We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe bet for a stay in Mansfield”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
281 Restaurant and Rooms
Ranked #3 of 13 Mansfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Safe bet for a stay in Mansfield”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We normally stay with family, but for the first time we needed a B&B. 281 R&R fit the bill just fine. We will not bother looking elsewhere on future visits, this will do us fine. A Pub, a decent restaurant for evening meals, good breakfast choices under the same roof all contributed to a satisfactory stay. Bus more or less at the door runs in and out of Mansfield frequently. It is also the Nottingham bus, we arrived from Nottingham on the bus which dropped us off at the door. We were there for a funeral and the cemetery is just up the Nottingham road, so convenient for that. Someone may benefit from that no so happy observation.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CalAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    57
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
39
41
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a family gathering for a Golden Wedding celebration and we were looked after very well. Service was friendly, courteous and discrete but always to hand. Food was a conventional "Sunday roast" but cooked beautifully and well presented. Ambience and decor was comfortable and homely. Bar was well stocked with all requests catered for promptly with a smile. This was the perfect venue for a small family gathering where the emphasis was on catching up on old times in a pleasant atmosphere with good food and being encouraged by the staff to relax and enjoy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Google Translation
Glad you enjoyed your special celebration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our Valentines celebration at 281 Restaurant. The food was of the highest quality and cooked to perfection. At under £20 per head, including wine, it proved to be great value with no compromise on quality. Staff were very welcoming and the bar was a great atmosphere for a pre-dinner drink. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parkes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a lovely place to stay, staff couldn't do enough for you, very polite and very friendly people! I had a double room to the front of the property, which was very clean and spacious, the breakfast in the morning was to die for, with such a range to choose from. I will definitely be staying here again!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parice90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hospital with a lovely breakfast included bar open till late and free wi-fi

We stayed in a room with a double and one single was very specious, water in the bathroom perfect temperature.

Very happy with our stay. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheishM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed over on a Friday night for a wedding party and the rooms were fine and the rates reasonable. Nothing outstanding but a very comfortable and pleasant stay. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wobblyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Friends and family stayed overnight after a family party held in the hotel, The party, which was for around fifty people, was excellent, Staff could not do enough for us. The food was also very good, had a hot buffet that was served to us, delicious.

The bedroom we had was really nice and spotlessly clean with a good hot shower. Would recommend the excellent breakfast.

Will certainly be back, probably for an evening meal.
.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mansfield
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton in Ashfield
225 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mour Hotel
Mour Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annesley
617 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,593 reviews
7.2 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
224 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 281 Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 281 Restaurant and Rooms

Property: 281 Restaurant and Rooms
Address: 281-283 Nottingham Road, Mansfield NG18 4SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Mansfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Mansfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 281 Restaurant and Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
281 Restaurant & rooms Hotel is rated 3-star by the Tourism Council. All rooms are en-suite, with digital TV. We aim to provide, comfortable rooms, home cooked food and a warm welcome. We are within a 10 minutes drive of Hollinwell, Coxmoor and Sherwood golf clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 281 Restaurant and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing