We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The small stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Basingstoke
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The small stuff”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, stunning room, great service, no complaints about the food or the bar. All great but why such rubbish pillows! Feather would be preference, memory foam would also be welcome, or even a choice. hard unforgiving hollow fibre pillows just takes the polish off a good boutique hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephelloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about Kelham House, and I'm really glad that on the whole you enjoyed our little corner of the world!

The feedback on the pillows is valuable to us, when deciding on pillows we had to go for the best option for all, and feather wasn't something we opted for because it's not hypoallergenic and doesn't wash and clean as well as the cluster-fill option that we went for (they aren't hollow fibre as that's the one thing we said we wouldn't do) Yes feather feels lovely but we have to think of everyone's head that hits them.

It's a good idea to have a couple of feather pillows aside for an on request basis, consider it added to the list...

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.

All the best

The Kelham House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    75
    30
    21
    10
See reviews for
79
90
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed n a beautiful sunny Wednesday eve

The place looks grand, rooms are grand ( I was in room 5)
Completely spotless, modern,
The beds are so comfy
Food is great
Staff are friendly, polite, professional

This is my third hotel this wk, (6th in last two) and this one will be saved in my folders as defo will be stopping here again...

It's been my pleasure to stop here, no pt there pleasure to hotel me....

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ravingeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Ravingeddie

Thanks for the great review, sounds like you get to visit more than your fair share of hotels so we'll take your feedback to be well qualified!

We hope to see you again in the future and thanks again, it's a pleasure to see we're doing things to our guests delight!

Best Regards

The Kelham House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skegness
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked last minute and weren't disappointed gorgeous room number7 so quiet with stunning views totally enjoyed our stay it was only£85 for the night with a lovely breakfast included in price which every hotel we stay at is over £120 and no breakfast this made a lovely change the staff were lovely cant fault it will definitely go back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seacroft38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Seacroft38

Thanks for leaving such a lovely review, I agree when we bring the rates down if we have some spare rooms there are some bargains to be had!!

Room 7 is one of our favorites and 9 times out of 10 chosen by anyone that can have it!

We really appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again in the future should you be in the area.

Best Regards

The Kelham House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitby
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed there for first time last week. Excellent room and very pleasant staff. Not very busy when we were there so not many in the bar but thoroughly enjoyed our stay and definitely hope to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Whitby50

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review from your stay with us, we're really glad to hear you have a nice time while with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards

The Kelham House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here a few times and have always enjoyed coming back, just off the beaten track and set in fantastic scenery it's well worth the visit.
My only criticism would be ditch the radio in the dinning room, very off putting chatting to my wife whilst adverts from smooth fm are played out, other than that, food fantastic, highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gad01101973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear gad01101973

Thanks for the lovely review it's great to hear from our returning customers, we hope that we'll see you again soon!

On the music front then rest assured this is now sorted, as of 3pm the radio goes off and some nice background music comes on to compliment the ambiance of the restaurant and not to try and subliminally sell you double glazing!!


Best Regards

The Kelham House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Me and my partner went there on the Saturday 25th may , we arrived and soon had to change our room as something came up, the hotel let us change our room for the next day. This was all arranged by the male manager. I must say he went out of his way to help us and the service we had was amazing, it was lovely to have such a nice manager that actually cared. We sat outside most of the day on the grounds and in the bar at night. The drinks prices was very good, the hotel room we had was lovely. We had breakfast delived to our room in the morning. Would defently go back. Thank you again and thank you to the manager and the young girl on reception very helpful. Thank you again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma9403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Emma 9403

Thanks for leaving such a lovely review about your stay to our hotel, we never get tired of hearing how much people enjoy it when they're our guest!

I've passed your kind words to the team and we'll look forward to maybe welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards

The Kelham House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having stayed here two years ago on several occasions for business, I was excited to be coming back to Kelham House, but was disappointed.
Drinks in the bar were ok, but no music left it a bit soulless and echo-ey, much like having a drink in a disused room in a house. Dinner was well cooked, but served by one of the members of staff who was popping out his shirt which was stained with drips of food.
Then on getting up in the morning there was no hot water in the room. I was told hot water would be available once the boiler was repressurised but 15 minutes later still no hot water! Rang reception again only to be met with a fairly lacklustre response that he would come over a try again but I told him I was in a hurry as I needed to have breakfast and leave - very un bothered response received.

I was really disappointed as I have always enjoyed staying here, just this time customer service not great - perhaps time to just have a check in with some of the staff? Room as always clean an comfortable though, just awful not to have a shower before spending a day presenting to my client!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireH30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelham
2.3 mi away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
347 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
282 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
#1 of 1 in North Muskham
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
14.1 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
19.2 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelham House Country Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelham House Country Manor Hotel

Property: Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Address: Main Street, Kelham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 5QP, England (Formerly Red House Country Manor)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Kelham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelham House Country Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel was built as a private manor house in 1903 and became a hotel about 50 years later. Under new ownership since 2010 the hotel has been totally refurbished and extended to provide luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Situated in the outskirts of the historic Newark on Trent it provides a perfect location for business traveller, visitor to the area or as a venue for weddings, parties and meetings. As of July 2014 we are happy to announce our 3 star AA accreditation, as well as our first dining rosette awarded by the AA inspector for our a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Kelham House Country Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Country Manor
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing