We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing night”

The Hostess Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 161 Restaurants in Mansfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Out in the country but near the towns. Good wholesome freshly cooked food. We regularly have theme nights to give a little variety to the normal disco evenings.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing night”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I had a great meal with my family on the 15th Feb 2014
The restaurant was very busy but we were seated in no time and our order was taken by a very competent waitress who was very friendly and helpful
The meal was of very high standard and arrived promptly
Nothing was to much trouble for the very hard working staff.
I would highly recommend a visit for a great meal follows by great entertainment

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johng1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgbb0y, Owner at The Hostess Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
glad you had a great night we try our best to make our customers happy
sounds like this time as is nearly all the time (see last review ) we did It.
look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    48
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Having been here for a works Christmas due some years ago, expected better.
We were here for a 50th birthday so our group was quite varied.
I am sorry to say the food was very poor. The chicken, bacon and salad starter only came with lettuce and the bacon was extremely salty.
The vegetable choice to go with the main meal was limited to broccoli and carrots so for the few in our group who did not like broccoli there was only carrots. When the mash potatoes were served someone joked "didn't know you could still get SMASH"
The custard that came with the puddings was the consistency of jelly!!!
This was suppose to be a special night. I can honestly say our local pub who provides honest home cooked meals for £4.95 puts this place to shame.
I am sure from my review you'll be able to tell I would not recommend a visit.
If it wasn't for the fact, did not want to make a fuss as someone's birthday would have been asking for money back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgbb0y, Owner at The Hostess Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
sorry you did not enjoy your night ,I just cannot understand why you did not report your disappointment to my wife as she goes round every table asking if things are ok
as for the potatoes being mash I can tell you that the were boiled potatoes them mashed
as most of our regular customers like them that way
but as the saying goes " we cannot please everybody. "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“had a lovely time”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We went with friends for the mid-week Christmas lunch which was 3 courses plus coffee and mince pie for £14.50 -there was also entertainment as there was a male singer until 3pm
On arrival we ordered drinks at the bar which I thought were quite expensive at £7+ for a pint of beer and a gin and tonic considering that a bottle of wine was only £10.50
The place itself was decorated and Christmasy and the staff were all friendly and helpful especially the woman who waited on our table - she could not do enough for us and we intended to give her a generous tip but she left without saying goodbye so we never got the chance which is a shame
We all had soup to start, two of us had the roast beef dinner and two had the turkey and the food was nice and hot - one of our party had been out earlier in the week and had turkey and it had been dry and the meal not very enjoyable so she was pleased to find this was so much nicer. Three of us had profitiroles with cream for pudding and my husband had the trifle which he said was the best he had ever had.Then coffee and home made mince pies
It was a cut above pub food but not much so I can't say that I found it to be restaurant quality (like the Red Gate or Launays ) but when feeding so many people all at once this is to be expected and we all enjoyed the meal and the entertainment
Also we were going to order a bottle of wine at £13 but were advised that they had another one, same grape variety for £10.50 so we had that instead and it was fine - not many places would be so helpful 10/10 for customer service and goodwill
Having the singer made the lunch a bit more special and he went around asking if anyone had a special occasion for him to annouce which was a nice touch
For what we paid it was very good value and I would go again next year

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgbb0y, Owner at The Hostess Restaurant, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
glad you had an enjoyable day with us ,the singer went down well this year
He is with us at easter time at lunch look on our web site www.thehostess.co.uk
for more info
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Works Christmas Party”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have been going to the Hostess for a number of years now, the reason we always go back is because the meals is always fabulous the service is and always has been brilliant. There is a lovely party atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgbb0y, Owner at The Hostess Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
works parties at xmas are fun time for our staff , seeing people enjoy what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Husband's work christmas party”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

For the past 5 years we have been going to the hostess for our christmas party and we all have a great night ,they have a great menu to choose from, the food is always cooked beautiful and there is plenty of it, the staff go out there way to make your evening a good one, and we alway enjoy the entertaintment, we will be there this christmas!!!Shelly

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgbb0y, Owner at The Hostess Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
glad you enjoyed xmas 2000+ booked for next year so something we do must be right
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hostess Restaurant also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Hostess Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing