We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, a little expensive though...”
Review of Normanton Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Normanton Inn
Ranked #78 of 111 Restaurants in Worksop
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, a little expensive though...”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food was delicious but a little expensive for my liking. The service was friendly but we did have to wait a while for our order to be taken and for drinks to arrive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawsbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    5
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretentious and overpriced”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Called here for a late lunch on sunday 23rd September. Definitely wish we hadn't bothered.

The restaurant is dark and dismal with no atmosphere. The menu descriptions are pretentious to up the prices. Sausage and mash, and fish and chips, with a coke and a shandy for £30. Total rip off.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I looked on the internet at the menu and we booked a table on Sunday the 19th Octber.
It does not tell you that you are going to eat in a tatty cafe were the chairs stick to the greasy floor and the tables feel sticky.I have eaten here many years ago and it was a restuarant witth a'lacart menus, I was told that the a'lacart restuarant was full with two bus loads of people and was taken to this tatty cafe, the menu was not what you see on the internet and what you did get was cheep and nasty

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Went on the may day bank holiday and expected it to be full, so had booked a week beforehand. I'm surprised they didn't laugh down the phone as when we arrived there was about three tables that were in use. It was dead.

Most of the food that came to the table was rubbish. A couple of things were actually burnt. Overcooked tough food.

I was expecting fairly simple pub food; but what we got was obviously bought in and/or reheated, if not it was deepfried. Kids chicken goujons came to the table basically black. A beef burger came to the table black. A change came when the chips with the fish and chips were ridiculously underdone and powdery.

There was nobody in this place, there was no rush, how can you not get this food right?

You have to go out of your way to get here, so my advice would be to not bother.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wardms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and pleasant service”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Two couples in their late sixties went for lunch on 29/11/11, expecting the worst. We all had beautiful meals,very pleasantly served. We had main courses of pie,steak,lamb shank and fishcake. All delicious.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Normanton Inn also viewed

Clumber Park, Nottinghamshire
Worksop, Nottinghamshire
 
Worksop, Nottinghamshire
 
Worksop, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Normanton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing