We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Abbey Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #1 of 12 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stonehouse, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We can not praise the Abbey Guest House highly enough - Terry goes above and beyond the requirements needed from a host, we could not be sure of when we would arrive as we were travelling from Scotland, so she gave us a mobile number 'ring me when you are getting near and I'll have the kettle on' which she did. Your every need is catered for (without being intrusive) and breakfast- well!! loads of choice and excellent quality all hot food cooked to order and she will put whatever you ask for on the plate. If you want high quality B&B in Abingdon look no further than Terry and The Abbey Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    11
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
38
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn garden City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Prior to going Terry Boswell, proprietess, was brilliant advising on our needs for a totally dependent daughter. This was a great challenge for us to take a totally dependent daughter away with a Carer. The disabled room met our requirements for carer and daughter while we had conveniently the room above. Terry was at hand throughout the stay and made sure the quality time for us all was fulfilled. Our needs were extreme and a very good rating is excellent, as we found no other facility and caring to meet our very high needs. I am 76, my wife 70 and daughter 48. Thanks Terry your hospitality and understanding was so important to a sucessful challenge which was so sucessful. A top class guest house that I will, with my wife use again. Lovely to see so many previous clients rebooking. The fact you reinvest to achieve your aim speaks volumes. God bless you. Gemma, Heather, Mike and carer Jo.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms I seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWelwyngardenCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Yes, as a reviewer I have been known to gush....but rarely was praise so well deserved as for the Abbey Guest House in Abingdon. We chose the Abbey as a result of the reviews here on TripAdvisor, and how wise! This proved to be one of the most successful short stays we have had anywhere. Excuse me if I run out of superlatives. Our reception was first class - met by Terry who showed us to a beautifully appointed and seriously comfortable room at the back of the house. Bear in mind that the Abbey Guest House is a converted private house, so the rooms are not large, but ours contained everything you could want or expect. For a short stay this was excellent; for a long stay it would be brilliant. After arriving we were treated to tea and biscuits in the dining room - better appointed than most hotels. Terry is a great host providing the perfect level of contact without intrusion. Our rear-facing room was warm, quiet and totally restful. Breakfast, served in the dining room, was one of the best we have experienced. When Stephanie asked for French toast with bacon and maple syrup within moments the perfect breakfast appeared to compliment my full English - and by full, I mean full! What surprised us was the quality of everything - lovely bed linen, luxury soap, the best shower, soft fluffy towels, warmth, colour, and of course beautiful coffee. Would we recommend the Abbey Guest House? We later compared it with one of Abingdon's luxury hotels and can say that the Abbey surpassed it in every regard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenjtwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I had to attend a Fitness Test on the Friday, so decided to stay close to Radley Sportshall. Literally this was a 5 minute trip from the guest house to the sports centre.

I arrived at 7pm on Thursday night, and was greeted by Terry, after a long drive I was offered a cup of tea, and was given directions and a local map to Radley. I was shown to my room, and was in a really nice room which was clean, warm and had all the essentials needed. The ensuite was nice and warm, and immaculately clean (Premier Inn/Travelodge take note of this!). I had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed, followed by a good breakfast in the morning (Skipped the full english and settled on just Tea - can't run on a full stomach!)

Highly recommend the Abbey Guest House, perfect for a stress free night! And a brilliant, pleasant and friendly landlasy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed one night here visiting for a family party just round the corner. we got a friendly welcome, our room was lovely and clean, very nice shower room. In the morning we all had a fantastic cooked breakfast. Couldn't fault the bed and breakfast or the owner, thanks again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topolino89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We couldn't have asked for anything better, Terry moved rooms around so we finally got a double. A most welcoming pot of coffee and chat on arrival. The room was beautifully layed out and equipped with everything you might need for a short or even long stay. Such a great choice for Breakfast. Will definately try and book again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weemags47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kressbronn, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very nice and absolutely clean rooms. The breakfast had everything what your heart desired. Very friendly owner who gave valuable advices for the visit in Oxford. We felt very comfortable at that place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margit F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
1.8 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
454 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
243 reviews
2.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,094 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
7.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Property: Abbey Guest House
Address: 136 Oxford Road | (Corner of Wheatcroft Close), Abingdon OX14 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Guest House is a 'non-smoking', family run B&B situated on the northern approach road into Abingdon. Substantial off-road parking is provided and a bus stop outside the house provides convenient, direct transport to Oxford! Rooms available include 2 double, 2 single, 1 triple, 1 ground floor twin suitable for guests with mobility impairment and 1 family room upstairs also with facilites to assist guests with mobility impairments. There is a lift to access the upper floor. Facilities include TV, iron, tea/coffee and security safe. We provide free WiFi and also internet PC. Prices include generous cooked 'English' breakfasts, with special dietary requirements met. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Abbey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Guest House Hotel Abingdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing