We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eating Well” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flowing Well

The Flowing Well
Reserve with OpenTable
The Flowing Well is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 93 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eating Well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were staying overnight in Abingdon, a lovely town, and had discovered and booked a table at the Flowing Well on line.
The food was very good indeed, my wife's mushroom risotto was as good as any I have tasted and my calamari cooked to perfection. I had baby rack of ribs to follow and the meat just fell off the bone my wife said her sea bass was delicious. The house wine is a very acceptable trebbiano with a slight sparkle to it.
The staff were all very pleasant and I would thoroughly recommend the Flowing Well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stepelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    105
    42
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous food. shame about the waitress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The food was fabulous quality, I had crayfish salad as a starter and my partner had the squid. Both yummy. The main courses were generous size and amazingly tasty - ribeye steak for me done to perfect medium rare, locally shot pigeon for my partner done in a winter berry sauce amazing! BUT...the waitress, aCanadian gal, was a pain in the proverbial, she kept coming ovrr every two minutes interrupting our intimate dinner asking if everything wwas ok. We eventuallystopped being friendly and polite and gave monosyllabic responses.. After the meal she offered us coffees but said the kitchen was closed for desserts! I know from experience in the industry that she only had to go fetch one frim the chiller and that she should have asked us if we wanted to pre-order desserts before the kitchen closed for the night.We were not given the option. Very disappointed about that. Apart from that it was lovely and I will go there again hopefully to be served by someone else!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassysophiaau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Quiz 'n Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We've lived 6 miles away from the Flowing Well for 23 years, & I'd never been there before last Wednesday. There were four of us, & we quite like a quiz, so we went along. Three opted for fish & chips, & one had pizza. All arrived good & hot, served by cheerful, helpful staff. Self & Bro-in-Law drank St Edmunds bitter, which was nutty & sharp. We changed tables after we'd eaten as our original was in a draught from some french doors. Our second roost was by a wood stove, so we stayed cosy whilst we attempted the pub quiz. We came 4th, so we'll have to try & improve on that next time. The toilets were clean & well maintained. Recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Acker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very expensive for inadequate portions!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We came for Sunday lunch with 12 of us and everyone had the roast. We were told that there were only 3 potatoes each so ended up having to order extra portions of veg for everyone! Not hug,ey impressed. Wine was nice and service fine though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is our second visit to the Flowing Well, and we couldn't help feeling that standards have slipped quite a bit since the early days. We waited to place our order, and then waited 45 minutes for our food. They did have a Christmas party in one room, but apart from that the restaurant was relatively quiet. All this could have been excused if the food had been great, but sadly, it really wasn't great. The slow cooked pork just didn't have that lovely, melt-in-the-mouth slow cooked flavour that it should have had and was rather greasy (inept reheating?). Also, the menu really lacked options for those who wanted a lighter, healthier lunch; this pub majors on big, heavy flavours and traditional dishes. On the positive side, the woman who served us was bubbly and warm and tried very hard to make everything right for us.

This place isn't a disaster, but for the price, there are better gastropub meals to be had in Oxfordshire.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alizac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flowing Well also viewed

Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Flowing Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing