We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Came here with a large family group on Christmas day for dinner and we were very impressed all round.The staff were friendly and seemed to make the extra effort for christmas day. The champagne/bucks fizz on arrival was a nice touch.We were in a nice small room with only a couple of other tables so it was a nice atmosphere.The food was really good, infact the portions were a little bit too big for some if anything, but not complaining about that!

Thank adamcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Adamcobb

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review after you Christmas lunch at the hotel, and we're all really glad that you and your family had a good time with us, your kind comments have been passed back to all the team and I've asked chef to cut back on the portions for next time!

All the best and wishing you a happy 2014

The Kelham House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 309 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little hotel just around the corner from the contact centre where I volunteered. Lovely staff and chilled atmosphere. Rooms tidy and clean. Really recommend he haddock for breakfast.

Also try and ask for a room in the manor house as when it's wet and windy (often in this part if the world) you don't want to be walking outside to get to your room.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear IanR

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review of your recent stay with us. Your kind comments have been passed on to the team and yes, I'm afraid the weather is one of the things that we have no control over although we'll keep trying!

Best Regards and we hope to see you again

The Kelham House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We owe Kelham House a huge thank you for making our special day absolutely perfect. The staff were incredible and every request we threw at them they made happen. Everyone who attended thought it was a wonderful place and the staff were amazing. Often at weddings the service can be slow but they were so quick and organised... Eugene (sorry if I spelt wrong) even saw people coming and poured their drinks...a touch that went down very well :). Nicola was our main contact prior - she really is very good at her job and will help as much as poss, sometimes with very late notice. The chef did an excellent job of feeding 77 people at the same time... The choc brownie is to die for!!!!! A huge thank you needs to go to nina - I stayed the night before and she made me feel like we had been friends for years! She went out of her way to help us with everything!!! Everyone at breakfast the day after the wedding thought the world of her... She even coped with 3very hungover lads!! I would highly recommend kelham house, not only because it is a beautiful place with lovely gardens, but because the staff really contribute to making your day as special as possible. Thanks to everyone again - mr and mrs Winn :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Katie

Thanks so much for leaving such a lovely review about your recent wedding with us, and don't worry all your name spellings are spot on!!!

We've made sure that all the team have seen your lovely review and on our behalf thanks so much for choosing us to share in your special day, all our weddings are magical and we always strive to do our best for our guests. We're really proud of the team and thanks for your kind words about the team, and Nina in particular are great to hear, they are a good bunch!

Please let me take this opportunity to wish you and Mr Winn all the very best for the future and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks again

All the team at Kelham House :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our head office is based locally, so we use this hotel a lot - as I live a fair way away I have stayed here several times and have finally got round to writing a few words. It's a lovely building and setting, the rooms are well furnished and appointed, the food is good and overall the value is excellent. I should also mention that Nina is an excellent addition to a good and attentive staff base.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Simon

Thanks for taking the time to leave this great review, the sign of a happy guest is a returning guest so it's great to hear from you.

Nina is a great part of the team and we're lucky to have her, I'll be sure to make sure that she has seen this feedback.

Hope to see you again soon,

Best Regards

Jon-Paul and all at Kelham House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Not wanting to write a book, all I can say from our first visit with my daughter and now son-in-law over a year ago, through to what was a truly amazing wedding on Saturday, Kelham has agreed to all our various requests, met with us at convenient times to discuss details and provided a first class reception on Saturday. Food was served quickly and hot and exactly as ordered. Staff were attentive and helpful and we really could not have wished for a better place to hold our daughter's wedding.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Caroline N

Thanks so much for leaving such great feedback about your recent experience with us for Hannah's wedding, it's always so important that our weddings go exactly as our brides & grooms (and families of course!) want them to, so I'll make sure all the events team see your lovely review.

Please pass on our very best wishes to the happy couple and we wish you all the very best for the future.

Best Regards

Jon-Paul & all the team at Kelham House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

After a few negative reviews about this hotel i decided that i would add a few comments about my recent experience there. I don't usually comment on these sites but here goes. Friends of ours were staying in the hotel a few weeks ago and and we joined them there for a meal. The meal was nice for what we had but i just wanted to comment on the staff really. I can honestly say that everyone that we encountered was professional and curtious. A special thanks to a lady named Nana / Nina cant quite recall but she was very attentive and polite. I am sure that we will visit again and once again thank you and keep up the good work..

Regards

Michael James..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomblake N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Mr James

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at the hotel while visiting your friends, I'll be sure to pass your kind words to Nina directly as it's always fantastic to hear that our team are delighting our customers, she is a great asset to our hotel as are all the team.

Any review that we get is taken on board by us and although we'd rather they all be as complimentary as yours (and on the whole they are!!) anything customers feel is important enough to tell us about on Trip Advisor we welcome as an opportunity to do even better!

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Jon-Paul Davies
Kelham House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were not overly impressed with this establishment. It was always a place I dreamed of having my wedding at, is set in such a beautiful house and grounds. When my fiancé proposed we new instantly we wanted to hold our wedding reception there. You can imagine our disappointment after calling to ask for a show round and a meeting to discuss this possibility we were told they could only fit us in for meetings at late evening times and the person we spoke to ummed and arrred about being able to meet with us, leaving us with the impression that they just didn't want to bother. Nobody came back to our initial inquiry, making us feel like our 12k+ was not needed, valued or wanted. So we looked else where. We then considered staying there on our wedding night and went for Sunday Lunch to check it out. We were very unimpressed with the service. Service with a smile it certainly wasn't with only Eugene managing to bring a smile to his own face. All other staff members seemed very passive and uninterested. Food was ordered and wrong food was brought to our table with very little regard to apology. Indeed not even a drink on the house was offered to appease the chef 'being busy cleaning up as it's closing time soon'. All in all we will not be booking to stay on our wedding night, neither will we be recommending this place for the guests that will attend our wedding in 2014. We probably won't ever go back and the proprietor has just lost over 13k in business. The wedding planners attitude towards customers is sadly found in all staff members. Maybe a little arrogance creeping in? Think twice before booking here!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leminese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Leminese

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback for us, it really is very important that we hear this kind of experience first hand.

On the wedding front obviously apologies that you felt we didn't look after your query, initially after you contacted us and the difficulty in scheduling in an appointment was that we had so many weddings and events on that time was not on our side, we averaged 4 weddings a week in August and with the in-depth preparation and attention to detail that goes into these events time was not on our side, especially as we also have to offer our team some time off too but we shouldn't have left you feeling uninterested in your enquiry, I am sincerely sorry for that.

I can't accept that arrogance has any part in this. We are in the hospitality industry for that exact reason, to be hospitable and arrogance has no place at Kelham House, but we are human and mistakes happen at which point it's how we deal with that lesson.

We have in-fact fully overhauled our wedding and events booking management process so that every single enquiry, without exception is seen through to a booking or not a booking and this is being closely managed by our events team and general manager that feed into me on a weekly basis so it will never happen again, it is not acceptable nor do we rest on our laurels.

The amount of money you refer to was never ours, so I can't consider us to have lost anything tangible because of your experience but I am very sorry that you didn't feel enchanted with us.

I sincerely hope you found another venue you did love, and good luck for the future,

Best Regards

Jon-Paul

Kelham House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelham
4.4 mi away
Saracens Head Hotel
Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southwell
375 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
357 reviews
12.1 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
202 reviews
16.0 mi away
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
#1 of 1 in North Muskham
151 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelham House Country Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelham House Country Manor Hotel

Address: Main Street, Kelham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 5QP, England (Formerly Red House Country Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Kelham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Price Range: $91 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelham House Country Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel was built as a private manor house in 1903 and became a hotel about 50 years later. Under new ownership since 2010 the hotel has been totally refurbished and extended to provide luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Situated in the outskirts of the historic Newark on Trent it provides a perfect location for business traveller, visitor to the area or as a venue for weddings, parties and meetings. As of July 2014 we are happy to announce our 3 star AA accreditation, as well as our first dining rosette awarded by the AA inspector for our a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kelham House Country Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Country Manor
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing