We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for touring Nottinghamshire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Worksop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2006

The hotel wasn't full so we were upgraded to a fabulous room, more than twice the size of a normal room - and we didn't even have to ask. It was a really nice touch and one that many hotels could learn from. The room was so big we could hardly see the TV from the bed, with nice furniture and a table and chairs, and a really comfortable HUGE bed with crisp cotton sheets. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the room was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent. Worksop is a strange place and we had great fun watching the local population on its way to enjoy a night out, dressed to the nines and very well-oiled! We also found a really good Indian restaurant on Friday night, and on Saturday a real gem of a tiny Thai restaurant disguised as a Ye Olde English Tea Shoppe. We loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AllyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 748 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2006

There was a big party of us staying at the hotel for a wedding at a nearby location (not, incidentally being catered for at the hotel) The staff could not have been more helpful or obliging. When the bride had expressed some regret that guests would not see England play in the World Cup quarter final because of the time of the wedding 'do', unbeknown to anyone they arranged for the whole game + extra time + penalties to be recorded. The receptionists dealt with all queries promptly. We had magnificent breakfasts. The area the hotel is in is quiet and we would heartily recommend this hotel if you ever have cause to be in Worksop.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2006

The Best Western Lion Hotel in Worksop is a great hotel in the wrong town! I can take or leave Worksop, but the Lion Hotel is an amazing place which, although refurbished retains its old-style charm.

Room was stunning with a Canopy Bed, although the view was uninspiring. Bathromm was huge, I can't say anymore than just huge!

Restaurant was spacious with an excellent value-for-money restaurant and served by the excellent Trish, the hotel's Head Waitress, who works hard and still has a friendly face and matching smile, no matter what time of day she's working!

Recommend staying there if you ever have to be in Worksop!

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DaveJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
Thank Alessandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma G, General Manager at Best Western Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Suita Sherwood z której korzystałam jest bardzo wygodna dla trzech osób.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank jrl312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worksop
4.7 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 6 in Worksop
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Worksop
Travelodge Worksop
#4 of 6 in Worksop
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Blyth A1 M Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lion Hotel

Address: 112 Bridge Street, Worksop S80 1HT, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Worksop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Worksop
Price Range: $64 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in Worksop, a central location for all major attractions in the South Yorkshire region. We offer excellent services and facilities and have a 3 star AA rating and a Silver Green Tourism Award.The hotel is superbly located close to the A1, M1 and A57 road networks. It is also easily accessible by train with Worksop Train Station just 2 minutes drive away. The hotel is only 30 minutes away from Doncaster Sheffield International Airport.Situated in the quaint market town of Worksop the Best Western Lion Hotel has 46 ensuite bedrooms, 115 bar & grill serving delicious home made dished what have been carefully selected by our talented head chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worksop
Worksop Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing