We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant needs re-bamping”
Review of The Kitchen Garden Restaurant - CLOSED

The Kitchen Garden Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Kitchen Garden brings to you the highest standards in menu, wine and service. Kelham House Hotel is lucky enough to play host to the Kitchen Garden Restaurant, offering fresh, local produce in a fine dining or more informal environment. Our menus constantly evolve to reflect seasonal availability and a passion for food that does not grow tired. Our team of experienced chefs are here to take classic British and European dishes and give them a respectful, modern twist that will leave the most discerning of diners leaving contented, and wanting to book their next visit. If you're looking for a business lunch, romantic dinner, family party or wedding breakfast the Kitchen Garden is here to meet your expectations, and then blow them away!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Restaurant needs re-bamping”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The staff is friendly but not fully trained... they need management, both restaurant and kitchen... overpriced for the quality of the food...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value meal”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We chose the Early Dining menu, which finishes at 7pm, although we were still there at 7.50 and not rushed out. The dining room is small, but comfortable and the choice of food on this 'economy' menu was very good. £16.50 for a 3 course meal of excellent quality and good portion sizes. All served professionally.
We sat by a window and it was a little cold, but then the weather has been unseasonably chilly. However, we were also next to a radiator, so that did compensate. There were some couples trying their wedding menus, which looked very good, too!
Some hotels we have stayed at have over priced and poor value menus, so we've had to drive out to eat. Not so here! Excellent food and service, with the added value of both being able t have a drink! Breakfast was just as good.Thoroughly recommend both restaurant and Hotel.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monika60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I can't quite put my finger on it but .....”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went for our Valentines Dinner on the set menu deal being offered for the occasion - and for the two following nights.
In case you don't know the Kelham House Hotel, near Newark in Nottinghamshire let me tell you it features a stunning main building with a recently added function room to the rear and is set in lovely and well kept grounds.
The present owners have clearly spent a lot of money but there's one thing that money can't buy in a hotel / restaurant and that is "atmosphere".
On our visit we were the only two in the bar for what turned out to be a quick drink and canapé before being ushered through into one of the two rooms that form the Kitchen Garden Restaurant.
Unfortunately, the only two other diners in our room left soon after our arrival. We could hear a low level of noise coming from the second dining room and asked ourselves why you would split so few diners into two rooms?
The food was of an excellent standard but the portion sizes of all but the cheese board were too far on the "nouvelle cuisine" side for our tastes.
The red wine we selected was pleasant and reasonably priced so that we didn't begrudge the table cloth its share as our waitress attempted to pour our first glass.
As I said, the food was excellent but unfortunately the whole building and evening lacked "atmosphere".
The fact that our visit lasted less than ninety minutes speaks volumes and left us with our taste buds activated but our romantic evening all too short lived.
I'm not sure how this "atmosphere" problem can be resolved but clearly more customers are needed and when the restaurant is quiet just use one dining room.
We will return, if only for the quality of the food, and hope to be joined by more diners next time.
Incidentally, the Valentines menu was priced at £70 per couple plus drinks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnnyh591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Setting and delicious food.”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Visited with 3 family members. Greeted with a warm welcome and enjoyed drinks in the comfortable lounge while browsing the menu. We were very well treated, the food was delicious and thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Without a doubt we will be returning and have already recommended to many friends who have visited and also had a lovely time.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LivingE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dinner”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

A very nice restaurant ....food was very good with generous portions"

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bronda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Garden Restaurant also viewed

Kelham, Newark-on-Trent
Kelham, Newark-on-Trent
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing