We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love this place..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edwinstowe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We love this place..”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

As a group of 8 ladies in our 40s we discovered this place last year and had the most amazing and relaxing weekend so didn't hesitate to book again for this year. Once again, having just returned, we had a brilliant weekend. Though it wax dampened slightly by being "told off" for being noisy in the hot tub after 10pm. To management I would suggest that when allocating the cabins that you take into account the ages in each party. We picked Forest Holidays for the hot tub, so we could have girly giggles and laughter with a few drinks into the evening. A party of 8 ladies shouldn't be positioned next to a family with small children or elderly people. It's a simple solution so all your customers get to enjoy their holiday in exactly the way they hope. Having made this point we very much hope to return again next year!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emillergmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review following your weekend away at Sherwood Forest. I am pleased that you enjoyed another great get together. If only it were so simple to allocate cabins as you suggest we would certainly do it, but there are so many factors involved that it would get complicated very quickly. The cabins are generously spaced but sound does travel in the night forest which is why we ask our guests to turn the volume down after 10pm out of respect for others. You can specify a cabin when you book so it might be worth looking for one of the cabins on the outer edges next time you visit. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    170
    52
    17
    22
See reviews for
387
246
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked a weekend break for a Birthday treat for 4 adults and a dog. We all had the most amazing break including the dog who has actually been quite depressed since he came home, he really misses being able to explore the amazing forest! The staff were all so very helpful and polite. We were booked in by Christine who explained everything to us and was so friendly, she even told us we could order a takeaway and have it delivered to the Forest Retreat to collect which we did and it was lovely. We were looking for somewhere we could have a meal on Sunday and were recommended the Dog and Duck pub by one of the lovely staff. We were even able to bring our dog which was fantastic. The cabins are beautiful and the beds are very comfy. The hot tub was a great bonus aswell. The only problem with this place is that you have to come home eventually we could have stayed a lot longer but are already organizing our next visit.

Room Tip: The hot tub makes a great difference especially after long forest walks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthie2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break with us at Sherwood Forest. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you. We’re always happy to make recommendations and offer tips on how to make the best of your holiday. I hope the dog perks up soon; you’ll have to promise him another visit I think.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked two lodges for the whole family. The lodges were of a high quality, spacious, clean and with all the necessary essentials, particularly the "hot tub". Great place to explore with amenities for all tastes, whether strolling with the dogs or taking part in more strenuous pastimes such as cycling, axe throwing, or grappling on the high wire at Go Ape. The resort was within easy reach of other attractions such as Clumber Park.
All the staff were approachable and helpful throughout the stay. Everyone enjoyed the break so much we have booked to go back the same time next year! Looking forward to it already.

Room Tip: We booked the golden oak lodges which had all the facilities a family would need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your break at Sherwood Forest. It sounds as if you were with a large family group and between you, you tried quite a few activities, from the very relaxed to the high energy. We look forward to seeing you again for more of the same next year.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having stayed here for a long weekend in 2012 we rebooked for this year. Please look at my review from last year as there's no point me repeating myself again! As we found last year all was fantastic and it was great to see the towels in the cabin had been changed and were now much better!

We'll definitely return and hopefully it will be sooner than next summer. There were 8 in our group and we all find it so relaxing and the perfect place to recharge our batteries.

Room Tip: Golden Oak and Silver Birch cabins have hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your Forest Holiday at Sherwood Forest once again, thank you for taking the time to write another review. Pleased to oblige with the towels too – we did get rather a lot of feedback on them! We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We wanted a surprise weekend away for our mums 60th birthday. Forest Holidays was just right, the lodge was spacious and well kept, had everything we needed. The best bit of course was the hot tub, a real novelty that didn't wear off. My husband I enjoyed the Go Ape experience on the Saturday morning and spent the rest of the exploring the grounds. My brother in law and my nephew enjoyed a ramble in the forest. Friday -Monday went too quickly, will return in the future and suggest to friends and family.

Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chintz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments following your recent family break at Sherwood Forest, and a Happy 60th Birthday to your mum. I am delighted it worked out well and that you all enjoyed the different aspects of your holiday. I hope we’ll see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just perfect! A right treat for us all. Little to do or lots to do whichever suits you! After getting married 2 wks prior, we were looking for something different as a family honeymoon to unwind & re-bond with our children, after the wedding build up. With 3 young lively energetic girls, we wanted something that the girls wouldn't 'want' constantly, ie not see the next thing to do/buy and want that.... so we could choose to offer activities & do things at our own pace. There is plenty to do in Sherwood pines forest, which I thought was beautiful, or you can simply relax. Do a shop at the towns asda & hibernate or the retreat shop & cafe offers great snacks & pizzas delivered to cabin with groceries available to buy or you can go out for dinner. We found the Dog & Duck just outside the forest, to be lovely with great food served, 4-6pm is a better menu for those with kiddies or fussy, the cafe in the Sherwood pines forest visitor centre also lovely. The main hub of the forest is a few minutes walk up from your cabin through one of the many little cut throughs. Walking and biking through the forest was excellent. Can't wait to go back! We had a 6 berth, non-pet, golden oak cabin and it was bliss - heated solid oak floors, log burner, towels (although I took beach towels, flip flops and arm bands for my smallest for the girls using hot tub!) we had complimentary robes & slippers. Take a couple of extra dishwasher tablets & a torch. Spacious, light, modern, airy yet very cosy! thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub and in cabin entertainment is a must for families, although we didn't use the wii it was there for us. Loved it and can't wait to be able to return. Great for de-stress & just forgetting about the hustle & bustle!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and congratulations on your recent wedding. We are delighted that you chose Forest Holidays for your “family–moon” and it’s great to hear that it worked out very well for you. It’s lovely to see the children simply enjoying the natural world without lots of distractions, it’s really all they need – apart from the hot tub of course! I hope we will see you all again next year, when you are all ready for another relaxing break.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A large group of us went in the Tree House lodge for a luxury Hen weekend. We were extremely happy with the lodge especially the hot tub & huge dining table where we spent many a happy meal. A lovely walk from the lodge to Sherwood pines too. The staff in the visitor centre on the site couldn't have been more helpful so altogether a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikimansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Sherwood Forest. I am delighted that you enjoyed your weekend in the Treehouse; it’s a great choice for a group of friends. I hope you will come and stay with us again in the future to enjoy another weekend of luxury in the forest.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edwinstowe
0.3 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
7.6 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Worksop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
6.1 mi away
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mansfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire

Property: Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire
Address: Sherwood Pines Forest Park, Edwinstowe NG21 9JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Edwinstowe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Edwinstowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing