We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Time Warp”
Review of Mr Straw's House

Mr Straw's House
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Worksop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and discover a 1920s house captured in time...Step back in time to the 1920s and find out how a grocer's family lived in this market town. This ordinary semi-detached house, with original interior decorations from 1923, was the home of the Straw family.For 60 years the family threw little away and chose to live without many of the modern comforts we take for granted.Photographs, letters, Victorian furniture and household objects spanning 100 years can still be seen exactly where their owners left them.As the house is rather cosy, it is essential to book a tour in advance - just give us a call to do so!
Nottingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A Time Warp”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have been meaning to make the effort to visit Worksop for a while and were delighted on finally managing to make it. The house is well presented, as Mr Straw left it when he went into hospital, seemingly having done little to alter the property since the 1920's and not thrown out much either. The guides were friendly and knowledgable and made the visit enjoyable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrStrawsHouseNT, Front Office Manager at Mr Straw's House, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi,

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Mr Straw's! I will pass your comments on to our volunteers, who really appreciate hearing visitors' feedback. Many thanks for the positive review - come back soon!

Amy
Visitor Services Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    43
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“step back in time”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Mr Straws house well worth a visit it just a step back in time, its like they have just popped out and will be back soon. So many items from the past brinkng memories back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacque C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrStrawsHouseNT, Front Office Manager at Mr Straw's House, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi,

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our time capsule! Thank you for leaving a positive review, and we hope to see you back here soon.

Amy
Visitor Services Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fascinating view into years gone by.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had high hopes for our visit to Mr Straws house and we certainly weren't dissappointed! The minute you walk inthe front door, as the Straw family would have done years ago, you step back in time. Amazing that it was all decorated in 1923 when the family bought it and hasn't been changed, the neatly bundled newspapers under the bed, the cupboards full of tins, jars and bottles of food etc, all have a tale to tell, and the guides are very knowledgeable as each and every room is explained in detail. The visits are by timed ticket and groups of 4 are led around the house by a guide but it isn't rushed and there is time to take in the contents of each room and the atmosphere. We will certainly visit again next time we are in the area. The coffee and cake is good too :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chezan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrStrawsHouseNT, Front Office Manager at Mr Straw's House, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for such a glowing review! It's always great to hear how fascinated people are by Mr Straw's House, and I'm glad you enjoyed your coffee and cake! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Amy
Visitor Services Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A great insight in to how life would have been for a privileged family in the 1920s. Well informed and friendly guides. A real treat, not to be missed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank matilda1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrStrawsHouseNT, Front Office Manager at Mr Straw's House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for recommending Mr Straw's House to others. Our conservation team work hard to ensure the house stays looking as it did all those years ago, so we're glad you found it to be an insight into life back then. Hope to see you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dont miss”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

a really interesting couple of hours. well worth a visit. good value.
interesting to hear the straw brothers story.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndreaSmith1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrStrawsHouseNT, Front Office Manager at Mr Straw's House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks very much for your positive review, we're happy that you enjoyed your visit here. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Straw's House also viewed

Worksop, Nottinghamshire
Worksop, Nottinghamshire
 
Worksop, Nottinghamshire
Worksop, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Mr Straw's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing