We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, friendly centre of the community”
Review of Lamb Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamb Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Buckland B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A great village pub filled with villagers and a generous warm welcome from staff and locals alike. Whether you're popping in for a snack, take-away fish and chips or having a full blown celebration meal I can't recommend The Lamb highly enough. If you get a chance to do "Steak night" on a Wednesday, make sure you book as there's rarely a spare table for the huge succulent steaks with garlic butter accompanied by the best chips and salad in the county. We'll go back again and again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Used to visit two or three times a week, moved away about 9 years ago, but returned to live last week. Keen to make The Lamb our local food and beer retreat. Went last night, woman serving spent 20 minutes stroking a dog and more concerned about planting veg, came over to our table to take order "without washing her hands". Food "i think" arrived I ordered steak med to well,with a garlic sauce, when I questioned her about the lack os sauce she said "its melted" The steak was like the sole of your shoe and just as tough, it cast £15.95 with just chips,we left everything paid and left. Don't go.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stanley5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I have now stayed at the Lamb Inn 3 times. We find the Lamb handy when driving down to the south coast as a stop off treat on the way. The Lamb is convenient, less than 5 minutes from the A420 and yet a world away located in the pretty village of Buckland.

You can expect a lovely warm welcome from the owners and staff who will make you feel right at home. We have stayed in Room 1 and Room 4, both wholly adequate in size although Room 1 is the biggest. Excellent value for money, clean and decorated prettily with thoughtful little extras which suprised me a little for accommodation within this price brand.

We have eaten at the Lamb on all 3 occasions, twice in the bar area (we like it because it has a lovely atmosphere and the log fire is very cosy in the winter) and once in the restaurant on a Saturday evening. The food is sourced locally where possible and highly recommended. In my opinion it has improved with each visit but on all occasions has been very enjoyable. I often find breakfast to be a disappointment but not at the Lamb. It is cooked to order, delicious and served with a smile.

We will return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARIE_CLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for just the one night, but can certainly recommend it for a weekend away. It's a handy stop on the Thames Walk around half way between Lechlade and Newbridge. Very popular local pub with an excellent menu and the food professionally prepared and presented - tasty too. Friendly staff and two wonderful working cocker spaniels to play with as well. In fact there were almost as many dogs as guests when we stayed! Very nice breakfast and the chef kindly made up some sandwiches for our long walk - nice, but pricey - the only negative from what was a lovely stay. Great for a weekend away.

Room Tip: Book early, there's only 3 rooms to choose from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen_and_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at The Lamb over the Easter holidays in Room 1 (£90 per night). We took the later check in time of 530pm (the pub is closed in the afternoon) and were made very welcome. Fantastic dinner of belly of pork, tarte tatin and spinach followed by a super sticky toffee pudding, fairly reasonable coming to £60 including drinks. Tea and coffee provided in room with towels and toiletries. Wifi password also given on arrival.

Very quiet surroundings, overlooking fields and set back from the road which runs through the village. Good for accessibility to walks and Buckland itself is a quiet, quaint village ideal for an after dinner stroll. Warning that there are no local shops in Buckland and having a car is a necessity around here.
On the second night, after a very windy walk around the Devil's Punchbowl (which also involved a very unexpected proposal!!) it was 'steak night'; the pub and restaurant were very busy with locals, lovely atmosphere, and we were utterly stunned to only pay £25 for two steaks, fries, salad and a bottle of house red!!! This time it was a brownie for desert. Lovely!

Another positive is that the pub is closed in the afternoon and you are able to go downstairs and help yourself to drinks (just write them down to pay later). You pretty much have the entire place to yourselves!! Only negative that I can think of is that the ensuite only has a hand held shower head so baths are a must.

Would highly recommend this to couples or a group who may wish to rent out all 3 rooms!
We had a wonderful time and will go away with fond memories hopefully to return soon!

Many thanks to The Lamb

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which is at the end of the corridor and has dual aspect windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stopped by the pub - hidden away off Buckland Rd - for a lunch on the way cross country. It's a child friendly and dog friendly pub just off the A 420. There was a jolly buzz around the bar and restaurant when we went in. The staff were every welcoming and the food was great - very generous ploughman's lunch and a perfect fish and chip - with a good choice of beer at the bar. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

First visit will not be our last.Made to feel very welcome sat by a lovely log fire. I brought my husband here for his birthday meal and am very pleased I chose so well.Wonderful food and freindly service. The portions are very genorous and I recommend the cheese cake with mango.Calm and relaxing atmosphere all ingriedients to make for a perfect evening.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb Inn

Address: Lamb Lane, Buckland SN7 8QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Buckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buckland
Price Range: $112 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing