We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday Fish Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flowing Well

The Flowing Well
Reserve with OpenTable
The Flowing Well is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 93 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friday Fish Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have been to flowing well a number times recently. I beleive they have fresh Billinsgate fish delivered on Friday morning so Friday nights also has an excllent choice of fish specials. We agree with the other reviews about the ribs - they are fantastic, so is the slow cooked Ox tail Ragu. Staff are happy and welcoming and the large desking is a fantastic sun trap - lets hope we et a few more barmey evenings.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    105
    42
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very friendly, great food. Highly recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Lovely place, great food, reasonably priced. Warm welcome from Matt and very attentive service from our waitress, Cliona. Very friendly atmosphere! We went for mother's day and all the Mums were given a small gift, very sweet touch. Definitely go back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mousebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

we went for dinner at The Flowing Well on monday , what an absolute joy to find such brilliant service and fantastic food ... we had a wonderful evening and will be going back very soon

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jlotlo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We cycled to the Flowing Well for Sunday lunch. Very impressed. Great, friendly service. Lovely pub in a great location. The roast belly of pork was exceptional, the roast potatoes beautiful and the veggies very good. Not the massive portions you might get from a cheap pub carvery, but more than adequate. The burger was lovely and juicy.
Overall, superb and well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much more than a great local pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Having just moved to the area, we are so pleased to have this great establishment on our doorstep! The first thing you notice when pulling into the car park is the well kept garden and sun-terrace, and on walking through the front door you are greeted by friendly, welcoming staff. Excellent selection of drinks on offer and a varied menu for all the family. Highly reccomend the super fresh and delicious 'fish of the day' (tonight I enjoyed pan roasted plaice), and the awesome ribs! Great value for money and definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryH-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flowing Well also viewed

Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Flowing Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing