We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Dinner 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Gate

Red Gate
Ranked #4 of 160 Restaurants in Mansfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern fine dining restaurant located in a traditional Public House
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We go to Redgate often for lunch, Sunday lunch or dinner and always receive a friendly welcome. Amy and Jason are great hosts. This visit was for our family Christmas dinner having been to Lambs last year and No:4 Wood st year before we were hoping for something special. The Redgate exceeded our expectations and we booked on the day for next year and would highly recommend you do too. The room and tables were set beautifully and had a great ambiance. Each meal was prepared fresh and they use locally sourced produce where possible. For Christmas dinner the meal was very reasonably priced and you could tell all the hard work the staff had put in to every detail. We spent 5 1/2 hours in there eating but it didn't feel rushed or like you were waiting ages between courses they got everything just right. The "parcel" we received for the "carve your own turkey" was a great touch and added to the fun. I feel so lucky to have this as my local. A huge thank you to all the staff you made our Christmas day perfect we could not have asked for more.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fraf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    53
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Visited midweek in November for lunch and received a friendly welcome. Room is lovely and was fairly quiet. We only had a drink and main courses but the food was excellent and the service spot on. I went for the steak pie and my wife chose the chicken curry. It's definitely not somewhere to go if you are looking for fast food but there is plenty of warning that each meal is prepared fresh and we are happy to wait a little longer when the food is this good.

Highly recommended, very reasonably priced and we will definitely return in the near future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WootyMcFadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

A party of 4 went here on Saturday evening.
Service was attentive without being overbearing.
All the food was great, pigeon starters and shin of beef particularly good.
All in all a great meal and experience would recommend

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Food - Booking essential for small restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Fine dining menu for Mansfield - Pigeon, venison and duck not on many menus in Mansfield! and beautifully cooked but served with a portion of potato which could feed a family for a week and spoilt the appearance of the meal and took away the "fine dining" feel. The quality of food throughout the meal was first class. if you like a pre meal drink be prepared to have this in the traditional public bar which is nice but you can feel over dressed if in your "dining out" glad rags!! Will definitely visit again and now we know what to expect.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedDevil196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Restuarant. Great Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We visited the Red Gate as a party of 8 for the evening Christmas menu and were all delighted with the food.
As many people have already mentioned it's not the best location but do not let this put you off and give it a try.
The food was all great, lovely atmosphere, friendly staff and a warm welcome in the pub in the other half of the building after we finished our meal where we spent the rest of the evening. I would definately recommend this restuarant and I will be going back. .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leisajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Gate also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Red Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing