We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would book the main house next time.”
Review of Langar Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langar Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked the 'chalet' which was more a garden shed! The house and location are beautiful and the service is excellent. The prices are more than reasonable for the quality and the staff are helpful and friendly. Would recommend as a romantic getaway most definitely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notts738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Owner at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for your nice review. I am sorry that we were not able to upgrade you into the house as we do when rooms are available. The 'shed' is much nicer in the summer when you can sit out on the veranda..bit small for winter unless you have a dog needing 'walkies'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 577 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Langar Hall is a lovely place to stay. A delightful hotel set in beautiful countryside. You can be assured of a warm welcome, the food is superb and all the staff are really friendly and helpful.
I can happily recommend it to anyone as I know they won't be disappointed. Whenever we need a relaxing break this is where we'll go! One of my favourite places.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loverealale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Manager at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for taking your time and writing this wonderful review. We have passed on your feedback to the team. we look forward seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a great stay at Langar Hall. The property is lovely - set in beautiful grounds - and has real character.

Our room (Mark's) was excellent - the room was beautifully decorated and a very pleasant place to be. The beds were very comfortable - we had an excellent night's sleep. The bathroom was good and everything was perfectly clean.

We had a truly excellent meal in the restaurant - a real treat - the quality of everything was outstanding. Breakfast too was excellent.

All of the staff that we came across were extremely helpful and friendly. This really is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Manager at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear jasecl - we all here at Langar Hall thank you for your positive words and do look forward for an opportunity to serve you again.

we really appreciate you taking time off for writing this review and the same was communicated to all the team. Santosh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this beautiful country house hotel. The room (Cricketers) was very comfortable, the food was excellent and Imogen and her staff were very welcoming and helpful at all times.
Imogen, thank you for making my mother's 80th birthday a day to remember.
Good luck to you all and thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesmarsh043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Manager at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear James,
Thank you for your lovely comments about Langar Hall. We feel great knowing that your mother's birthday was made special and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. we look forward welcoming you back again at Langar Hall.
Santosh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is such a lovely place. The attitide of the staff is to be personal, attentive, and yet not too serious! Each of the spaces downstairs is different and comfortable, and the grounds are lovely. You must check out some of the signs around the car park and fields for a giggle! The bedrooms are quirky, and I would like to work my way through them all on future visits!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Manager at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your wonderful feedback on trip advisor. We have shared your generous compliments with our team for whom it is tremendous source of inspiration. Thank you for your suggestions.
we look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at Langar Hall several times and have never been disappointed. This is not a grand corporate hotel - it is a cosy, quirky place full of character. Every room is different, but all have something special about them - hand-printed wallpaper, antique furniture, beautiful views. The chandeliers and porcelain in the main rooms are eccentric and charming. The grounds are lovely for a pre-dinner stroll. The food is fabulous - we have always been very happy with our dinners and breakfasts. But what really makes this place special is the service. All the staff clearly love being there. The welcome is always warm, and special requests (e.g. for birthday candles) are met with a smile. Imogen always tries to meet all the guests, often chatting about dinner choices as well as a range of interests. If you want corporate blandness and ostentation, this is not for you. If you want to sit by the fire in an elegant lounge eating home-made marmite popcorn, feeling as though you are staying with friends, then come to Langar! PS - ask at reception when you check in if you can buy some of the home-made treacle bread to take home. They will have it ready for you when you check out, and it's lovely!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Manager at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for your kind words as well as your stay at Langar Hall and we are pleased to read your comments. We are glad we met your expectations and thank you for selling Langar Bread. we certainly hope you make it back. we will pass your feedback to all the team at Langar.
Best wishes.
Langar Hall
S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights, for our wedding anniversary. On our first night,we had a drink in the sitting room before dinner, and then in to dinner, which, to our surprise, was not too expensive, and delicious! Rillette of smoked salmon & dill, seasoned cucumber & rye bread(toast), followed by Lancashire hot pot (lamb) , chive mash, pickled red cabbage, gingered carrots for my wife and Steak & ale (Melton red) pie, grain mustard mash& Savoy cabbage for me, was only £20 each. The house white, a Chardonnay, and red, £18.00 each, were acceptable. The meal was beautifully served and the presentation was very slick – very enjoyable.
Breakfast on day 2 was very leisurely. I had muesli, bran flakes, freshly squeezed orange juice (delicious!),ham and poached egg, toast & yoghurt – all very good. I also had one of my wife's sausages – superb – just how I imagine a sausage to be!
Our second dinner was excellent, as before. A drink in the sitting room, a pint of ale for me, and then in to dinner – virtually the same menu as the night before. I had pan fried wild turbot, brown shrimps, pancetta, parsley root and leaf - £10.00, followed by roast pork chop, Savoy cabbage, fondant potato, apple sauce and crackling - £14.50 – very moist juicy and tender pork - delicious. My wife had ham hock & parsley terrine, pickles, toasted sourdough - £6.50, followed by roast stuffed breast of partridge, duckfat roasted carrots, pearl barley, bread sauce game chips – £18.00. In fact the whole meal was not a lot more than the table d'hôte menu of the night before, especially as we only had one bottle of wine, a slightly disappointing American Chardonnay, at £22.00, and finished off the red from the night before.
Up for a leisurely breakfast on day 3. I had, after muesli and bran flakes, and freshly squeezed orange juice, grilled bacon, two fried eggs, a sausage, fresh mushrooms, and a grilled tomato – a real plateful, and the best cooked breakfast I've ever had.
We left, reluctantly, just before 11 a.m - the end of a great stay. We were able to get to 4 National Trust properties, using the hotel as a base, although the best, Hardwick Hall, both old and new, near Chesterfield, was on the way home to South Cheshire.
We would love to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbo436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangarHall, Manager at Langar Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

we are so delighted to read your feedback, many thanks for taking time to write such a lovely review. we are glad that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us. we have passed on your kind words to our team. please come back and visit us again.
best wishes,
Langar Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langar
3.4 mi away
The Bingham Townhouse
The Bingham Townhouse
#1 of 1 in Bingham
442 reviews
7.9 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#9 of 41 in Nottingham
731 reviews
10 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 41 in Nottingham
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
9.6 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
10 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langar Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langar Hall

Address: Langar NG13 9HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Langar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langar
Price Range: $127 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langar Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Langar Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langar Hall Hotel Langar
Hall Hotel Langar
Langar Hall United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing