We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow, Slow, Slow” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxford Abingdon Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Billinge
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Slow, Slow, Slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Firstly, the room........... smelled stale (which is why the cleaners opened your windows every time they came in to clean it) however, the cleaners were always thorough. The rooms though are outdated and worn and are in great need of an upgrade (felt like i was in a 2 * hotel due to decor etc) Staff were always helpful though both on reception and in the bar.

Due to staying on the board basis of dinner, bed and breakfast my main concern was how good/bad the food was going to be. Breakfast was not great tbh i tended to stick to cereals and fruit (although there wasnt a great deal of fruit to choose from). Evening meals from Sunday though to Wednesday night were beautiful (from the chefs special to the steak pie) but then on Thursday night (my last supper as it were) and the chef had changed...........well what a LET DOWN. The steak was burnt, the mash was so far from edible i had to complain and my friends ordered burgers (chargrilled to black) and the tagliatelle was tasteless. Whoever the chef was on Thursday was no where near as good as the chef prior to that or even close to being on par with him. I hope the hotel take note of this.

I would not stay here again i would stay at the 'sister' hotel (four pillars Thames) which has a lovely bar, rooms and has a gym with pool, sauna steam room etc.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been renovated (however they arent MUCH better than the others)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenSandersGM, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that all elements of your stay were not satisfactory. We are currently finishing a refresh of the upgraded rooms in the hotel and once this is complete we will begin reviewing the standard rooms. I am pleased you found the rooms clean.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the evening meal on the last night of your stay. I will ensure our Head Chef sees your comments and I will ask him to investigate further.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely,
Ben Sanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    132
    130
    59
    22
See reviews for
60
119
13
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed in the hotel on a business trip, for three nights. The room was very dated, shabby, in need of a proper clean, and noisy because there was a road just by the hotel. The bed was the most uncomfortable I've ever slept in. Dinner was adequate but nothing exciting and I didn't think it was worth the money. The reception staff weren't really nice or helpful. On a more positive note, breakfast was nice, plentiful and the restaurant staff were nice. There was also a safe (free of charge) in the room and the room was of a decent size. All in all, the stay wasn't a particularly nice experience and I simply couldn't wait to check out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina_007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenSandersGM, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that your experience was not up to the standard that you and I alike would expect. I will personally investigate the comments you have raised regarding the cleanliness of the room and condition of the bed.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the restaurant staff and breakfast offering. Should you wish to discuss your stay with us further please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Ben Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abingdon hotels

Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The room I stayed in looked nothing like those on the internet site. It was tired and dated and in need of a refurb. When I came back home I actually had to check the internet again to ensure I had looked at the right site. Couldn't believe it. Maybe I just got an old room.
I found the waiting staff to be quite unhelpful during breakfast. The service was poor and the choice quite basic.

Room Tip: there was no lift to my first floor bedroom so I struggled with a heavy case. try to get a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkconnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenSandersGM, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay with us. After reading your comments I have reviewed the photos on our website and I can confirm that they are a true representation of our bedrooms.

I am sure you will be pleased to know that we are in the process of refreshing our connoisseur rooms with over ¾ of these rooms now completed. Once all of our rooms have been completed we will upload new photographs on to the website.

I will pass on your comments regarding the restaurant staff to the Food & Beverage Supervisors to ensure that corrective training can be given where necessary. I am sorry if any member of the team came across as unhelpful.

Whilst we do not have a lift at the hotel we do offer luggage assistance to all guests checking into the hotel whether their rooms be on the first floor or not.

Should you wish to discuss your stay with us further please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Ben Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here for a Sunday night but as we went out almost as soon as we arrived and returned after midnight can't comment much except to say room was good, clean, quiet and bed was comfortable. Very few guests staying so inconclusive. Breakfast perfectly acceptable with good coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disleksik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I recently had my wedding here and I couldn't fault a thing. The staff were all helpful, friendly and hard working. Kerry (the Wedding Planner) was very accomodating and organised everything perfectly. The food was tasty and filling, the rooms were clean, spacious and very comfortable. Everyone had a wonderful time and no complaints (unheard of at any wedding I've known), well done!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander1518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

My daughter's wedding was held at the hotel on Sunday 26 August. Everything that the hotel did was perfectly executed by Kerry (their Wedding Planner) and her staff. They were polite, friendly and speedy in their work all day. The whole event went without a hitch due to Kerry and her team - I highly recommend them. Nothing was too much trouble for Kerry, she is excellent.
The hotel rooms and breakfast etc were very acceptable and of good quality. I would definitely give the hotel 5 Stars for Value For Money and the quality of their staff.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deeside, north Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice hotel, the waiter was lovely and helpful. and got me fresh milk for my room Room was big and clean. Bit fiddly getting into the room but Housekeeping were great. Good car parking. Would stay again. if in the area. Breakfast was nice, could have been a little hotter but it was still ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.2 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
5.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Abingdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Abingdon Hotel

Property: Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Address: Marcham Road, Abingdon OX14 1TZ, England (Formerly Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Abingdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a charming three star Oxford hotel which offers great value accommodation in the heart of Oxfordshire? Then look no further than the Oxford Abingdon Hotel. With a number of places to eat and drink, meeting and event spaces, and 66 bedrooms we're proud to say our excellent hotel offers a range of modern facilities welcoming both leisure and business guests. The hotel can be found in Abingdon-On-Thames, a quaint market town in the heart of Oxfordshire which is conveniently only 6 miles from Oxford with its wide range of activities and places to see and enjoy. The rooms are modern and calm with all the mod-cons you would expect from such a great value hotel. Relax on the terrace with a glass of wine, enjoy a delicious meal in our top-notch restaurant or join us for one of our lively events with friends and family. Whatever you are looking for, Oxford Abingdon Hotel has something for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oxford Abingdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing