We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service”
Review of Golden Eagle

Golden Eagle
Ranked #14 of 168 Restaurants in Mansfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Golden Eagle is part of the Marston's chain of pubs/restaurants. Our specific brand, is 'TWO FOR ONE' on ALL main meals. As this, we offer a wide menu choice of traditional pub food, with the option to have something a bit different from our huge range of specials & a full pizza kitchen. Our aim is to offer good value & quality food, with efficient & friendly service, as part of the trusted UK wide Marston's brand.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

went with family recently for a lunch time me There were 7 in the party and the meals on offer where 2 for 1 Obviously this left an odd one When we ask how they could help with this situation we were told we would have to pay for 8 people but we could not have the extra meal because there was a person missing ?? not even a salad to share between us ?? As we were their we decided to stay and have the meals anyway What a bad decision that was All the food appears to be cooked in a Microwave straight out of the freezer nothing fresh even the salad was wilted The waitress was very surly and not helpful at all and the manager did not want to be bothered with us Not a pub i would recommend to anyone Never again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tellitasiseeit666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your visit to us.
As a Marstons branded 'Two for One' pub, your party of 7 people would have received 6 meals at two for one & had to pay for the 7th meal at full price, the offer is only for the amount of people dining, as such, you would not have received an 8th meal, therefore, not been charged for one.
Also, as a Two for One pub, we do serve pub food, from our main menu, specials board & now also freshly made, stone baked pizzas, all of which we aim to deliver within 10-20 minutes, no matter how big or small your party, we are not a gastro pub that serves freshly cooked food, that would take a lot longer to prepare & cost a lot more to order.
Again, we are sorry if you feel that at the two for one price & the time it takes to receive your meals, we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for Golden Eagle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 395 of 527 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

We went to the Golden Eagle Fri 26/07/14 around 5pm. We were greeted and made very welcome and we had drinks served straight away and had our order taken in minutes and the main course food served in 10-15 mins. The restaurant was about 1/3 full. The menu is usual for a Marston's pub and good prices. We have been in more expensive restaurants and had a lot worse service and food. The price reflects the portions, you can have big meals if you pay more, but the two for one offer is great for a couple, but not good value for one person.
Our food arrived in 10-15 mins and it was hot and we were checked by the very pleasant waitress. The décor is really good with extremely clean toilets, that had soap and dryers that were working and didn't smell. Our experience was great and will definitely visit again. Well done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank britabroad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit here.
The team do work really hard to try & make sure everyone gets the service they deserve, at our competitive two for one pricing, in clean, safe, pleasant surroundings, so it is great to hear when we have succeeded.
Many thanks again. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I've been here a few times and although the customer service is good it seems they never have enough of the food they are supposed to serve..? Obviously this affects the service and they do not offer anything as an alternative. When they do have the food in it is nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mellyk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we do investigate all issues brought to our attention, however, as you have not stated when your visit was, we are a little unsure as to what it is, we always run out of. We are aware of product availability issues in mid June, due to our menu changing from winter to summer, unfortunately, this was beyond our control, as they were not available to order from our suppliers. As far as we are aware, since our menu change, we have not had any product shortages & would appreciate it, if you could email us directly with more detail, so that we can investigate this further.
We do serve a huge range/variety of meals from our main menu, specials boards & pizza kitchen, at two for one prices & as you've expressed, you are happy with the service we provide & we would like to ensure you are totally satisfied on any future visits.
Our email address is goldeneagle.mansfield@marstons.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

A few of us went for an impromptu lunch to celebrate a friends birthday. Service was very good with friendly attentive staff. We were drawn in due to the introduction of the new pizza line, as advertised outside. Previous visits had left me pretty unconvinced about the food, but you do get what you pay for, and this is typical pub food, so I can't really complain. Having said that, four of us had the pizza- a very reasonable sized affair I must say, with plenty of topping. Unfortunately, it was the crust that let it down. I'm sure it wasn't, or I'd like to think it wasn't frozen, but it tasted awful - the complete opposite to beautifully cooked fresh dough. Frozen homemade ones actually taste better. Change the base and we'll definitely be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nunga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. As you may be aware, we here at The Golden Eagle, are still a Two for One pub, that serves a full menu & specials board, with full waitress service, where you can get 2 hand made pizzas, made to order for £9.99 & these have proven to be very popular.
We were the first of the Marston's pub to open a pizza kitchen & as a result, we have been trialling many different pizza bases. I can confirm, from our food development team, that we are changing the dough we use from Monday 28th July, this dough will be hand stretched, to order & will definitely be the beautifully cooked fresh dough that you are after & still at our two for one prices! So I really hope you will give us another try. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I visit here quite regularly for a lunch time meal and have always found the service excellent and the food well cooked and good value for money and due to this experience we recently took a family party of 17 for a celebratory meal and we were not disappointed. A long table had been set to accommodate all of us and as soon as everyone was seated and settled the orders were taken. All the main meals were served at the same time which was great and everyone enjoyed their meal, there was one minor complaint with one meal but this was dealt with very quickly and efficiently. The staff were very attentive, and efficient allowing the meal to progress smoothly and us to concentrate on enjoying the family gathering.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Buccaneer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Many many thanks, for taking the time to write about your visit here. It is so nice, when our customers let us know when we have got it right. Hope to see you back again soon! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Eagle also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Golden Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing