We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Recently stayed here for two nights whilst working in the area. Ideal location close to the A34. Hotel staff efficient and friendly. My room was up to the standard I expected for this grade of hotel.
Didn't eat in the restaurant as the menu wasn't to my liking, however there are plenty of other places to eat within walking distance. On the flip side, the hot buffet breakfast was one of the best I have tasted in many years.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenSandersGM, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet all your requirements.

We are just about to change our menu content and pricing structure in the Bar and Grill. I hope that on your next visit we will be able to tempt you to eat at the hotel.

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    144
    136
    63
    24
See reviews for
61
129
14
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight in business as it is ideally located for Milton park. I was a little disappointed that the room I was allocated was freezing as the heater was broken however I was quickly moved to another lovely room with great customer service ( which continued during my stay). My evening meal and breakfast were lovely and great price. Would be happy to stay here again but I do agree that there is a big difference in rooms with some needing an upgrade

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenSandersGM, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for leaving a review after your recent stay. I am sorry that the heater in your 1st room was malfunctioning. I am pleased that we were able to swiftly move you to a room that met all the requirements you would expect of a Four Pillars Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your evening meal and breakfast. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again when on visiting Abingdon and/or Oxford.

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hinckley
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Don't be put off by exterior, looks like a motel but when you get inside it's lovely. Pleasant bar, nice restaurant. Reception smart. Rooms was very good. Every member of staff were polite and friendly. Food , choice, presentation and taste was excellent. All in all a great weekend.
Abingdon is a pleasant Little town with some beautiful buildings

Room Tip: Room 46 quiet and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HinckleyHutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenSandersGM, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thnak you for leaving a kind review after your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to Abingdon and that we were able to accomodate all of your needs.

I hope you'll consider staying with us again when visit Oxford and Abingdon.

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here for quite a number of days in Jan 14. The initial room I was given was in bad need to a revamp, but on the next visit I was located nearer to the reception area which obviously was modernised recently and I have to say was very very good! pity that this isn't replicated throughout the hotel as I very nearly didn't come back for the 2nd stay.

The breakfast is amazing and the staff are very good too!

Good value, location and breakfast and overall a good hotel if you get the mondernised rooms!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenSandersGM, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review. I am pleased that on your second visit we were able to allocate you more suitable room than on your first visit.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. The morning team will be very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your breakfast.

I hope that you will stay with us again when in Abingdon,

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Conveniently located on the way to the Redbridge park and ride we stayed here for a couple of nights so we could visit Oxford. The enormous bed was comfortable, the heating adjustable and the windows could be opened. It was quiet (apart from the 5 minute fire alarm burst in the middle of the night), clean, comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast was great with lots of choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenSandersGM, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review following your recent visit to Oxford. I'm glad we were able to meet all of your expectations.

I am sorry that the fire alarm was activated during the night of your stay. One of the alert parameters was met by a bedroom detector which subsequently triggered the alarm. Fortunately on this occasion there was no fire.

Thank you again for leaving a review, I hope you will consider staying with us again when visiting Oxford.

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Well located for Abingdon which is around 10 - 15 minutes walk. The rooms are clean but could probably do with the décor refreshing to be honest. Having said that I would stay again also a decent breakfast and free wifi of acceptable quality is available.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegasking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenSandersGM, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for positive review. I am pleased we were able to meet all of your requirements and I hope you will consider staying with us when visiting the local area.

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Thank you for exceptional service at lunchtime on 8/1/14. Staff went out of their way to serve my friend and myself with food not on the menu.The hotel well presented with ample parking spaces and all staff very helpful and pleasant.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenSandersGM, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review following your visit to us for lunch. Our team will always try to exceed our guests expectations and I am pleased that this occasion was no different.

I hope you will join us for lunch again soon.

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
4.2 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,114 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
248 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Abingdon Road Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
5.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Abingdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Abingdon Hotel

Property: Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Address: Marcham Road, Abingdon OX14 1TZ, England (Formerly Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Abingdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a charming three star Oxford hotel which offers great value accommodation in the heart of Oxfordshire? Then look no further than the Oxford Abingdon Hotel. With a number of places to eat and drink, meeting and event spaces, and 66 bedrooms we're proud to say our excellent hotel offers a range of modern facilities welcoming both leisure and business guests. The hotel can be found in Abingdon-On-Thames, a quaint market town in the heart of Oxfordshire which is conveniently only 6 miles from Oxford with its wide range of activities and places to see and enjoy. The rooms are modern and calm with all the mod-cons you would expect from such a great value hotel. Relax on the terrace with a glass of wine, enjoy a delicious meal in our top-notch restaurant or join us for one of our lively events with friends and family. Whatever you are looking for, Oxford Abingdon Hotel has something for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Oxford Abingdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing