We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
281 Restaurant and Rooms
Ranked #3 of 13 Mansfield B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Needed a room for the night as we were on business. Hotel looked better from outside than inside. It was bitter cold and the room was very cold. They tried to sort it out but no luck. Bathroom could have been cleaner at least that was warm. Very bad night's sleep so shattered next day. Reported how bad it was to the receptionist who could not care a damn. B'fast was ok.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cambridgetravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    57
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
39
39
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The hotel is always clean & the staff are all very pleasant & friendly. I stay there every year on my annual visit from Australia. Nothing is too much trouble for them and the management is first class. Wish there were more places like this on my travels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTFC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

I had a bad nights sleep, the food service was pretty average, the bathrooms were filthy but i wouldn't want to stay there any longer. There is however good parking but the location is terrible being on a main busy road. During the night it was noisy, you could hear the loud voices of the staff. I am not impressed with this service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2008

Stayed here whilst visiting from portsmouth, good friendly atmosphere, although basic, it is comfortable and food is good, the night porter Phil, is superb and nothing too much trouble for him,

  • Liked — friendliness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank philymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2008

What a great time myself and my wife had. It was an unscheduled stop but very pleasnt indeed. The arrival was very warm and welcoming and the staff were very helpful throughout our stay. The food we had was of a very high standard and we would certainly stay there again wnen we visit the area.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — The walk into town
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonHappyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

After a somewhat frosty "welcome" by the receptionist, who sneered at my Solo bank card ( a mistake by my bank, little did she realise there was over a thousand pounds in there) and looked down her nose at our rather dis-shevelled appearance...we had been walking in The Yorkshire Dales and our stopover in Mansfield was unscheduled, the rooms were a pleasant surprise. Although the bathrooms were a little dated, everything was clean and comfortable. The menu for dinner seemed pretentious and bland ...a rather odd combination. So, we ended up dining at a nearby public house which had above average "pub grub" and had a lovely atmosphere. Quite a relief after our reception at Pine Lodge. Breakfast was well-cooked and served with a smile...at least some of the staff were friendly!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — reception
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern ~England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

Stayed here for one night and was very glad it was not longer. The beds were comfortable, the food was lovely, so was the service. The bathroom was pretty grim by my usual standards and the location of the hotel, though convenient, is not conducive to a peaceful stay, being set on the extremely busy main Nottingham Road. The view from the window was of rooftops and back yards. There was, however, plenty of parking.

By far the worst thing about this hotel was the door banging through the night. I think it was the main electric front door but it could have just been staff going about their business. This hotel is not large enough to have people walking about all night, you can hear them talking and, as I said, a door or doors banging. Had a terrible nights sleep and felt ill the next day. Will never stay here again.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — Doors banging, talking in the night, where it is and stress in general
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aerobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mansfield
1.4 mi away
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mansfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 281 Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 281 Restaurant and Rooms

Property: 281 Restaurant and Rooms
Address: 281-283 Nottingham Road, Mansfield NG18 4SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Mansfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Mansfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 281 Restaurant and Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
281 Restaurant & rooms Hotel is rated 3-star by the Tourism Council. All rooms are en-suite, with digital TV. We aim to provide, comfortable rooms, home cooked food and a warm welcome. We are within a 10 minutes drive of Hollinwell, Coxmoor and Sherwood golf clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your 281 Restaurant and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing