We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly n cosy n we will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
281 Restaurant and Rooms
Ranked #3 of 14 Mansfield B&B and Inns
notts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly n cosy n we will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

the pine lodge hotel was a friendly hotel n everyone was kind ... the night porter was a laugh and all you need to do is ask for something and he will definatly help you , i stayed for 2 nights and the rooms wallpaper were a little dated but still a very pleasant place , 24 hr bar the food is nice, its definatly worth a re visit, if you can get a room on the back of the hotel then that wud be better as the traffic on the front end is loud n constant ... the best hotel in mansfield id say . oh the car parking is fine with plenty of space .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    57
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
39
38
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Booked at short notice. Very friendly staff, very helpful and friendly receptionist. The room was fairly basic, but a nice comfortable bed and clean and tidy. Large bathroom with shower over bath. Good breakfast, traditional English, but cereals available too. Well cooked and tasty. Convenient for Mansfield town centre (5 miniute drive, or 10 mins by bus). Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicostag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

Rooms are a bit expensive considering they are a little dated! flowery bedspreads, draylon headboards and a grey bathroom suite, but it was clean & staff were friendly, Tea & coffe making facility in the room and no problem when i asked for more milk, the food was good, although we were served gammon steaks in a bowl? breakfast was excellent and there was plenty of parking convieniantly situated on the A road.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

Stayed three nights per week from September thru to December. There staff were more thank great.
Room were clean and comfortable, decor is a little dated. Food was was good, I ate in most nights.

A hotel like this is one for the list when you find them you put in your contacts list. Next time I'm in Mansfield this is the place I'll want to stay. Need to book well in advance the place is never empty.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Delighted to have found the Pine Lodge. Wanting to break our journey from Hampshire to Newcastle upon Tyne, we pulled off for Nottingham etc. Many of the rooms in other hotels were dingy, musty, depressing etc., but the Pine Lodge's clean, spacious top floor room couldn't have been better. We were lucky that only 3 other rooms were occupied, so there was none of the usual noise that we dread and we were able to sleep reasonably soundly. If anything, we'd have liked a kingsize bed or 2 x 3ft zip and link beds (fairly standard now in most hotels) with a firmer mattress, but this was OK for one night.
The receptionist, who performed most of the other duties, was very helpful and pleasant, and breakfast was fine. It's good to find such easy parking, too.
NB. nearby pubs are noisy, crowded and serve very basic food, so don't count on eating out in this area.
Will definitely stay again, when we need to break our journey.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newcastlekath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Needed a room for the night as we were on business. Hotel looked better from outside than inside. It was bitter cold and the room was very cold. They tried to sort it out but no luck. Bathroom could have been cleaner at least that was warm. Very bad night's sleep so shattered next day. Reported how bad it was to the receptionist who could not care a damn. B'fast was ok.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cambridgetravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

The hotel is always clean & the staff are all very pleasant & friendly. I stay there every year on my annual visit from Australia. Nothing is too much trouble for them and the management is first class. Wish there were more places like this on my travels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTFC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mansfield
1.4 mi away
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mansfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
17.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 281 Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 281 Restaurant and Rooms

Property: 281 Restaurant and Rooms
Address: 281-283 Nottingham Road, Mansfield NG18 4SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Mansfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mansfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 281 Restaurant and Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
281 Restaurant & rooms Hotel is rated 3-star by the Tourism Council. All rooms are en-suite, with digital TV. We aim to provide, comfortable rooms, home cooked food and a warm welcome. We are within a 10 minutes drive of Hollinwell, Coxmoor and Sherwood golf clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your 281 Restaurant and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing