We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar Stay with the Lamb at Buckland”
Review of Lamb Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamb Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Buckland B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stellar Stay with the Lamb at Buckland”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Spent a few days in Buckland and loved being at the Lamb. James and Shelley each welcomed us and made us feel right at home. The other staff at dinner and in the pub were always attentive and friendly. Our rooms were very comfy and the meals were exquisite. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beakertroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    10
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had dinner on a Wednesday evening when the pub was fairly empty. The venue has a lounge with tables for diners, and a separate dining room where we were located. This is a nicely proportioned room with plenty of space between tables.

I thought the food was particuarly good for the price. A pork and prune pate was accompanied by excellent bread. I had a main course version of the starter - venision kofta with lemon cous cous - which was really good. My partner had fish en papilotte and she loved it. We finished sharing a nice frangipane tart. The wines are reasonably priced, and service was discrete and attentive.

All round it a really excellent pub restaurant in what looks to be a pretty village.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Four of us stayed on a Saturday night and had lunch, dinner and breakfast.
The food is locally sourced, fresh and beautifully cooked, we loved every course! Good local beers and fairly priced wine list.
Shelly and her team could not have been more welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The pub is dog friendly and you are encouraged to treat it as your home.
The Lamb has been beautifully refurbished, without loosing its character (or local custom) and the bedrooms are so comfortable.
No hesitation recommendinding it for a drink, a meal or even better, a weekend away!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandJandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We went to the Lamb for lunch. It started well. my wife had fish and chips I had Kelmscott Pork. The pork was tasty and the black pudding lovely,but the leeks were stringy and inedible. My wife asked if the fish came with mushy peas and was rebuffed very abruptly with "WE don't do mushy peas! If you want peas we can do that. Okay. The peas were served separately and were like bullets although they had been tossed in fresh mint giving a nice flavour. When mentioned that the peas and leeks were disappointing the hackles went up and my wife was told Well YOU ordered the peas and the lady flounced out.
On paying at the bar I noted that we were charged actually £2 extra for the peas, I was unaware until then that they were extra, but having said they were unsatisfactory and had been mostly left I would have expected the £2 to have been dropped.
There is no lunch menu so beware it is evening prices, two main courses with a pint and a glass of wine was over £40. There are many other very good piubs in the area give the lamb at buckland a miss.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fred2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Spent an evening at the Lamb as a birthday escape.

Food was beyond exquisite. I had a perfect steak and my wife had duck breast with beetroot tatin, buttered spinach and potatoes. Desserts were Lemon Posset and home made Sticky Toffee Pudding.

The Lamb is more of a restaurant than a pub, or B&B, but has luxurious rooms.

Breakfast is all locally sourced and cooked to order by the chef/proprietor and includes home made local jams and honey.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonestrolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here last year just after Shelly took over the pub and although we had a lovely stay the decor was looking a bit tired. Now after the refurbishment is really is looking amazing. Really comfortable bed, nice bathroom (with big bath) and no problems with having an extra bed set up for our 2 year old daughter. Breakfast all sourced locally and was delicious. Lovely touches like fresh flowers and choccies much appreciated! We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raginggerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Buckland is a quiet peaceful location with the Lamb set down a little side road. The staff were friendly, (even the chef patron came out to speak to us to describe junket!). The menu was simply written on a blackboard above the fireplace. We had warm scallop salad & a monkfish ragout, a warm crab tart & rack of local lamb. Beautifully cooked and presented. Well worth a visit. Good priced wine list & great to see Tribute beer!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank BenFowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckland
11.9 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
725 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
339 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dog House Hotel
Dog House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Frilford
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Rose Revived Inn
The Rose Revived Inn
#10 of 15 in Witney
462 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant
7.3 mi away
The Fox and Hounds
The Fox and Hounds
#1 of 3 in Uffington
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb Inn

Property: Lamb Inn
Address: Lamb Lane, Buckland SN7 8QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Buckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing