We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and amazing customer service!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Worksop
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel and amazing customer service!!!!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel through groupon and we were very pleased with everything. Breakfast is a winner and the room we stayed in was quite big and very clean. Received a call from reception asking if everything ok that never has happened in all the hotels we stayed so far , that's good customer service. It's good vale for money and loads to do in Worksop , like cresswel crags, bolsover castle. The hotel restaurant is also good. It's worth a visit!!!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Santosh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma P, General Manager at Best Western Lion Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi,

From us all at the hotel we would like to thank you for your comments. We pride ourselves on great customer service, we like to ensure that all our guests are comfortable in their rooms. We are very pleased had a great time and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    239
    78
    29
    12
See reviews for
86
411
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Over all hotel very good lovely helpful staff bedding needs updating had to buy fabreeze don't accept room 310 if you require a peacefully nights sleep due to constant droning noise .shame about the town very run down .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma P, General Manager at Best Western Lion Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, please accept our sincere apologies in regards to your stay when you was in the original room. This was looked at by maintenance and has not happened since then. We hope that it didn't effect your stay with us to much an you managed to enjoy the rest of your stay when you were moved.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked this via Groupon in January, paid £65 for two nights bed and breakfast with a free bottle of Prosecco on arrival. Wasn't expecting anything fabulous for such a reasonable price, but it was a lot better than we anticipated.

Check-in was efficient, friendly and extremely quick. No issues whatsoever, didn't even need to verify my coupon as they had already done it. The lady who checked us in (didn't catch her name), was very clear in letting us know to ask for any help and they would be more than happy to do so.

We stayed in room 210, and when we entered, we had an excellently sized bed, very comfortable. The room itself was clean, the bathroom was a very good size, and the Prosecco was ready on the desk. My only advice would be for the receptionist to offer a bucket of ice when you check-in because it was a tad warm. The TV was great, decent-sized flat screen with a good selection of channels.

If I had one complaint about the room, it would be that ours was very stuffy. We seemed to be in a hot area of the hotel, because as we entered the corridor door where our room was, the temperature clearly went up. It meant we were having to keep the window open at all times. It wasn't a major problem, but if we went out and closed the window, it was extremely warm when we got back.

Once we'd settled in, we thought we'd give the hotel restaurant a go for dinner. We were greeted by a lady with wavy reddish-blonde hair (again didn't catch her name), who was very friendly and immediately brought us our drinks and took our order. We waited about half an hour for our food, and the restaurant didn't actually seem that busy, but we weren't too bothered as we weren't in any rush. I had the chicken breast, spaghetti and chorizo dish, which was really nice but the chicken was very slightly overdone. My other half had the cheeseburger with chips, which he said was lovely and moist, and the chips were delicious home cooked ones. The menu price was reasonable for the quality of the food (approximately £9-10 for the average dishes), and the drinks were also fairly priced considering the nice ambience and atmosphere of the bar. Overall, pleased with the dining and drinking experience.

Breakfast was good, served 8-10am, one of the staff would meet you at the bottom of the stairs, take your booking name, and then showed you to the breakfast room. There was a selection of apple and orange juice, fruits, yogurts, cereals and then cooked breakfast was provided in a hot buffet style, kept in large metal containers and you could serve yourself. There was bacon, sausage (which was lovely), scrambled egg, hash browns, grilled tomato, mushrooms and beans. When you seated yourself in the dining area, the waiting staff would bring you a plate of toast and offer hot drinks. It was very efficient and well done. My only issue was that the breakfast was never piping hot, but it was very nicely cooked.

General points about the hotel were that it was an ideal location, directly opposite the Savoy cinema, sat at the top end of the high street, very close to all the other pubs and bars in Worksop. Enjoyed a drink in the White Lion (when you are stood in front of the hotel, turn right, walking away from the high street for about 3 minutes), nice ambience and good selection of drink and food, also went into the Unicorn on the high street which was very cheap, Yates's and The Cornerhouse. We had a very good Saturday night out in the town. We'd tried Friday night but it was very quiet and there were a few "ruffians" about, which was a shame. Saturday was far better.

The hotel was a short distance from Sherwood Forest, Clumber Park and a few other tourist attractions, and Worksop had a tourist information centre at the bottom end of the high street. We didn't use it, but I'd imagine it would be a valuable resource to find things to do and see.

All in all, our stay was great and I would definitely go there again. Thanks for the good time!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma P, General Manager at Best Western Lion Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi,

First of all I would just like to say thank you on behalf of all the staff at the hotel for taking the time to write such a great review. It is always nice to hear when a guest has not just had a great stay but thoroughly enjoyed everything about the hotel. We pride ourselves on great customer service so is great to hear that you received this, I will ensure that all your comments are passed on to the rest of the hotel staff and the head chef and his team.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the room being stuffy, sometimes when the heating is on the rooms can get warm as we are now coming up to summer this will no longer be a problem.

We hope that we will see you again at the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Nice Hotel, friendly staff Good food
Some Rooms a little old looking and need updating, Location okay for small town but don't expect too much. Would stay again but would have to be in the updated suites

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed as part of the groupon voucher, £30 b&b incl. a bottle of proseco. Great value and no complaints at all, however if I had paid full price I would have expected more. The hotel is a typical 3 star, slightly dated, clean and comfy. Worksop was very run down with not a lot going for it. If the hotel was in a nicer town it would be much more appealing for a 2nd visit but I will not be returning any time soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I'm often staying in the area for business and there are quite a few hotels to choose from.

I enjoy staying at the Lion hotel as it is well located for my needs in the Worksop area. Staff are always friendly, receptionists are eager to flash a smile at check in. The bedrooms are comfortable and well appointed.

The food can be pretty hit and miss I'm afraid, I suppose it depends who is working in the kitchen on that day, which is a shame.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niklas_Rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Got married at the Lion Hotel on the 28th of December and what a great day.From the start the staff were excellent nothing was to much trouble.The staff organised everything so well throughout the whole day.The food was exceptional and we could not have asked for better service.The Bridle suit was beautiful and comfortable,breakfast was great a big thankyou to all the staff.Anyone thinking of having a Cival Wedding should seriously consider the Lion as it is a fantastic venue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worksop
4.7 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Worksop
Travelodge Worksop
#1 of 1 in Dukeries Mill
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Worksop
68 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
8.8 mi away
Travelodge Retford Markham Moor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lion Hotel

Property: Best Western Lion Hotel
Address: 112 Bridge Street, Worksop S80 1HT, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Worksop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Worksop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in Worksop, a central location for all major attractions in the South Yorkshire region. We offer excellent services and facilities and have a 3 star AA rating and a Silver Green Tourism Award.The hotel is superbly located close to the A1, M1 and A57 road networks. It is also easily accessible by train with Worksop Train Station just 2 minutes drive away. The hotel is only 30 minutes away from Doncaster Sheffield International Airport.Situated in the quaint market town of Worksop the Best Western Lion Hotel has 46 ensuite bedrooms, 115 bar & grill serving delicious home made dished what have been carefully selected by our talented head chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worksop
Worksop Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing