We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Mansfield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Wedding”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We held our wedding at Kelham House and had the most amazing day. We had made alot of adjustments to our day as my now husband had been critacally ill and we had to move our day a couple of times. Kelham House were very accomodating and made a difficult time very easy for us! We wanted a very intimate day with an evening party and our day could not have gone any better. Nicola was great in accommodating our ideas and helping us out when we had no idea what to do with aspects of our day. The staff were very helpful especially the lady on reception and the bar staff in the evening. The in house DJ was great and accommodated our music choices brilliantly. The food was great and breakfast in the morning, for us and our guests, was set out in a seperate room to the rest of the hotel guests so that we could continue with the family celebrations in the morning. I cannot reccomend the team at Kelham enough and the house and grounds speak for themselves. We will definitely be back for our anniversary!!

My only cirtisism was that the bed in the bridal suite was very uncomfortable, this is probably just our personal preference on the firmness of our matress!

Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsnadac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear mrsnadac

Thanks for taking the time to leave this lovely review about your wedding day here at Kelham House.

I'll be sure to make sure that Nicola sees this review and passes on your lovely comments to the team both front of house and the kitchen too as they'll be really pleased to hear how happy you were.

We look forward to seeing you on your anniversary, can't promise that the mattress will be any different though as some guests love them, can't win them all I guess!!! :-)

Thanks again, and we all wish you all the very best for the future,

Best Regards

The Kelham House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    75
    27
    19
    9
See reviews for
76
88
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome awaited us in the hallway, where the reception desk is, and check in was swift and efficient. The beautiful decor impressed immediately. We stayed in the coach house which is a short walk away from the main hotel. It was a generous room with a huge bed, great bathroom with a powerful shower. Good quality toiletries are provided along with sumptuous towels. There are tea and coffee making facilities, but this hadn't been topped up so there was no caffeinated coffee but I'm sure this would have been sorted if I'd called reception as they made it quite clear that if anything was required to call them. We stayed in the hotel for our evening meal. This was good quality food and the atmosphere was lovely and gave us chance to discuss the days events. Perfect. Breakfast was even better, you can judge the quality of a place by two things; if their sausage is good and if they serve kippers or haddock. Yes it was and yes they did. The full English was very well cooked and my partner had smoked haddock which was delicious. One tip, they use a coffee machine to make the coffee, so it's good quality but is not piping hot because they use cold milk, it's okay but I prefer hot coffee so next time perhaps they could serve hot milk with it.
Overall this place is very good, we took a stroll in the gardens after breakfast. I wonder if there will be any plans to create some beautiful landscape in the future, the woodland area by the beck could be turned into a beautiful woodland walk - get planting and we will definitely be back. If your into home shops, visit Southwell while you're staying here, it's one of the most beautiful towns I've been to.
Thanks so much to all the staff and congratulations for all the hard work and good design.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Matthew A

Thank you so much for leaving such a beautifully written review of our hotel. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I've passed your kind words to the front of house team and the kitchen brigade, I agree our breakfasts take some beating and are always something I diligently test, purely for quality control reasons of course!

Our grounds are a huge asset and we are indeed making constant improvements to them. We are just about to start on the most comprehensive tree works we believe the property has ever had, tackling about 45 of the trees identified as needing works, and once this has been completed we can then model and improve gardens based on the landscape we have. It will also ensure we don't un out of firewood any time in the next decade too.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards

Jon-Paul & the Kelham House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Country House in August 2013. The recommendations we received from friends and the online reviews gave us confidence about using the venue for our special day. Although we had a fabulous day, there were many aspects that really let the hotel down. Promises made to us were not met, unfriendly staff, cleanliness of cutlery and glassware and extremely poor customer care were just a few of our complaints. We were never asked how the day went and no apology was offered once we voiced our displeasure. Sadly we cannot recommend this venue for your special day. It's a shame that the venue is not what it used to be as the location and setting remain excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms were of a very good standard. The rooms in the main building have some excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MF242424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed in the this lovely hotel whilst on business.
The room was lovely with great facilities . Breakfast was everything you could want and cooked for you ..not buffet.
We had a business meeting for the day and felt well looked after with coffee...lunch etc..
Definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazzaC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Karen A

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, it's great that you had such a great stay and we hope that you'll be using us again in the near future.

Our breakfast awaits!!

Best Regards

The Kelham House team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

No complaints about the hotel & setting itself which was lovely, however do double check your booking & don't expect a warm welcome.

One key member of our wedding party was overbooked the night prior to the wedding with little by way of apology - this situation could have been easily remedied with a small gesture such as a note in the room, or even a warm welcome & apology on arrival, but none was forthcoming. As a result of the overbooking 2 rooms were promised early on the day, but only 1 came through (& that was made up incorrectly as a double not twin). Quite disappointing! In the evening of the wedding we were attending the wedding party for the next day arrived, only to find that seemingly the bride had been overbooked from the rooms they were expecting - again this info was delivered rudely by the manager with little apology.

On check-in no information was provided about how to find the room, times for breakfast etc. As a consequence we missed breakfast because they stop serving at 9am (v early!). We were actually in the dining room by 9.02, but no staff were in the dining room until 9.15, when we were told the chef had gone home - again it was the tone of delivery that was disappointing (no apology) & the fact that the receptionist, who was also the breakfast waitress, had not told us the time for breakfast!!

Guests staying in the Coach House were woken by swearing house-keeping staff, again not ideal! On the plus side it did mean they were up in time for breakfast ;)

These issues did not ruin the wedding, but they certainly detracted from the overall impression of the place. The actual hotel is beautifully appointed & it is a lovely setting, but sadly we had a much friendlier & more helpful reception from the team at Newark Premier Inn where we stayed the night prior to & after the wedding.

Also a tip for those staying is to check the heating temperature - we were roasting in the night & found the radiators were on & full temperature, despite the overnight outside temperature being in the high teens!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_20101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We held our wedding here on 25th August and it was perfect. The venue is beautiful set in lovely grounds. We loved the fact that we had the whole hotel to ourselves. The staff were fabulous throughout the whole day and big thanks go to Nicola for all her help in planning the day and ensuring it went to plan. The food was great and all the guests commented on how nice the day was. The rooms in the hotel are exceptionally clean and well maintained. We honestly had the most perfect day and I would fully recommend the venue to anyone looking for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Zoe W

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about your big day, we are really pleased that you chose us for your wedding and your kind words mean a lot to all the team, Nicola does a great job on all aspects of the wedding planning and we've made sure she's seen this great feedback.

All the very best

The Kelham House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at Kelham House while attending a wedding on the property. We let them know ahead of time that we would be arriving early and if they could accommodate us getting into any room early (to get ready for the wedding), we would greatly appreciate it. They came through and we got into our room at 11am.
We stayed in the Coach House (#11) which was furnished with modern decor and a trendy colour scheme, with the bathroom tasteful as well. Everything was really clean and best of all (after sleeping on an uncomfortable bed at the Holiday Inn) the bed was EXCELLENT. I fed this back to the hotel staff and they told us that the mattresses they have are the same as what the Queen has. Whether that's true or not, it doesn't matter! We pressed snooze several times as it was so peaceful and comfortable.
Breakfast was good too; continental with hot breakfast (scrambled egg and oak-smoked salmon & eggs benny) and coffee/tea/juice.
We also knew some people who were camping with their children on the premises so it's a great place for both a couple and family.
Best of all, they did a great job with the wedding - bride, groom & guests all had a great time.
Cheers, Kelham House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MYH0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear MYH0208

Thanks so much for leaving such a lovely review, we're very proud of our little hotel and the team so to hear that every part of it was a hit for you is a total delight.

I can't guarantee that Queen Liz herself slept on that mattress Hypnos who supplied them to us do carry a Royal Warrant so it's good enough for us to tell folk they do!

Your kind comments have been passed to all the team and again thank for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

Best Regards

Jon-Paul & the Kelham House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelham
2.3 mi away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
340 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
281 reviews
1.9 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
#1 of 1 in North Muskham
142 reviews
12.1 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
14.1 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelham House Country Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelham House Country Manor Hotel

Property: Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Address: Main Street, Kelham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 5QP, England (Formerly Red House Country Manor)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Kelham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelham House Country Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel was built as a private manor house in 1903 and became a hotel about 50 years later. Under new ownership since 2010 the hotel has been totally refurbished and extended to provide luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Situated in the outskirts of the historic Newark on Trent it provides a perfect location for business traveller, visitor to the area or as a venue for weddings, parties and meetings. As of July 2014 we are happy to announce our 3 star AA accreditation, as well as our first dining rosette awarded by the AA inspector for our a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Kelham House Country Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Country Manor
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing