We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuisine At Its Best”
Review of Langar Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langar Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

How can you begin to describe the quality of the food on offer at Langar Hall. We enjoyed sensational food with such great flavours and taste created by a superb head chef and his team. We had promised to take our parents to Langar for some time and had always waxed lyrical about the quality of the food accompanied by the beautiful surroundings and the excellent service provided by the staff. We were not disappointed nor were our parents on this particular day. Thanks for making our and our parents day a special one. Kevin & Glynis Philliskirk

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Owner at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Sorry it has taken me so long to thank you for your kind review. Greatly appreciated and encouraging to everyone who works here. THANK YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 576 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Langar Hall is timeless and the service is faultless.

I have been a welcomed guest at Langar for nearly 30 years and had my wedding there six months ago. Given that I am rather picky, I think that gives an indication of their (not 'its') ongoing consistency of standards.

If you are looking for something very special, individual and unique then you must try Langar. If you seek the same old tired formula and clichés of restaurants and hotels run solely for maximising profits by massaging your ego to open your wallet then please try somewhere else and leave Langar for those of us who love it for what it is - an excellent, luxurious, respectful, charming, one-off gem.

The food and wine are both equally divine, the rooms are beautiful, the service and attention to detail surpass every expectation.

Imogen is wonderful, Avishek is exceptional, Santosh is incredible and everyone else is outstanding. Apart from Michael, for whom outstanding is not a adequate enough word. Michael is simply unbelievably brilliant in every way.

Room Tip: Edward's is a terrible room. Never choose it (so it is free for me when I stay!!!!). I had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Owner at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Lovely review! Like the bit about Michael and The Edwards room!! See you again I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Lunch last Sunday with my mother. A short traditional Sunday lunch menu rather than the normal menu. The standard of cooking was superb and the attention to something so simple was perfect. I eat every month or so at some of the best restaurants in the world, but never has a restaurant local or international given me such pleasure. This is clearly a very good kitchen indeed. The young staff were charming and just what the very best service should be. I was driving and so unfortunately could not explore the short but the most perfect wine list that I think that I have seen.

Langar Hall is a very individual establishment and this is local quiet hospitality and pleasure of the very best kind. I am very much looking forward to future visits.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Manager at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for posting a lovely review of our Traditional Sunday Lunch and we were thrilled to read the positive comments. Our wine list is compilation of very good wines, carefully selected by the Owner, Imogen Skirving, herself. Hope you are not driving next time, so that you enjoy the wine. It would be a pleasure to welcome you, your mother, family and friends back again.
Yours Sincerely,
Santosh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

An excellent short break from start to finish. We were met at the top of the drive to save us getting out of the car as we were booked into Barristers at the rear of the building and parking is more convenient for us outside of the room. This high quality of service was maintained throughout by all of the staff. Breakfast cooked to order was great, the small business preserves just added to the quality of the food. Dinner was exceptional and very good value, and the service surpassed expectations (a happy birthday message on my dessert without it being requested was even photographed and emailed within hours). The Hall and the grounds are a wonderful setting, the history adding to its charm. We will definitely be returning and recommending to others.

Room Tip: The Barristers is a lovely room, but if you open the windows you can hear the church bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Manager at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Wendy, Karen, Disraeli, we had a great pleasure of having you at Langar Hall. Many thanks for giving us great review on TA and bookings.com too. We really appreciate your time and you recommending us. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again.
Have a great new year.
Best wishes,
Santosh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Langar Hall provided the perfect setting for a birthday treat.

Afternoon tea in the reading room was very relaxing and delicious.

The Agnews was a wonderful hideaway out on the Croquet lawn and was very peaceful and relaxing.

But the star of the weekend was the evening meal in the restaurant - we will be returning soon.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Manager at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Happy New Year,
It was a pleasure to welcome you at Langar Hall and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the Agnews room. Thank you for mentioning the afternoon tea in the study room. we do hope we will welcome you again.
Yours sincerely and best wishes,
Santosh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I cannot thank the staff enough for making our very small wedding last weekend extremely special. The venue, rooms and meals are an experience and it is not just a place to stay.

Our little boy is 18 months old, we stayed for 2 nights, we thought it would be a struggle, but wasn't at all, due to the care from the staff and he particularly enjoyed the toy basket!

It is a beautiful place, we had some guests with us that were quite difficult to cater for, and the chefs, staff and Imogen were amazing.

Room Tip: Can highly recommend the Brownlow room if you have a baby/toddler, lots of room for them to run abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rsk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Manager at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

thank you for having your wedding at Langar Hall and for giving us an amazing feedback. we acknowledge you mentioning every little details like the toy basket, we are so excited reading your comments.
we are looking forward to your next stay at Langar.
Best wishes,
Santosh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We found Langar Hall from the internet and TripAdvisor and it was a brilliant discovery. We were looking for somewhere to stay for a night's relaxation in between Yorkshire and Sussex, where we live. We could only stay for one night, and had one of the smaller rooms, but it was lovely. The place has so much charm and character, and the staff were all delightful (we guess those people-skills percolate from Imogen at the top, but think she just enjoys working with nice, capable people).
The real surprise, as this was our first visit, was the dinner. We had the a la carte menu as it was Saturday night, and the quality of the food was outstanding. We've been lucky enough to eat in some fancy places sprinkled with Michelin stardust, but this was the nicest & most well-balanced meal we've had for a very long time. Congratulations to Gary Booth and the team.
The wines were excellent too and not at silly prices.
We hope to return. It's a long way from Sussex but we expect we'll find an excuse.

Room Tip: All different but lovely. Some have views, others not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wsxtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Manager at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

we thank you for taking your time to post your review about your experience at Langar Hall.
we shall pass your words of appreciation to our staff, especially Gary, as it is a great source of inspiration.
we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Happy new year and best wishes. Santosh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langar
7.9 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#9 of 41 in Nottingham
723 reviews
10 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#15 of 41 in Nottingham
545 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Bingham Townhouse
The Bingham Townhouse
#1 of 1 in Bingham
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
693 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
9.5 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langar Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langar Hall

Address: Langar NG13 9HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Langar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langar
Price Range: $124 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langar Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Langar Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langar Hall Hotel Langar
Hall Hotel Langar
Langar Hall United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing