We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place for weekend escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The King's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Bledington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
愛知
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place for weekend escape”
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We spend a lovely night there. Lovely garden and lovely room decoration.
The dinner at the restaurant is simply superb, we just can't find any better words to praise.Not cheap, but definitely worth it.
It also has easy access to other great sights such as Cotswolds and Daylesford, which is a fantastic organic shop.
however it may be a bit difficult to find for 1st timers without a navi

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    98
    34
    12
    3
See reviews for
34
214
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights, room was beautiful, lovely cosy bar and food was great.

Only thing that let the place down was the staff, lots of young people who didn't seem to have been trained fully or didn't care. Possibly a little of the "we've had so many good reviews we're not trying as hard anymore".

Saying that was still really nice just would need to try bit harder for a 5 star review

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kernowkrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We've done this review based on staying here in one of the courtyard rooms. The room was a kingsize room which was £105 Inc breakfast a night. The room itself was nice but the bathroom was very small and tiles were not as clean as they could have been. The wallpaper was peeling off in a couple of places but the room was still nice and generally clean. The plumbing was the biggest issue as you could hear everyone in the building using water, great if you want to have a tinitus effect of constant buzzing the entire stay! It drove me so crazy I found myself on the verge of screaming at people to stop running water so I could have 5 minutes peace!
The pub itself is lovely, really beautiful location, lovely inside and good food with excellent service, my husband found the menu quite limiting though as was fairly samey As an example he does not eat cheese but the majority of the starters contained this.
This place could be a real gem if they could sort the plumbing out and just regrout and clean bathroom tiles and redecorate where wallpaper is peeling.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becsCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We've done this review based on staying here in one of the courtyard rooms. The room was a kingsize room which was £105 Inc breakfast a night. The room itself was nice but the bathroom was very small and tiles were not as clean as they could have been. The wallpaper was peeling off in a couple of places but the room was still nice and generally clean. The plumbing was the biggest issue as you could hear everyone in the building using water, great if you want to have a tinitus effect of constant buzzing the entire stay! It drove me so crazy I found myself on the verge of screaming at people to stop running water so I could have 5 minutes peace!
The pub itself is lovely, really beautiful location, lovely inside and good food with excellent service, my husband found the menu quite limiting though as was fairly samey As an example he does not eat cheese but the majority of the starters contained this.
This place could be a real gem if they could sort the plumbing out and just regrout and clean bathroom tiles and redecorate where wallpaper is peeling.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becsCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I stayed with my husband for one night close to Easter, booking into a room in the Courtyard Annex, which was at the top end of the room prices at £125. We loved staying at the Kings Head Inn and especially enjoyed our delicious evening meal in the bar.

The room was a good size with stylish but traditional furnishings, cream carpet, floral curtains and matching bedhead and antique furniture. We had a great view of the village green and the fields from the window and it was very peaceful at night. The bathroom had classic fittings with limestone floor tiles and nice chrome fittings and the water was piping hot, although a bit of sound travelled through the walls. Only a couple of gripes that the room was showing some wear and tear with stains on the cream carpet and a couple of hooks missing from the curtains.The bed and pillows were very comfortable and we lounged around reading magazines & watching the flat screen TV in the wall.

We had a delicious meal in the bar area sat by the fire and it was all cooked to perfection and the menu proclaimed seasonal and locally produced ingredients. I'd happily eat there again, in fact I'd go out of my way if I was in the area. You need to book a table as it was busy with diners and most of the space was reserved for people eating, so not a lot of space if you were only drinking.

We borrowed walking maps from an excellent selection in reception and walked over to Stow in the Wold. This Inn is very well located for seeing many of the towns and stately homes of the Cotswold and would be a good base for a few days sightseeing. The immediate setting of the inn is very picturesque, on a large village green with small streams running through it, and surrounded by lovely old houses and fields.

Breakfast in the morning had a typical selection of good quality cereals juices, toast and cooked breakfast including kippers and eggs with smoked salmon, and was served in the dining room. We found the staff were helpful and professional but not especially warm and friendly.

Overall we'd highly recommend this as an ideal country pub to stay for a couple of nights, with stylish rooms and great food in a lovely country setting.

Read my full review with photos & video http://www.heatheronhertravels.com/kings-head-inn-bledington-review/

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatheronhertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Nice place, lovely little villige. Room was nice and clean but the slate floor was a little too cold for bare feet. Recepionist was unwelcoming but warmed up towards the end. Great food, steak was donw to perfection. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSilkroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Stayed just one night here. Fantastic location. Really lovely accomadation with lots of little extras. Had a meal in the bar area. Superb food. Very helpful , friendly staff. Usual choices for breakfast. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bledington
5.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,070 reviews
3.5 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
960 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,412 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
708 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Inn

Property: The King's Head Inn
Address: The Green, Bledington OX7 6XQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bledington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bledington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 16 th Century Cider House this is the classic Cotswold Inn on the village green that warms the soul as soon as you see it .Excellent food ,well kept Ales and twelve delightful bedrooms combined with a priceless atmosphere give you the complete Cotswold Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Head Hotel Bledington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing