We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Worksop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Arrived for early check in at 12pm, really only had time for a quick look around the room as we needed to change for a wedding. Returning at 10.30 pm I noticed how dirty the bath was and that the plug didn't work. The toilet needed a dose of bleach and a good scrub but wasn't too bad. The room itself was clean as was the bedding. The bed was king size but the duvet wasn't, although the cover seemed extra large as it was tucked under the mattress on both sides and at the bottom. The mattress was uncomfortable and the pillows even worse resulting in a poor nights sleep. I cannot comment on meals as we didn't have any. I did report the dirty bath as we left and a young man apologised. I won't be going there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mosid1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 732 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay here. We have a 16month son so eating at the hotel was ideal, the food was excellent. We were very impressed with breakfast and evening meals we had here. The staff were very polite and did a great job at looking after us and making us feel welcome. The rooms were nice we would defiantly return to this hotel it was a great location for family days out we went to Sherwood Forest and clumber park which were only a 5minute drive from the hotel. We would defiantly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Lion Hotel in Workskop (Gemma, the manager) were happy to support our Charity event and allow us to use the lounge in the bar to run the 1-hour long seminar. Plenty of space for 30 people or so.
We all had drinks and the venue was the perfect place to relax in order to learn how to wlak on red-hot coals.

After the event my family (6 of us) came back to the Lion Hotel for evening meal and we were not dissappointed !! The service was fantastic and the meal was excellent.

We all had starters, the deep-fried brie was recommended but I had the garlic mushrooms on brushetta - which were lovely.
For main the fajita's went down well but my rib-eye steak was the best I have had in a while - cooked to perfection and tasty !
We were all extremelly full so we ended up sharing a desert - the chocolate sponge with chocolate sauce - as there were 6 of us the chef did a double helping with 6 spoons and it was delicious.

At the end of the meal we were given a 15% off voucher and we cna't wait to go back with or without the voucher.

This is a Best Western hotel and the team at the Lion or doing the hotel chain very proud - well done to them all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baird29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have tried this establishment on three separate occasions, each time thinking next time service will be better. The 1st time was in December 12, we were in happy christmas spirits and decided to call for a late morning coffee and possibly mince pies (sorry to name drop but we should have stuck to Starbucks). After waiting nearly 30 minutes to be served we ended up walking out!! During the 30mins we were waiting, there were very few people in the bar,my partner had been to ask if we could order at the bar or was it table service, he was told it was table service,yet no one came to take our order! My partner also went back up to the bar again (at this point he said there were two staff members chatting behind the bar), yet still no one came to take our order. In the end my partner went up, complained and then we left. 2nd time around we called in the end of March for brunch, we waited about 15 minutes before a waitress acknowledged us,her acknowledgement response, "I'll be with you in a minute" 10minutes later no one had come. My partner then saw who we thought looked like a Manager and complained. After a few minutes he did come over, apologised, which seemed genuine, and then took our order. The food was ok, although not everything was on the plate that was specified in the menu! Again we had to speak to the manager.3rd time around I was in a wheelchair,when we entered the bar through the main doors all the tables on this level had reserved signs on. My partner went to ask a member of staff if there was any more seating areas that was wheelchair accessible, to which we were told yes but we had to go all the way round the back on the hotel to another entrance. We did this only to find the entrance we were told to use had steps once we were inside! At this point my partner YET AGAIN went to speak to a DIFFERENT member of staff who told him the other member of staff had given him the wrong directions. To which he was then told we had to go all the way back round to the front of the hotel to gain access!! Now perhaps there is another entrance that is disabled access friendly, and it was us that misunderstood the directions from the staff member, BUT not at any point did the member of staff go out of their way to help us or offer a basic level of service you would expect. At this point we decided to leave and go some where else. Sadly after giving the place benefit of the doubt on 3 occasions this has put us off going again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Holimoli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

As a couple out of a party of 40 on a 5 night stay every effort was taken to make our stay here complete the staff were outstanding even though they were all quite young which made this even more impressive, even the less able among the party were accommodated in a friendly and helpful manner
The chef and his team prepared wonderful dishes with a great choice, breakfast was very good too
This hotel is a great base to work from we would definitely return again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Vronny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is in the center of Worksop with easy access to all the town as to offer. The Staff were both friendly and helpful on booking and on arrival.. Room was very nice and the bed was very comfy with plenty of pillows. There is tea and coffee making stuff a trouser press and a hair dryer. The bathroom is fully stocked with towels and toiletries.We had breakfast which was buffet style, hot and fresh served with tea and coffee. We will be returning to the Lion again and would recommend to any one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed with my husband for a last minute get away, When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a very smiley, friendly receptionist, check in was fast & efficient. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a beautiful Executive Room, the room looked to be newly decorated. It had the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in.
We decided to eat in the Bar area. The service was excellent & the food delicious.
I can not fault this hotel in the slightest & will definitely return.
Thank you BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoanT652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worksop
4.7 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
0.3 mi away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 6 in Worksop
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cherry Park Hall
Cherry Park Hall
#2 of 2 in Blyth
26 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Worksop
Travelodge Worksop
#4 of 6 in Worksop
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lion Hotel

Address: 112 Bridge Street, Worksop S80 1HT, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Worksop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Worksop
Price Range: $75 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in Worksop, a central location for all major attractions in the South Yorkshire region. We offer excellent services and facilities and have a 3 star AA rating and a Silver Green Tourism Award.The hotel is superbly located close to the A1, M1 and A57 road networks. It is also easily accessible by train with Worksop Train Station just 2 minutes drive away. The hotel is only 30 minutes away from Doncaster Sheffield International Airport.Situated in the quaint market town of Worksop the Best Western Lion Hotel has 46 ensuite bedrooms, 115 bar & grill serving delicious home made dished what have been carefully selected by our talented head chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worksop
Worksop Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing