We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite wonderful oasis”
Review of Langar Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langar Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langar
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite wonderful oasis”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I've been here 3 times for dinner now with a friend and it's become by far my favourite place in the East Midlands. A quite beautiful, I guess early 18th century, house with a nice garden in a lovely setting; a welcoming owner who makes an exceptional effort with her customers and has very high standards; unfailingly friendly and efficient staff who hardly seem to change at all. Everything is tasteful with high standards in a low key way.

Above all, the food is quite delicious at fair and the wine list quite short but extremely well chosen and all at fair prices. In particular I've never had better sweet souffles ANYWHERE in the world; and having Billecart-Salmon and Vilmart as 2 of its 3 Champagnes says loud and clear that this is place that knows exactly what it is doing, and refuses to take the lazy option.

I haven't stayed there, but by all accounts it's delightful. Just go there and indulge yourself in traditional England at its very best, as it rarely is these days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Owner at Langar Hall, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for coming back and taking the time to send such a good review. Glad we agree on Biliecart-slmon & Vilmart champagne. Chefs are delighted with your souffle comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    64
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
112
227
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were recommended to stay at this hotel and we found it to be charming and set in a quiet village location. We booked the Lilac room which was a wee bit on the small size but we were comfortable. From arriving to departing the staff were very attentive .We found dinner and breakfast to be of high quality although we would have preferred a buffet breakfast. The hotel has lovely maintained gardens and we would not hesitate to stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Owner at Langar Hall, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Langar is at its best in this hot summer weather. Please come again and remind us to find a larger room!…they are all sizes but mostly quite small for a country house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Langar Hall is local to our family home and yet we love spending time here, the beautiful setting is serene and calming, the 'staff' who feel like old friends are warm, courteous and attend to your every need without encroaching, a real talented bunch headed up by Imogen who is THE kindest, most generous spirit.....just perfect in an uncontrived way.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponyandcarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Owner at Langar Hall, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
That's a good review! THANK YOU please come again and often. Everyone loves the praise as they genuinely enjoy working with our guests even on hot days running in and out of the garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Enjoying only our second night of freedom in 5 months since the arrival of our baby daughter we dumped the kid with her Nanna and the wife and I squeezed into our glad rags and treated ourselves to a night out on the tiles. Langar Hall is a stunning, apricot washed Georgian House set in quintessential English countryside. Very simply the restaurant is outrageously good. The food was sublime and the service relaxed but brilliant. We really couldn't find fault, from the lobster ravioli in a rich, creamy, citrusy bisque to the soft fillet of local beef with textures of onion, followed by homemade truffle infused cheese and last but not least the hand crafted petit fours. Wow! We live in London and Langar Hall is more than a match for most of the so called destination restaurants in the big smoke. Fine dining in London is often a stuffy affair but at Langar it is an all together more relaxed and enjoyable experience. The garden is absolutely stunning and a perfect sanctuary to enjoy a bit of fizz accompanied with marmite popcorn nibbles - a genuine revelation! We would go back in a heart beat so Imogen et al see you all next time we are in town. As Mary Poppins would say, dining at Langar Hall is practically perfect in every way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Owner at Langar Hall, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I remember you two !! You were a joy to have around …but this is not meant for me to write reviews on the customers. A huge THANK YOU for your kind and encouraging feedback. It is really very helpful and the chefs are thrilled..Hope you have an excuse to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have vistied Langar Hall on several occasions now for various reasons, family meals, romantic dinners and so on, and have always been impressed by the personal, attentive approach employed by everyone working there, and the owner/manager. The food is exceptional, and not over-priced for a venue as special as this - around £15 - £20 for mains as I recall, slightly more for steak/venison. I've eaten in the same room every time which is a kind of small(ish) dining room/hall (around six tables?) where the decor is magnificent and you genuinely feel as though you are part of something a little different. The fireplace area where we sat was beautifully decorated and there were flowers, candles etc., tastefully placed. The very minor criticism, and it is very minor, would be that sometimes I've had to wait a while to be seated...although it really isn't a chore when you are attended to so wonderfully and able to have a drink in one of the other reception rooms of the house very comfortably.

I would recommend a visit to anyone. A very realaxed, unique dining experience, where the food lives up to expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJPLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Owner at Langar Hall, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking time to write a helpful and encouraging review. Much appreciated. Thanks to you and others we are No 1 family hotel is Nottinghamshire 2013 and in the top 10% world wide!!! Amazing!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Was booked in here by my cousin for a family occasion nearby. The hotel and the owner are quite eccentric which adds to the pleasure of the experience. I would describe the building as "faded grandeur". The walls, carpets and decor are shabby and the gardens overgrown but the setting is beautiful and it was lovely to walk around the churchyard and the village green in the evening and look out over the parkland at dinner. The food is quite exceptional - not cheap - but the chef is obviously first class and they are willing to adapt the menu. We had had a big family lunch on the Sunday and Imogen (The owner) comes round before dinner to give you advice on the food and she suggested a couple of starters with some salad which went down well. I had the most marvellous crab rolled in ginger one night and lamb that just melted in the mouth. Breakfast is a bit of letdown after dinner we thought as there was no fresh fruit and the choice of cooked breakfast was not that amazing considering the standard of dinner. One point is to consider where your room is situated. We were at the top of the stairs and the sound-proofing is minimal. We were kept awake both nights by late night visitors talking in the hall past 1am and woken by early morning visitors talking on their mobile phones in the garden right outside the window and by the staff prepping the food and leaving the kitchen door open on the ground flor beneath our window and dragging tables around in the conservatory at 6am! We stayed in Cartland. We did not have a brilliant or long night's sleep therefore either night but we did enjoy the stay despite that.

Room Tip: Not in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVL1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Owner at Langar Hall, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write the long review with a better score than the complaints deserved. We should have told you to call reception if you were disturbed by people outside the bar. This can be a problem easily solved by a complaint at the time. The kitchen closes from 10pm - 7am I can't discover who was making noises there or moving chairs in the early hours. This is helpful to remind staff to lock the door under the Cartland room. As for the garden! I'm surprised! The flower garden is beautiful, the grounds are waiting for a dry friday to cut the cow parsley which is so pretty in flower. 'Eccentric' according to the Mail on Sunday is 'fashionable' and put Langar Hall on the list of 5 fashionable things to do this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwash, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Langar Hall is a delight; somewhere you feel completely relaxed from the moment you arrive. We stayed for a long weekend and loved every minute. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and the food is delicious. It's the staff who make Langar Hall really special. No matter how busy they are with wedding or birthday parties, everything runs like clockwork, with charm and a smile. Our family party would happily return tomorrow and stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Owner at Langar Hall, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your encouraging review. It cheered us all up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langar
7.9 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
636 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 49 in Nottingham
521 reviews
13.0 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
12.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
7.3 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langar Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langar Hall

Property: Langar Hall
Address: Langar, Langar NG13 9HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Langar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langar Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and LateRooms so you can book your Langar Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langar Hall Hotel Langar
Hall Hotel Langar
Langar Hall United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing