We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere, food and gin!”
Review of The White Lion

The White Lion
Ranked #12 of 152 Restaurants in Worksop
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pub/restaurant offering great British seasonal dishes using locally sourced ingredients, served in a warm, friendly atmosphere.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Come here regularly, the food is always fantastic but I think on this one occasion there was a guest chef (David, I think) who made a particular effort to make the experience even better, coming out to speak to us about our specific requirements and the food was much better presented.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jet789170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 284 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

We chose to take our immediate family out for our post wedding lunch, big mistake food was shocking there was 16 of us and 15 said they wasn’t happy with the quality of food served, the only one not to complain was a 3yr old happy with his fish and chips served, won’t be going back , we’ve had an amazing wedding but the weekend was spoiled by choosing the white lion, I paid the bill of £270 but wish I had done my homework first

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Safechoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

Very nice surroundings, nice staff but meal was a let down. Not lot of choice on menu. We opted for seafood legiune only to be told it wasn’t seafood but only crab. The pasta was over cooked and very greasy. The desserts also had to be a second choice. Chocolate brownie very dry so not particularly pleasurable meal. Won’t be going back in a hurry. As it was not particularly cheap, would expect better.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank sandrawoodward149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

Called in at the white lion today when in the area. We were taken to a lovely table, the decor etc is very nice.
We all chose a Sunday roast including our 5 year old. Was the best meat ever, lovely and soft and tasty. The Sunday roast was really very good and good portions. Red cabbage and parsnip too which is a rare treat. The chocolate fondant dessert was also absolutely delicious.
Table service was also of a very high standard. Would return.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank priestland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019 via mobile

What a breath of fresh air, A pleasure to meet Will , who attended to all are needs at lunch .
The menus were great and had good variety, we chose haddock and chips the fish was amazing cooked to perfection .
We were made to feel welcome throughout our visit
Thanks again Will a fine young man .

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank 118simonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Lion also viewed

 
Worksop, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing