We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never mind the x factor try this place for the wow factor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The King's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Bledington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
failsworth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“never mind the x factor try this place for the wow factor”
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We james & karen conway from failsworth have recently returned from a four night stay at this what we would class as a five star b&b in an picture postcard setting. when you drive down the road from stow you suddenly enter a magical place called bledington with its typical village green where children and parents are having fun. The kings head inn is the most welcoming place we have ever stayed in, from the owner Archie to Steve and the rest of the staff we have never felt so at home anywhere else. The rooms were exellent so to was the food both evening meals and breakfast. i would gladly recommend this wow factor b&b to anyone. Thanks everyone for the best four days in years and we are certainly going to return in the near future. Keep up the good work guys James & Karen Conway

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcxFailsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    100
    34
    12
    3
See reviews for
36
221
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2009

A lovely old inn set in a quiet village with friendly staff and wonderful food. The courtyard rooms are pleasant but beware Room 9 - no telephone (signal/land line problems?). Also beware of the steps to the courtyard from the carpark when it is dark as they are not lit. The cortyard is a beautiful place to sit with your drink in the good weather with the amusing company of a pretty pet "silky" hen and her cockerel friend who takes care of her.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrbbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We've just returned from a weekend break at the King's Head. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and the food is excellent. We ate in the restaurant both nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We would definitely recommend the King's Head to friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stay1or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I stayed for 2 nights with friends for a birthday celebration. The Courtyard rooms were gorgeous and very comfortable. We dined in the restaurant both evenings and the food was great with some delicious specials. The breakfasts were just right. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is a great location for exploring the Cotswolds. Really couldn't find fault with anything and would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotswolds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I selected staying here on the basis of a London Times review as a great pub and restaurant with rooms. I had just flown in to England from the west coast of the States and was first and foremost looking for a good kip before dinner. The room in an annex was cozy and cheerful. Dinner was quite nice with a variety of interesting choices. Staff very helpful. Only complaint that the bathroom quite small and crowded.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwillowCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We have just come back from a great three day stay at the Kings Head. We ate one night in the pub and the second in the restaurant, both were lovely, the pub obviously a little louder. Food was excellent and the staff brilliant, they could not do enough for anyone. Our room was above the pub and although it was a little noisy still as we retired, this was not a problem and soon it was quiet. We awoke to the sounds of the ducks and ventured down to the retaurant for breakfast which again was fine. The walks and the village were great. I would certainly stay again and intend to in the winter. Only one gripe ! there is nowehere to just sit and have a coffee or afternnon tea but that's it !!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics, UK
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I booked this having read all the previous Trip Advisor comments so far. We had a single night stay as part of a week's trip through the Cotswolds.

The Kings Head is very much as described before. It has a charming location with off road parking for overnight guests, though the gravel track is well used by the staff and is quite noisy. There is also a cockerel close by so hope you like an early morning rise!

Staff were helpful and pleasant - they had no issues setting up a tab.

The room was clean, bed was very comfortable. Shower over bath.

We'd booked a table at the restaurant when booking the room. I was quite surprised to find the restaurant almost full on a Monday - but the ingredients were local, high quality and I can see why locals would eat there. I had Steak, cooked perfectly rare, my girlfriend had Scallops (excellent) and Tiger Prawns (which were also impressive). This is not a cheap restaurant, but not over the top either. Breakfast was also of a high standard.

If you like to just drink in the bar, there is no where allocated, everything is potential restaurant space - worth bearing in mind if you haven't booked a table.

Very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andylosttheplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bledington
2.8 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,428 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
334 reviews
3.5 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,219 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
725 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Inn

Property: The King's Head Inn
Address: The Green, Bledington OX7 6XQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bledington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bledington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 16 th Century Cider House this is the classic Cotswold Inn on the village green that warms the soul as soon as you see it .Excellent food ,well kept Ales and twelve delightful bedrooms combined with a priceless atmosphere give you the complete Cotswold Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Head Hotel Bledington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing