We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“:(”
Review of Unicorns Head

Unicorns Head
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Langar
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“:(”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

go here for odd drink in summer, food not brillant

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Debbi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    6
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, england
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“better than expected”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

had pre christmas family meal here on a saturday afternoon. was a little worried when we first got there as it was very cold outside, there was a real fire inside that wasnt lit and hardly anyone eating in the reataurant. well, totally proved wrong, there was 7 of us ranging in age from 72 to 4 and a gluten allergy. all were catered for admirably. the owner was great and all of our food was fab. there have been a couple of negative comments about the tapas portions being small. not something we found, in fact we were surprised at the amount of food we had. all in all great food and a great host and staff, could just have done with setting the atmosphere a bit more with the fire, candles etc but i suppose it was a quiet saturday afternoon. will go back though!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shellymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langar, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beer and snacks with smell of the country”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Thursday night and it's been a tough day at work. Stopped by and was met by a black lab and a boy from the Black country. Good beer, good cheer, good snack snap, set up to face Friday. The only down side is the driving! 3 miles to Cropwell, 1 mile
to Barnstone.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Tapas!”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Recently visited as heard the pub had been revamped and had a reasonable report. On entering the pub we were greated by 2 welcoming bar staff. The real ale was good.
As the pubs speciality is now tapas we thought we would try this instead of going for the more usual english pub dishes. We were a group of 4 so shared 6 dishes (king prawn skewers, chicken and chirozo skewers, salmon on toast, meatballs and muscles in white whine sauce). Unfortunately the portion sizes were small, 6 prawns on 2 skewers, a second dish of chicken a chirozo arrived on 3 skewers... between 4 people!! This was very disappointing as the waitress had helped us with the order and assured us there would be enough food.The best dish had to be the meatballs which were very tasty - unfortunately there must have been a lot of salt in all the cooking as none of us slept that night due to thirst!
Such a shame that our local pub could not deliver a better meal on a Saturday night , as there were only 2 tables in so they certainly weren't rushed off their feet.......

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FarmercharmerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dropin here”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Lovely welcome by the landlord, stopped for a drink on our journey, hubbie had a pint of Everards and I had the Shiraz. Had lots of history to the place and bought some jam and chutney from a local who had an honesty box for her homemade wares, lovely to see this still going on.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CathnCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unicorns Head also viewed

Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Hickling, Nottinghamshire
 
Kinoulton, Nottinghamshire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Langar, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Unicorns Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing