We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Tree

Oak Tree
Ranked #81 of 156 Restaurants in Mansfield
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is more for your Sky Sports football fan,lots of T.V screens,cheap beers and crisps,if that's what you like then you will enjoy it here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Oak Tree, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Julie B,

Thanks for the review.

Regards
John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disabled Facilities? You CAN’T Get A Wheel-Chair in the Alleged Disabled Toilet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Arrived Thursday 5.35pm. There is 2 Disabled parking bays in the large car park.
You can get into the Restaurant by the large front door up a ramp. (it has a 1 – 2 inch lip)
You find a table for your needs, (plenty of room for wheel-chairs) we chose table 14 near the right corner near a TV so we wasn’t disturbed and to let Mrs. Supervisor sit at the table and leave the wheel-chair at the side within arms distance for ease.

The Pub is on 2 levels (1 part of the dining section has a step up)
There are different types of comfortable dining chairs.
Tables are clean.
The floor is carpeted with 2 different but good quality patterned carpet styles.
The lighting is reasonable.
The music is at a good level so a conversation can still be had.
They have achieved a good effect in this charming newly refurbished Restaurant/Pub.

The Menu selection is varied in taste and starting at a reasonable price and simple to read (with promos on daily specials)
You give your order at the Bar.

I chose;
Starter; Minestrone Soup.
Mains; 8oz Sirloin Steak.

Mrs. Supervisor chose;
Starter; Garlic Bread
Mains; All Day Breakfast

It was very busy so it took a while for the food to be served at our table, but we did have plenty of time so it didn’t matter.

Minestrone Soup 8/10

8oz Sirloin Steak (ordered M/R came M/R) 9/10
Chips (a good size chip but frozen type) 8/10
Garden Peas 8/10
Mushrooms 9/10
½ Tomato 8/10
Onion Rings 7/10

4 pieces Garlic Bread 8/10

2 Eggs 8/10
2 Bacon 8/10
2 Sausages 8/10
Chips (a good size chip but frozen type) 8/10
½ Tomato 8/10
Mushrooms 9/10
Baked Beans (not edible too dry) 0/10


Knife & fork etc (Good))
Dinner plates were cleared up in a quick time.
Cost including 1 Pepsi Light £20.11

We had a good meal there, and prior to going home ( 38 miles away in Lincoln) we went to use their wheel-chair disabled toilets.
To our dismay we could NOT get the wheel-chair INTO the said alleged wheel-chair disabled toilets.
Its not that things were in the way, it just was not a large enough area even to take a small wheel-chair like my wife's chair.
Overall friendly service, clean and well presented.
For food and ambience 8/10

For the alleged Disabled toilet 0/10
REASON; You CAN’T Get A Wheel-Chair in the Alleged Disabled Toilet!

Would I recommend this establishment?
For AMBULANT Disabled Yes.
NOT for wheel-chair disabled.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Supervisor57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Notts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good atmosphere, staff keen to please”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

we went for the curry night on a thursday and even managed the quiz...very good meal although took a while due to the how packed the pub was... could with more of the bigger tables though....having said that if just two people chose not to sit at a table meant for six it wouldn't be as bad....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GafferMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A PLESANT TIME”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Invited to the re-opening. Was made to feel welcomed and truly invited as a guest. Have eaten at times before. The mixed grill i had served was cooked to my liking and could not be faulted. My friends steak looked mouth watering and had got my name on it ready for my visit.
Thank you for a wonderful meal, served with a smile in a very comfortable atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JACKCO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Tree also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Oak Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing