We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding venue!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We held our wedding here on 25th August and it was perfect. The venue is beautiful set in lovely grounds. We loved the fact that we had the whole hotel to ourselves. The staff were fabulous throughout the whole day and big thanks go to Nicola for all her help in planning the day and ensuring it went to plan. The food was great and all the guests commented on how nice the day was. The rooms in the hotel are exceptionally clean and well maintained. We honestly had the most perfect day and I would fully recommend the venue to anyone looking for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Zoe W

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about your big day, we are really pleased that you chose us for your wedding and your kind words mean a lot to all the team, Nicola does a great job on all aspects of the wedding planning and we've made sure she's seen this great feedback.

All the very best

The Kelham House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 309 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at Kelham House while attending a wedding on the property. We let them know ahead of time that we would be arriving early and if they could accommodate us getting into any room early (to get ready for the wedding), we would greatly appreciate it. They came through and we got into our room at 11am.
We stayed in the Coach House (#11) which was furnished with modern decor and a trendy colour scheme, with the bathroom tasteful as well. Everything was really clean and best of all (after sleeping on an uncomfortable bed at the Holiday Inn) the bed was EXCELLENT. I fed this back to the hotel staff and they told us that the mattresses they have are the same as what the Queen has. Whether that's true or not, it doesn't matter! We pressed snooze several times as it was so peaceful and comfortable.
Breakfast was good too; continental with hot breakfast (scrambled egg and oak-smoked salmon & eggs benny) and coffee/tea/juice.
We also knew some people who were camping with their children on the premises so it's a great place for both a couple and family.
Best of all, they did a great job with the wedding - bride, groom & guests all had a great time.
Cheers, Kelham House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MYH0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear MYH0208

Thanks so much for leaving such a lovely review, we're very proud of our little hotel and the team so to hear that every part of it was a hit for you is a total delight.

I can't guarantee that Queen Liz herself slept on that mattress Hypnos who supplied them to us do carry a Royal Warrant so it's good enough for us to tell folk they do!

Your kind comments have been passed to all the team and again thank for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

Best Regards

Jon-Paul & the Kelham House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Booked Hotel on the morning of the 2 nights we were hoping to stay. From that first call, the customer care and service was gold standard. Fabulous bedroom-3 huge windows giving a great view of the garden. Four poster bed-so comfy. Pretty decor and lovely furnishings-including a 'sink into for the day' settee!!!.
Now for an equally positive review of the restaurant and the food. Menu gives about 6 choices on starters, mains and deserts which is about right. The food is expertly cooked and served with care and efficiency by helpful staff. Represents excellent value with set price for two or three courses. Really surprised at the price of the Shiraz-- so reasonable for a decent bottle of red.
Breakfast was also a treat with great selection of fruit/ cereal /cooked. 'Crisp' black pudding. Great.
Tried to book for a third night as we had enjoyed our stay so much. Unsurprisingly, the hotel was full and reluctantly we had to leave.
Of note: across the main road from the hotel is a woodland walk. We enjoyed a 2 hour stroll exploring the area.

Room Tip: We were in Room 3. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Irene

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review, it really makes me proud of the great team that we have here at the hotel when I read things like this, fortunately I get to read them a lot but it still means the same.

Sorry we couldn't accommodate you for the third night, maybe time to build a few more rooms!

We hope to see you again in the near future and thanks again

All the best

Jon-Paul & the Kelham House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had our wedding here in June this year. We chose the venue before the garden room was built and we were defiantly not disappointed in the end result.
Massive thanks to everyone who helped on the wedding journey especially nicola who was great with brilliant advice and available for any query we had. Nothing was too much bother.
The whole day ran smoothly from us having breakfast in the morning to the ceremony to the evening reception. We then had a post wedding breakfast with guests which again was lovely.
All the little touches made the experience one we will remember forever.
Food was fantastic everyone commented on how lovely the meal was so massive thanks to the chef.
Room fantastic very highly quality. Didn't want the day to end. All of the staff in every capacity work so hard and they make the hotel what it is.
Would recommend kelham country manor to anyone for celebrations or just to pop in for a meal.
Thanks again for making our day so memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jad77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Jad77

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review, as one of the couples that chose our venue prior to the Garden Room being built it's especially pleasing that the day met your expectations and that it was as you imagined. We always knew we would create something special so a huge thanks for seeing our vision with us and trusting us to get it done!!

Again thanks for the lovely review and all the best for the future.

Best Regards

Jon-Paul & all the team at Kelham House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We chose Kelham House as the location for our wedding because it is such a beautiful building in wonderful surroundings. The facilities are amazing and the food and drink were of the highest quality. Of course the venue would be nothing without the staff all of which were incredible. A special thanks has to go to Nicola who is incredibly patient and organised and who became adept at handling our photographer ;) I can't recommend Kelham House enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Will_Curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Will

Thanks a lot for leaving such a glowing review (sorry it's taken a while to acknowledge this too!) we were really glad you guys enjoyed the day so much, Nic's an expert at organising photographers after all the events she's run so don't worry about it, hope that life is treating you both well and we all wish you the very best for the future,

All the best

Jon-Paul & all the team at Kelham House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our daughter and now son in law had thier beautiful wedding ceremony and celebrations here on sunday.From start to finish the day was fantastic the staff team worked so hard to make the day perfect a day we'll never forget Nicola,Ben and all the staff are are an absolute credit to Kelham House we cant thankyou all enough! The rooms are amazing,heavenly beds fantastic bathrooms, the Garden Room beautiful for the lovely ceremony and reception after all set in stunning grounds of gardens and woodlands. Food,drinks and hospitality excellent wonderful meal from a great chef the chocolate brownie and icecream was to die for!! Wonderful breakfast the morning after we all ate together served by Ben and Nathan finished off a beautiful wedding. . . did'nt want it to end! All in all this is a lovely hotel stunning rooms bar garden room, reception, so tastefully decorated highly recomended in a lovely location.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, we had room 5 executive room view of drive and garden lovely, my elderly fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Julie

Thanks so much for leaving such a lovely review, its great to hear that we were able to make the day so special for you and your family. Apologies for taking a while to acknowledge this response but rest assured that all the team have seen your lovely review and we're very proud of the work that we do at the hotel to make our brides & grooms (and of course mothers of the bride!) days ones to remember.

All the very best

The Kelham House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Myself and husband attended a wedding here in July 2013.
We enjoyed the whole day at kelham House and stayed the night.
During the day everything seemed to run very smoothly. The staff wer highly attentive to all requests made by guests. The food and drinks wer of high quality as was the service recived.
The room was spacious and beautifully decorated (room 4). The room facilities wer exceptional, good quality products in the rooms such as Elemis toiletries in the bathroom and a good hair dryer!!
Breakfast was relaxed but didn't have a long wait for food.
Staff again on had to help (even to the point of coming to the rescue when stung by a rouge wasp!!)

Over all a lovely hotel with fantastic staff! Had a fab weekend, thank you! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fayeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Fayeth

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review from your stay with us, Room 4 is one of my favourite rooms as it used to be two single rooms that we knocked into one to make the most of the lovely views at the front of the hotel, so it's nice to know you thought so!

We hope to see you again in the future and thanks again.

Best Regards

The Kelham House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelham
4.4 mi away
Saracens Head Hotel
Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southwell
375 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
357 reviews
12.1 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
201 reviews
16.0 mi away
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
#1 of 1 in North Muskham
151 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelham House Country Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelham House Country Manor Hotel

Address: Main Street, Kelham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 5QP, England (Formerly Red House Country Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Kelham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Price Range: $91 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelham House Country Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel was built as a private manor house in 1903 and became a hotel about 50 years later. Under new ownership since 2010 the hotel has been totally refurbished and extended to provide luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Situated in the outskirts of the historic Newark on Trent it provides a perfect location for business traveller, visitor to the area or as a venue for weddings, parties and meetings. As of July 2014 we are happy to announce our 3 star AA accreditation, as well as our first dining rosette awarded by the AA inspector for our a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kelham House Country Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Country Manor
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing