We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hide-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Certificate of Excellence
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quiet hide-away”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for a most relaxing two nights in July.
Although it is out of the way and easy to drive past the first time, we found it ideal. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room (Room 2, I recall) was large, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. It was on the first floor (second floor if you are of North American background) but no elevator (lift, for the English). Still, help was offered, but I ought to be able to get " 'er indoors" to pack lighter. No real need for all those shoes.
The bar was very quiet, but this was mid-week. We didn't get to try the breakfasts, (7 to 9 - a bit early for vacationers!) or the dining room - perhaps next time.
Lovely setting, perfect for a romantic escape, a wedding (according to many other reviewers) or just some quiet down time. Free wifi if you have to.
Would stay there again in a heartbeat if I could.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Peter_Cain

Thanks so much for your lovely review of the hotel and the team, we're very glad you enjoyed your leisure stay with us and your kind words have been passed on to the staff.

We are a quiet little corner of the world and it works really well for your type of break, we would love to see you again in the future and if you have a little word with the reception team we'd be more than happy to sort out a let breakfast, or even breakfast in bed if you'd prefer.

Wishing you all the best

Charlotte & Jon-Paul Davies

Kelham House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    70
    25
    17
    8
See reviews for
71
85
5
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here to go to a wedding do only had one night. The room was lovely big clean comfy bed that I didn't want to leave. The staff who we met were lovely and friendly. The breakfast was brilliant only a shame we'd maybe overdid it the night before so couldn't take full advantage
It's just a bit difficult to find tucked away down one way streets but that was probably our sat nav.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Jillb

Thanks so much for leaving your review of the hotel and your experiences with us, especially of the decor as someone else has just given us a hard time about it on another review so it's brilliant to have a balanced review for all to read!!

Sorry you didn't get to enjoy the breakfast, maybe next time you will!

Best Regards

Jon-Paul & Charlotte Davies

Kelham House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed in the "converted stable" block back in May 2012, as guests at a wedding being held at the venue, we found all the staff to be very helpful, the rooms were clean and very nice. Our room had a large bathroom as was just right as we had a child with us. The wedding went off without a hitch as did the reception, all on site. Very pleasant surroundings. The breakfast was a delight and overall we enjoyed our two night stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ_Rokit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear DJ_Rokit

Thanks a lot for your great feedback, weddings are a really important part of our business so it's great to know that not only do we tick the boxes for the bride and groom but also to know that the guests needs and wants are well satisfied is very heartening!

Thanks again

Charlotte & Jon-Paul Davies

Kelham House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We went to this lovely hotel for a wedding where my toddler was a flower girl. We also had a six month baby in tow and were a long way from home.

The hotel were hugely helpful. Although the groom had booked the room, they were happy to advise me on which of the doubles could host two travel cots. We went for room four which was more than ample. The hotel provided their one cot which was very clean and perfect for our needs. It did not have a sheet, which was fine with us as we brought our own sheets and gro bag that the kids were used to.

We arrived at 11.30am to feed the kids and get them dressed for the 1.30pm wedding. Although the check out time for the wedding the previous night was 11am, they agreed that they would have a room for us to get ready in. When it came to it, we were able to feed the kids on the terrace (but could have used the bar if it was raining) and they had our room ready for us within 30 minutes. We could have had a different room earlier, but preferred to wait a little while to get our own one. Although the kitchen was closed, they also happily provided us with sandwiches whilst we fed the little ones.

The room itself was great. It was part of the main building and well within monitor range of most of the venue which was really helpful. Our bed was comfy and there was loads of space. Our baby has a habit of waking early so we actually ended up putting his travel cot in the bathroom after we went to bed. There was just about enough room for this and it was perfectly blacked out for him. He slept as well as at home. The bath was really lovely, great toiletries provided too.

Our toddler, on the other hand, took the time to party. The staff were brilliant with her. The lady who checked us in knew her name and was friendly with her. She had her own special meal at the wedding breakfast with three courses. Her starter also included raspberry sorbet with melon and she was so excited to have ice cream at the start of a meal. She had to have a little nap in the middle of the meal and the staff came to tell me that there was ice cream waiting for her in the freezer when she woke up.

The morning was also great. We were, of course, up before many other of the guests and the grounds provided a nice place for the toddler to run about. They gave her a cooked breakfast, but also had lots of other food that was suitable for kids - fruit, cereal etc.

I think that the room would have cost £130 which I think is about right. It definitely had the feel of a luxurious venue. However, I think that it was the staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We found that a quick phone call helped us to choose a room that we liked. All the rooms we saw loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Katie K

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the hotel, and more importantly our team. We have fed this back to the team when you left the review, sorry it's taken so long to acknowledge this!

We're really glad to read that you and the family had such a great time with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards

Charlotte and Jon-Paul Davies

Kelham House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I've been meaning to write this review for a while and having had dinner at Kelham House last week I was reminded again what a lovely place it is! The food was delicious and the staff as friendly and professional as ever.

Back in April 2011 I booked out the whole hotel for a weekend to accommodate a group of wedding guests. In the lead up to our wedding the hotel management and staff were really friendly and helpful with organising our guests. Nearer the time they showed me around the hotel before our guests arrived (I was a bit nervous as the house refurb was only just finished). It looked lovely and I even chose rooms for specific guests (they are all beautifully and uniquely decorated).

Whilst I didn't stay in the hotel myself our guests raved about it. In particular the service they received and how accommodating the staff were. They also ate in the hotel and said the food was delicious.

One of my guests is disabled and found his room practical and comfortable.

I would like to say a bit thank you to all of the staff who made our guests' stay so memorable and for being so helpful in the lead up to our wedding.

Finally I also attended a work Christmas party at this hotel last year. Once again great set up, great sevice and great food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Nadine

my turn to apologise for the delayed response, wedding season this year has had us well and truly run off our feet!

Thanks so much for taking the time to send us this feedback, especially as it represents more than one point of view, to know that we accommodated and pleased all the guests to such a standard reassures us greatly that we are doing a good job, which is a good indicator when in hospitality!

Thanks again, and hope to see you this year for your Christmas party!!

All the best

The Kelham House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here for the wedding of a friend. Arrived early and our room was already ready which was unexpected. The room (main house room two) overlooked the grounds. The room was clean and more than adequate. Small bathroom but we were impressed with the large (and very powerful) shower. It seems each room is individually furnished which is a nice personal touch and highlights the individuality of the house. Public areas were all nicely decorated, modern, but in keeping with the age of the house.

We found all the staff friendly and welcoming. As a wedding venue, it's a wonderful place - the relaxation of being at home with a bit of glamour. We were really impressed with the food served at the wedding breakfast too - a twist on a prawn cocktail was tasty with very good smoked salmon, roast beef and yorkshire pudding and an oozing chocolate tart. If the standard of their restaurant is as good then definitely well worth a visit.

Breakfast was also very good - fruit, juices, cereal and pastries laid out for self-service, with hot food available to order. The cooked breakfast was of a very high standard. Would definitely recommend as a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_P_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Ali_P

Thanks for your lovely feedback, weddings are such an important part of our business so it's great to hear that as well as delighting our brides and grooms, as a guest at the wedding you were equally happy!

Your comments on the decor and the food are very welcome and we've made sure that chef and the team have been given your glowing review, it's a challenging service to get right but we're always making sure we do just that.

Thanks again, this type of feedback is hugely important to us.

Best Regards

The Kelham House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night when we visited the Southwell Folk Festival (we'd recommend that as well but that's a different story!) I booked on the hotels own website and selected a king size room in the coach house (no late night tiddly sneak through reception).
We were running late and called ahead to the hotel to ask if they could help us out by booking a taxi, which they cheerfully agreed to do.
On arriving, the receptionist had room keys and paperwork at the ready and helped us with luggage so that we could have 5 minutes to freshen up before the taxi arrived.
The room was quiet, spotlessly clean, huge bed with two squashy pillows, great bathroom with bath, shower and Elemis toiletries. Needless to say we spent a very comfortable night.
Breakfast was served until 10.30 (thank goodness) and was extremely good. The hotel itself is beautiful. Definitley 5* sorroundings and service, but not a snooty snoot in sight. My partner was very well satisfied with his full english (including black pudding if that's your thing) and I yummed and ah'd over my smoked haddock with poached egg.
It's just a shame we didn't have time to stay another night or two. This is a perfect spot for a romantic weekend with nearby Newark and Southwell providing lots of independant shops and interesting bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viccic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Viccic

Thank you so much for leaving such a glowing review, we're glad you had such a good time with us and hope to see you again in the future.

We'll make sure we have plenty of black pudding for breakfast!! :-)

All the best

The Kelham House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelham
4.4 mi away
Saracens Head Hotel
Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.9 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
12.1 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelham House Country Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelham House Country Manor Hotel

Property: Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Address: Main Street, Kelham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 5QP, England (Formerly Red House Country Manor)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Kelham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelham House Country Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel was built as a private manor house in 1903 and became a hotel about 50 years later. Under new ownership since 2010 the hotel has been totally refurbished and extended to provide luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Situated in the outskirts of the historic Newark on Trent it provides a perfect location for business traveller, visitor to the area or as a venue for weddings, parties and meetings. As of July 2014 we are happy to announce our 3 star AA accreditation, as well as our first dining rosette awarded by the AA inspector for our a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kelham House Country Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Country Manor
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing