We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in all respects!”

The Nags Head On The Thames
Ranked #13 of 95 Restaurants in Abingdon
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful in all respects!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Quaint pub upstairs and first class family fare downstairs. Don't forget to look through the staircase for a view of the river that flows directly beneath the establishment. Burgers, fish, and pies were outstanding! Don't miss it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt_Wyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    208
    95
    40
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a super meal. I'd been wanting to check out the newly revamped Nag's Head and Christmas Eve seemed like the perfect opportunity. I had the Gnocci with olives and spinach - delish, beautifully presented and plenty of it. Husband had fish and chips and he said it was excellent - crispy and tasty and the chips were huge, and crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside (I managed to have one!). The wine selection was very good - I had the Chilean Pinot Noir - excellent choice. He had a beer of some sort, a something or other Scholar and enjoyed it. We shared an apple and raspbery crumble - also delish.
The atmosphere and service was great. I like that the band plays upstairs, far enough from the restaurant that you can still have a conversation. Love the new decor. All in all a great meal. Thanks guys! We'll be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We are really glad that this Pub has reopened on the river Thames and it is great all the work that has been done to revamp the place. It was in real need of not just a refurbishment but a complete overhaul & that is what has been done. Fantastic food, a great atmosphere and great beer. They had 8 real ales on when we visited, can't wait for the summer to sit outside in the garden.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ab_Paul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

i took my mum here for lunch as thought the menu would suit us both, we were not disappointed,
the choice is great and i had the marinated tuna cooked at the table on the hot stone plate.
my mum had the coq au vin and was also very good tasty and good portion size.
this place has really been done up and has a lovely view from the restaurant over the thames.
the waitress was really friendly and professional and was helpful with the menu.
we did book but was not so busy that day.i would imagine in the summer this place will be the place to go with its views ! parking is in a public carpark over the bridge.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eatdrinkstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An asset for Abingdon-on-Thames”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had Sunday lunch at the Nags Head. The service was friendly and well paced, the food was very good. I had chicken parfait, which was sublime followed by fish and chips - light crispy beer batter (made with Abingdon Bridge beer) and huge chunky chips, plus home made tartare sauce. Not a huge menu, but I think that is a good sign! Thumbs up for the soup, beef and ale pie and turkey too. The range of local beer is good too - we must support our local brewers and drink here!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nags Head On The Thames also viewed

Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Nags Head On The Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing