We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Abingdon

“Discussing”
Review of The Bystander

The Bystander
Ranked #76 of 107 Restaurants in Abingdon
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely disgusting! Chips cold! Asked to double up the burger and came out single! Waited 15 minuets for it to come out after everyone else was finished! Forgot the side orders! WONT BE COMING BACK

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Kayleighn1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at The Bystander, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kayleighn1991, your feedback is extremely disappointing, and I'd really like to speak to you to discuss it further. Please can you get in touch when you have a spare moment 01865 735234

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 257 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2020

I visited last night with my family and I cannot praise the food, staff and atmosphere of the pub more! The efforts the new Manager and staff have made such a difference and we were just so impressed! The food was cooked perfectly (the steak was... wow! Big compliments to the chefs) and the lady that served us was so attentive! The bar staff were just so friendly and really helpful when choosing wine, one chap especially was fantastic when we were being indecisive, he knew the wines and recommend a really nice one.
The bar and seating areas look great after the refurb, you can tell a lot of effort has gone into the decor which is modern and welcoming.
The selection of beer and lager on tap was brilliant too, next time we will leave the car at home!
We will definitely be back, thank you for a really nice evening :)

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Minkieminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at The Bystander, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Minkieminx, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at our pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019

Christmas Day meal was absolutely delicious and Amazing couldn't fault anything the staff greeted us at the door seated us and service was first class.
Never waited long between courses.
Dog friendly so my son tool his puppy Jessie which everyone adored.
Congratulations to the lady Manager excellent you were amazing making sure everything was perfect
Enjoyed ourselves so much we will return.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank debra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Bystander, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2019

Thanks for the high rating, it's really appreciated! Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019

Firstly the refurb is very nice , the restaurant was very busy but luckily we were able to get a table the gentleman was very friendly got our table cleaned and set very quickly , food came out really quick too and was lovely service was great and also received a check back looks like lots of new staff and was very impressed .
Will definitely be returning .

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank debsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Bystander, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2019

Thanks for the high rating, it's really appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019

The pub meal was 10/10 all the way for birthdays and meetings, for family over all keep up good work where before the meals wear cold under new management better all round

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank colinmjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Bystander, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2019

Thanks for the high rating, it's really appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bystander also viewed

 
Wantage, Vale of White Horse
 

Been to The Bystander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing