overpowering.

Breakfast was nicely cooked and served by pleasant staff, though there was a long wait for the food.

Rather a sterile and impersonal atmosphere overall.

Breakfast was well cooked and served by pleasant staff

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serdeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
1.7 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bignell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Park Hotel

Property: Bignell Park Hotel
Address: | Nr Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bignell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful hotel, wedding venue and award-winning restaurant situated in the village of Chesterton, Oxfordshire. Bignell Park Hotel offers unique charm and character, whilst providing modern facilities to ensure the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, our services and facilities are tailored to meet your individual needs. We offer 22 uniquely styled, beautiful rooms, an award-winning restaurant Oaks, tailored meeting rooms and a charmingly romantic wedding venue. The hotel offers unbroken views across the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, whilst being conveniently located only minutes from the M40 motorway. Only five minutes from designer shopping outlet Bicester Village, Bignell Park Hotel is the perfect place to stay and relax after a long day's shopping. Bignell Park Hotel provides guests with a unique, quintessentially English experience. Situated in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside and enjoying magnificent views, the Bignell Park Hotel offers quality hotel accommodation and is the perfect location for exploring the very best of English heritage and beauty. We look forward to welcoming you to the Bignell Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bignell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Park Chesterton
Bignell Park Hotel Chesterton, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing