We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here when visiting Southwell Races on Tuesday 14th May.
This is a really lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff. I booked two rooms and both were
beautifully appointed. We had dinner which was very good indeed and the breakfast we had
was excellent, especially the eggs benedict! Also extremely good value for money.
Wish we had had the weather to explore the grounds which looked stunning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 316 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel off Booking.com, was a really good hotel in lovely grounds (i bet it is lovely in the summer months). Great room - very spacious, good value for money & great food. Special thanks to Julia who was very accommadating to all our needs. Definitely worth another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orchard40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Imposing building and apparantly very nice grounds but missed them due to the rain.
Eat in the restaurant and the food was good and reasonable.

Room was compact and well equiped with a very good bed.

A little disappointing as a Country Manor, obviously a Wedding venue

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrussellgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear ….

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed staying at Kelham House and we hope to see you again in the future.

All the best

The Kelham House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had our wedding day at Kelham House and booked out the hotel for our guests. From the day we started planning to the big day itself the staff at Kelham couldn't have been more helpful. Our guests enjoyed some fabulous rooms and we used the garden room to host the evening reception. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a smart and contemporary style which is clean and comfortable. The food at our wedding was nothing short of superb and in the morning our guests were treated to a wonderful leisurely breakfast. We would not hesitate in recommending is wonderful hotel for either a meal, a room or the whole wedding package. Thank you to Chris, Nicola, Ben and all the staff who helped make our day so special.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear jbrusselgreen

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed staying at Kelham House and we hope to see you again in the future.

All the best

The Kelham House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We chose this hotel as a last minute decision to have a night away and were definitely not disappointed! We almost missed the turning into the drive up to the 12 bedroomed house, but when we arrived we were greeted warmly by Ben, who had also taken our reservation for Early Dining and was expecting us. We chose an Executive Room (No 3), which was slightly more expensive than the Classic Rooms, but had a separate bathroom and a comfortable settee with a view over the grounds. The furnishings were lovely and there was a well-stocked tea tray, with cups and saucers (not mugs). Fresh milk was available, had we wanted it.
We selected from the menu in the modern bar and then were served a delicious meal in the charming and intimate dining room. there was a good range of wines. Throughout we were treated very well, in a friendly and professional manner, by all the staff. There were also some young couples there, trying out the menus for their weddings - everyone agreed on the good choices, quality and presentation of the food.
After a comfortable night's sleep, we enjoyed a good breakfast - again with a wide selection for such a small hotel. The morning staff were just as attentive, without being intrusive.
The only negative about our stay was the cold weather - but that was nothing to do with the hotel. We travel quite a bit and this is one of the better hotels we have experienced.Thank you to everyone there for our stay.

Room Tip: The Executive Rooms are well worth the little extra; the extra space makes the room feel more like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monika60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Monika60_12

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us and we're really glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Your kind comments have been passed to the team to see and we hope to see you again in the near future, I'm afraid we can't offer any weather guarantees though!
:-)

Best Regards

The Kelham House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I took my mum here for mothers day and we had a wonderful experience. We were spoilt for choice from the excellent menu and the food lived up to expectations, it was delicious and the service was faultless. We were seated with a view of the grounds and at the end my mum was given a beautiful pot plant. We were all delighted and thought the price was amazing value for money and have paid a lot more for a pub lunch. This lovely hotel is a well kept secret but I will be telling everyone I meet to give it a try.
Thank you for giving us a memorable lunch that will be hard to beat in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Andrea G

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your review (sorry it's taken a while to respond!) and we're really glad that you chose us to bring your mum to on Mothers Day and that you all had such a lovely time.

We hope to see you next year if not before!

Best Regards

The Kelham House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was looking for a hotel in the Newark. Lincolnshire area and came across Kelham House. Its fantastic, privately run, lovely rooms and very good food. They made every effort to make me feel welcome. Only £50 for b and b too. The Premier Inn round the corner was £66.
It looks like a great place to have business meetings also.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Paulaustin

Thanks for the great feedback and we're really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially as you got such a great deal on the stay!!

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards

The Kelham House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelham
4.4 mi away
Saracens Head Hotel
Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southwell
388 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
370 reviews
1.9 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,869 reviews
19.2 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelham House Country Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelham House Country Manor Hotel

Address: Main Street, Kelham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 5QP, England (Formerly Red House Country Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Kelham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Price Range: $94 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelham House Country Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel was built as a private manor house in 1903 and became a hotel about 50 years later. Under new ownership since 2010 the hotel has been totally refurbished and extended to provide luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Situated in the outskirts of the historic Newark on Trent it provides a perfect location for business traveller, visitor to the area or as a venue for weddings, parties and meetings. As of July 2014 we are happy to announce our 3 star AA accreditation, as well as our first dining rosette awarded by the AA inspector for our a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Kelham House Country Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Country Manor
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing