We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If this was a Hotel it would be 5*” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #1 of 13 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“If this was a Hotel it would be 5*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Was made very welcome from the moment I arrived till when i walked out of the door when I was leaving.

Stayed in Room 3 Twin Room, very clean and everything you needed. Quite a large room with a sofa in it aswell, the shower was brilliant which is always a good thing.

Breakfast was lovely nothing was a problem and lots of choice, in fact I cannot really fault anything.

Its about 30 min walk into the town but there are 2 pubs about 10 mins walk away that provide food Terry informed me.

Dont book off hotel websites ring her direct you will get a better deal I'm told (Approx 10%)

Just like home except you dont have to make your bed or wash up !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
36
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Spent 1 night at the Abbey Guest House. Overall experience was very positive. My room was a small single room with en-suite facilities. I've only given 3 stars for the room because it was so small (smallest room in the B&B) and had a low ceiling in parts, but for a 1-night stay was fine. However, the fixtures and fittings were of a high standard (even had a safe and iron, which was a pleasant surprise for a B&B). Breakfast (a full English) was equally of a high standard, and whilst I was having breakfast a number of the other guests commented on how good the breakfast was. Terry, the owner made everyone welcome (even speaking German to a German couple). Location wise, a10 min or so walk into Abingdon centre, and there's a bus stop more or less outside the B&B so convenient to get to Oxford and back. So all in all a good experience and I'd certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Avoid the smallest single room if you're tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunjos44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyGuesst, Owner at Abbey Guest House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words, it is reassuring to know that you appreciated the attention to detail in terms of facilities.

Of course it is disappointing to read that you found Room 7 to be 'so small' - but we do try and make it clear exactly what is offered before booking. As you booked online you were able to see pictures of the room before making your booking. The photographs and text are accurate and up-to-date and do show the sloping ceilings; the reduced price (compared to all the other rooms) should also indicate that it is not up to the same standard as the rest of the house.

As you have correctly indicated, Room 7 is ideal for someone who only wants somewhere to sleep for one or two nights. It was never intended to be a luxury room, but a cheaper alternative that was created in response to the many demands for something smaller and cheaper.

At the end of the day, we have converted what was a family house and the rooms were never purpose-built. We try and make up for any room size deficits, by ensuring that everything else is more than maybe many guests expect. In this way guests are able to enjoy and appreciate the facilities, the breakfasts, and the general convivial atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We can not praise the Abbey Guest House highly enough - Terry goes above and beyond the requirements needed from a host, we could not be sure of when we would arrive as we were travelling from Scotland, so she gave us a mobile number 'ring me when you are getting near and I'll have the kettle on' which she did. Your every need is catered for (without being intrusive) and breakfast- well!! loads of choice and excellent quality all hot food cooked to order and she will put whatever you ask for on the plate. If you want high quality B&B in Abingdon look no further than Terry and The Abbey Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn garden City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Prior to going Terry Boswell, proprietess, was brilliant advising on our needs for a totally dependent daughter. This was a great challenge for us to take a totally dependent daughter away with a Carer. The disabled room met our requirements for carer and daughter while we had conveniently the room above. Terry was at hand throughout the stay and made sure the quality time for us all was fulfilled. Our needs were extreme and a very good rating is excellent, as we found no other facility and caring to meet our very high needs. I am 76, my wife 70 and daughter 48. Thanks Terry your hospitality and understanding was so important to a sucessful challenge which was so sucessful. A top class guest house that I will, with my wife use again. Lovely to see so many previous clients rebooking. The fact you reinvest to achieve your aim speaks volumes. God bless you. Gemma, Heather, Mike and carer Jo.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms I seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWelwyngardenCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Yes, as a reviewer I have been known to gush....but rarely was praise so well deserved as for the Abbey Guest House in Abingdon. We chose the Abbey as a result of the reviews here on TripAdvisor, and how wise! This proved to be one of the most successful short stays we have had anywhere. Excuse me if I run out of superlatives. Our reception was first class - met by Terry who showed us to a beautifully appointed and seriously comfortable room at the back of the house. Bear in mind that the Abbey Guest House is a converted private house, so the rooms are not large, but ours contained everything you could want or expect. For a short stay this was excellent; for a long stay it would be brilliant. After arriving we were treated to tea and biscuits in the dining room - better appointed than most hotels. Terry is a great host providing the perfect level of contact without intrusion. Our rear-facing room was warm, quiet and totally restful. Breakfast, served in the dining room, was one of the best we have experienced. When Stephanie asked for French toast with bacon and maple syrup within moments the perfect breakfast appeared to compliment my full English - and by full, I mean full! What surprised us was the quality of everything - lovely bed linen, luxury soap, the best shower, soft fluffy towels, warmth, colour, and of course beautiful coffee. Would we recommend the Abbey Guest House? We later compared it with one of Abingdon's luxury hotels and can say that the Abbey surpassed it in every regard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenjtwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I had to attend a Fitness Test on the Friday, so decided to stay close to Radley Sportshall. Literally this was a 5 minute trip from the guest house to the sports centre.

I arrived at 7pm on Thursday night, and was greeted by Terry, after a long drive I was offered a cup of tea, and was given directions and a local map to Radley. I was shown to my room, and was in a really nice room which was clean, warm and had all the essentials needed. The ensuite was nice and warm, and immaculately clean (Premier Inn/Travelodge take note of this!). I had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed, followed by a good breakfast in the morning (Skipped the full english and settled on just Tea - can't run on a full stomach!)

Highly recommend the Abbey Guest House, perfect for a stress free night! And a brilliant, pleasant and friendly landlasy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed one night here visiting for a family party just round the corner. we got a friendly welcome, our room was lovely and clean, very nice shower room. In the morning we all had a fantastic cooked breakfast. Couldn't fault the bed and breakfast or the owner, thanks again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topolino89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
1.8 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Property: Abbey Guest House
Address: 136 Oxford Road | (Corner of Wheatcroft Close), Abingdon OX14 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Guest House is a 'non-smoking', family run B&B situated on the northern approach road into Abingdon. Substantial off-road parking is provided and a bus stop outside the house provides convenient, direct transport to Oxford! Rooms available include 2 double, 2 single, 1 triple, 1 ground floor twin suitable for guests with mobility impairment and 1 family room upstairs also with facilites to assist guests with mobility impairments. There is a lift to access the upper floor. Facilities include TV, iron, tea/coffee and security safe. We provide free WiFi and also internet PC. Prices include generous cooked 'English' breakfasts, with special dietary requirements met. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Abbey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Guest House Hotel Abingdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing