We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo Expensive”
Review of Snakes & Ladders

Snakes & Ladders
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in Abingdon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bursting with indoor and outdoor adventure play, Snakes and Ladders in Abingdon is jam packed with fun and is so much more than just soft play!Whatever your child’s age there is always something to enjoy. Older children will adore the electric motorbikes and huge 3-tiered play frame (complete with slides, tunnels, ball ponds and rope climbs). Whilst those up to 5 years can run wild in their own enormous dedicated play zone overlooked by comfy leather sofas. There is even a Wow Toys Play Zone with a host of colourful Wow Toys, a water play area with fun water tables, a home corner full of mini sized kitchen equipment and a construction zone with huge bricks and Tonka toys. All sure to fire young imaginations.During term time there are special Toddler Sessions included in the entry price. Tuesday at 11am get ready for Musical Mayhem with singing, dancing and noisy instruments. On Thursdays at 11am get Arty Craft and encourage your child’s creativity without the mess at home.Parents are not forgotten either and can relax on comfy leather sofas with a tasty coffee, or a treat from the cafe and catch up with the latest magazines or take advantage of the free WiFi. Naturally children are well catered for in the cafe with special meal deals and sandwich boxes as well as yummy snacks.f you are looking for a children’s party there are plenty of options at Snakes and Ladders. Two hour parties include all the fun of the indoor adventure playground plus a fun themed private party room, a host and hot or cold food. You can even hire the entire place if you have lots of guests!
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sooo Expensive”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Really shabby grubby little joint. It is a total rip off and the staff are surly. We went to a birthday party and they provided curled up pizza and chips in a horrible little room. The staff put on dance music for a five year old!!! Tacky horrible place! Cold in winter hot in summer. Never going back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank C8400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snakes-Ladders, Owner at Snakes & Ladders, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We’re really sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your visit.

We have lots of great feedback for our parties so are surprised to hear your comments. Our staff are usually very friendly and helpful and our party rooms are brightly themed and is big enough to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 20 children. The music is standard pop music that is usually a hit with five year olds.

If you would like to speak to us in person regarding your visit could we ask you to leave your feedback on our website so we can get in touch directly. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    11
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Much improved last time!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have visited this place lots over the years as the play areas are great but have avoided last year or two as always found it to be dirty and the toilets always smelt awful and coffee awful too! There seemed to be few staff and the place was badly run by young people. I know you can't clean equipment constantly as special cleaning required, but toilets at the very least! Place always just felt dirty!

HOWEVER, we joined friends this half term and had a much better experience. The toilets were clean and the awful smell gone and I saw a member of staff waiting outside toilet so assume she was keeping an eye on cleanliness.
Staff wandered around tidying tables this time and tables all seemed clean enough. Generally more staff and also older staff managing the younger members.
I took my own coffee and snacks but we did decide to eat there and again I was pleasantly surprised.
I had a tuna wrap which came with nachos £3.60 and was really nice. My daughter had chook nuggets and chips and the nuggets looked like chicken breast rather than reformed chicken.

So well done snakes - keep up the good work and ensure it isn't a half term one hit wonder!
ps - please please please get a coffee franchise in like Costa or a proper coffee maker!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank fussytraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snakes-Ladders, Owner at Snakes & Ladders, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for revisiting us. We’re really pleased to read your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

After visiting numerous soft play centres during my maternity leave this one is most definitely the best. The babies area is large, clean and Safe. I have only given 4 stars as my sister and niece were with us and were charged £5.80 for my niece who is only just over one. We felt this was quite pricey as she is still very limited in what she can do and we were only there for 45 minutes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsBarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snakes-Ladders, Owner at Snakes & Ladders, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review.

We do have much lower off peak prices Monday to Friday in term time (when we also have Musical Mayhem at 11am on a Tuesday and Arty Crafty at 11am on a Thursday both included in entry) if you are able to visit us then at all.

We also have a free to join loyalty scheme so you can get your 6th child entry free. We don’t charge at all for under 1 year olds as we understand they can’t do much and under 2s are £3.30 off peak. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go here!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Four of my grandchildren were unfortunate enough to visit here yesterday. A 15 year old lout took delight in throwing plastic balls as hard as he could into my 9 year old autistic grandsons face, splitting his lip and absolutely terrorising him. The staff didn't want to know and refused to call the police. Absolutely disgusting and they should be ashamed of themselves - both the lout, whose chav mother couldn't seem to see anything wrong in his actions and the staff for not taking action and banning him from ever going there again. O top of that, dirty and over priced. DON'T GO HERE! I see you ask for photos. Would you really like a photo of my grandson's split lip?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snakes-Ladders, Owner at Snakes & Ladders, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
This was a very rare and extremely unfortunate incident with digressions on both sides. The police did attend and both parties were satisfied at the time. We don’t feel we should comment any further. We have your contact details thank you so our head office will be able to speak to you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Large play area and also plenty of room for parents to sit down. Drinks quite cheap but did think the entrance price was quite steep, especially as we only wanted to be there for an hour or so.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snakes-Ladders, Owner at Snakes & Ladders, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. You may be interested to know we have excellent value off peak prices (weekdays during term time) if you are able to visit then at all. We appreciate not everyone can but we thought we’d make you aware. We also have special toddler sessions on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 11am if you have little ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snakes & Ladders also viewed

Long Wittenham, Abingdon
 

Been to Snakes & Ladders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing