We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would go back again without hesitation”
Review of Bignell Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bignell Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We would go back again without hesitation”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The welcome was warm, the room was a deluxe and was clean and comfortable. There were a few minor repairs needed in the bathroom but nothing major. In places the hotel could do with a freshen up but again, nothing major. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very good. It was good value and we had good and friendly service from all staff. The receptionist gave us lots of helpful tips regarding sightseeing. We ran out of coffee and tea and she also supplied extra supplies despite housekeeping not being available. The staff were all very helpful towards and pleased to see a couple and their young child. But we would definitely stay there again and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would check if there were any weddings planned and ask for a room away from the marquee if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacefullife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    139
    75
    35
    29
See reviews for
56
247
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A nice, small B&B style hotel in the small village of Chesterton, Oxford. I was mostly impressed with the staff. Arrived late and kitchen was closed but they still made me a warm meal. Helpful in many other ways, good English country hospitality. The room I had was quite large with a king sized 4 poster bed, very comfortable. The carpets are a bit worn and it is mostly clean. Small bar available on premises, good breakfast, too. They need to empty the ashtray at the front entrance, full of butts, very unattractive.

Room Tip: It's a quiet place, I suspect all the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is our second time staying at this Hotel, we make an annual trip to Bicester village to do some Christmas shopping.
This is a 3 star Hotel with 3 star accomodation and service, you get what you pay for.
The service could be brushed up on but the food is very nice, served in a diningroom with open gas fire.The breakfast is served to order unlike some 4 star Hotels.Our room was basic but comfortable, one of our group had a four poster bed which was very nice, although we all paid the same price. The hotel is about a mile from Biscester village and is an ideal location if you want to stay for a night or two. The hotel also gives you a VIP voucher so its another 10% off goods at the village.
Would I stay here again, yes I would and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I purchased a voucher for my stay at this hotel . The room was booked in August and part of the deal,was to be offered a four poster superior room if available. It was so this was booked. On the Tuesday of the the week we were staying on the Saturday, called the hotel to check our booking and they confirmed we would be on the ground floor in a four poster room.. On Arrival I have to say I was disappointed,, it is certainly not as pristine as website makes it appear. We were advised we did not have the room as previously promised and when asked why, they could not really give a response..when we made our way very hesitantly to our room, we found a very small electric radiator outside the door. We did not at that time take much notice. On entering the room it was really really cold so much so that we decided to go back out. We stopped at reception and asked about the heating. We were basically fobbed off with the lady promising it would be resolved on our return. We went shopping as it was too artic to unpack in the room.
When we returned we took the cases up to the room to find that the key did not work so my husband went back to reception to sort this. On his return he advised me that the heating was broken in our room since yesterday but they had placed the now obvious little electric radiatior that was previously outside the door in the room. I have to acknowledge that the room was now more comfortable but we would have no control we could either have the heat on all night or turn it off and wake up freezing. Again we had been lied to obviously they knew the situation when we both checked in and asked earlier. My husband and I had a discussion and taking all into account by this time decided we did not want to stay. The room was very basic in a sort of annexe type building and as not what we expected. We then went down to reception to advise them we would not be staying and asked for a refund.. The receptionist advised us that she was not authorised to do this and the manager was not available. My husband insisted we were not leaving without the refund. She went away and lo and behold the manager arrived.After an unpleasant exchange the bottom line was he would not refund the charge as he said the contract was with the voucher provider which is actually untrue. By this time we had had enough of both the lies we had been told since arrival and the total unwillingness of the manager to do anything about the situation. SO WE LEFT. It is the first hotel I have paid for and not stayed in but by now we decided that we would rather drive all the way home than to stay in such a badly managed hotel. I have read other reviews and acknowledge people have said good things about this hotel but all I can say is that it was worth losing our money than to stay somewhere without any integrity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have used this place as a venue to meet clients for several years and recently met friends here for lunch.

We were ignored when we arrived and sat in the lounge (three staff talking in reception). We had to ask to be served with coffee.

The place looks a bit shabby but lunch was actually very good and we will go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CustomerConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I Purchased a voucher for this stay and was not dissapointed. We were given the honeymoon suite which was lovely. Everything was clean and nicely presented. The gardens were lovely to sit out in. The food was absolutely faultless. I was heavily pregnant during the stay and the staff were really attentive. Would eat there and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate83mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here.The staff were friendly.We thought the 3 course meal in the evening on our arrival was very good too.Breakfast was one of the nicest and best presented english breakfasts i have had.The room was lovely and spacious with a 4 poster bed.If there was a downside it could do with a few road signs for direction.But all in all a very nice stay,especially as we had it on a 40 winks deal

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
2.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
621 reviews
1.7 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Bicester hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western The Jersey Arms Hotel
Best Western The Jersey Arms Hot...
#1 of 1 in Middleton Stoney
15 reviews
7.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,635 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley M40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bignell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Park Hotel

Property: Bignell Park Hotel
Address: | Nr Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bignell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful hotel, wedding venue and award-winning restaurant situated in the village of Chesterton, Oxfordshire. Bignell Park Hotel offers unique charm and character, whilst providing modern facilities to ensure the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, our services and facilities are tailored to meet your individual needs. We offer 22 uniquely styled, beautiful rooms, an award-winning restaurant Oaks, tailored meeting rooms and a charmingly romantic wedding venue. The hotel offers unbroken views across the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, whilst being conveniently located only minutes from the M40 motorway. Only five minutes from designer shopping outlet Bicester Village, Bignell Park Hotel is the perfect place to stay and relax after a long day's shopping. Bignell Park Hotel provides guests with a unique, quintessentially English experience. Situated in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside and enjoying magnificent views, the Bignell Park Hotel offers quality hotel accommodation and is the perfect location for exploring the very best of English heritage and beauty. We look forward to welcoming you to the Bignell Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bignell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Park Chesterton
Bignell Park Hotel Chesterton, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing